Today's Archives Hours:

Archives & Special Collections: Archives Home

Archivist & Special Collections Librarian

Christina Wolf
chat presence
Schedule an Appointment
Contact:
405-208-5919

Archives and Special Collections Department

The Archives and Special Collections department collects and preserves historical materials having to do with the history of the United Methodist Church in Oklahoma and the history of Oklahoma City University. In addition to these two main collections, the Archives also preserves the Shirk Oklahoma History Collection and other Special Collections.

The Archives Reading Room is located on the fifth floor of the Dulaney-Browne Library in room 508. Archives staff must be available for patrons to use the Reading Room. Appointments are recommended although walk-ins are welcome when staff is present and during the posted hours.

Staff & Contacts

Staff
Archivist: Christina Wolf, CA

Reading Room Assistant: Jeremiah Goodman

Student Assistants: Aminat, Blayne, Erika, Madison, Tyler

For Research Requests, to Plan Your Visit, or to Schedule an Appointment, Contact Us:

Write us: Archives, Oklahoma City University, 2501 N Blackwelder Ave, Oklahoma City OK 73106
Phone us: (405) 208-5067; Email us
: dblarchives@okcu.edu; or use the "Schedule An Appointment" link to the right to schedule an appointment with the Archivist.

Policies & Services

Mission of the Archives

The Archives collects and preserves historic materials having to do with the history of the United Methodist Church in Oklahoma and the history of Oklahoma City University and its predecessor institutions.

The Archivist oversees the preservation and administration of the University Archives, the Oklahoma United Methodist Archives (including the archives for both the Oklahoma Conference and the Oklahoma Indian Missionary Conference), the Shirk Oklahoma History Center and other Special Collections.  To this end, the Archives staff identifies, collects, preserves, makes available, provides reference assistance for, and promotes the use of the rare and unique research materials.  In addition, the Archives supports Oklahoma United Methodist Churches by providing training and information for the formation of local archives within the local church and with the celebration of United Methodist Heritage. 

Access and Use Guidelines

The Archives is open for research to the OCU community, the Methodist community, and to the general public.  Generally, the research room is open Monday through Friday from 9am until 5pm.  Appointments for research for first time visitors are strongly recommended. In addition to patron research assistance, the Archivist can also handle phone, letter, and email research questions. 

Collection Policy

The Oklahoma City University Archives collects personal papers of faculty, administrators, and students and the official records of the university. The Oklahoma United Methodist Archives collects personal papers of bishops, superintendents, clergy, and lay leaders of the Oklahoma and Oklahoma Indian Missionary United Methodist Conferences in addition to the official records of both conferences.

Oklahoma City University faculty, students and staff authors:
The library attempts to acquire two copies of all materials written by university faculty, students and staff. One copy is added to the regular collection and a second copy is included in the university archives. Authors are encouraged to donate copies to the library. These copies can be acknowledged with a gift plate.

Theses:
All students who complete a thesis as a part of their degree requirements should provide the library with two copies and pay for binding them. One will be added to the university archives and a second copy will be made available for in-library use circulation.

More Hours