Skip to main content

Chickasaw Nation Law Library at Oklahoma City University School of Law: Faculty Services

Adjunct & Faculty Requests

Faculty Services

Chickasaw Nation Law Library serves the research and academic needs of the faculty. Each faculty member has a librarian liaison who can assist by

  • Reviewing your response to the faculty survey to learn about your areas of interest and ensure the library has the basic resources you will require this semester,
  • Becoming familiar with research resources in your areas of interest and develop current awareness strategies to help keep you informed of the latest developments in your fields,
  • Reviewing advertisements for new books and materials in your interest areas and seek your input on purchase decisions,
  • Preparing bibliographies, research guides and presenting on library resources at your request,
  •  Performing research and training your research assistants.


Your liaison is your primary contact with the library for all services, and he or she will contact you shortly after the semester begins. If you are interested in working with a different liaison, please contact Jennifer Prilliman by email at 
jsprilliman@okcu.edu or by phone at 405-208-5174 or Lee Peoples at 405-208-6030 or lpeoples@okcu.edu 

Faculty Scholarship

When a new work is published please contact Jennifer Prilliman at 405-208-5174 or jsprilliman@okcu.edu with the new title. In addition, each faculty member is provided a Selected Works site that allows access to the full text of most faculty scholarship. The Selected Works pages are updated throughout the year by the faculty members library liaison.

Notification When Your Work Is Cited

Each spring before the annual report to the Dean is due, your library liaison will run a search for any citations to your work in law reviews and other publications on LexisNexis and Westlaw. A report will be prepared and forwarded to you via email message. If you would prefer a print copy of this information, please notify Jennifer Prilliman of your preference at jsprilliman@okcu.edu or 405-208-5174.

Research Requests

The librarians welcome your research requests. Requests may be submitted in person, by phone, or via e-mail to your liaison.

The librarians offer individualized training for professors in all substantive areas of the law and on all databases to which the library subscribes. Please contact your liaison or any Reference Librarian for assistance:

 

Lee Peoples             405-208-6030     lpeoples@okcu.edu 
Jennifer Prilliman    405-208-5174    
jsprilliman@okcu.edu
Timothy Gatton       405-208-5344    tgatton@okcu.edu
Sabrina Davis         405-208-5062      sadavis@okcu.edu 

Routed Materials

Current issues of law reviews are displayed for one week on the bookshelf outside the mailroom. If you wish to have a current journal routed to you or you would like to request that library materials be routed to you before being placed in the collection, contact Nancy Cowden at 405-208-5380 or ncowden@okcu.edu.

Recent Acquisitions List

A monthly list of recent acquisitions is emailed to faculty. The list is also available via The Gavel, the blog of the Oklahoma City University Law Library.

 

Liaison Program

Faculty Liaison List

Adjunct Faculty

Susan Urban & Jordan Piel

Arrow Timothy Gatton
Bernard Jennifer Prilliman
Blitz Jennifer Prilliman
Butler Jennifer Prilliman
Clark Timothy Gatton
Couch    Lee Peoples
Dalley Sabrina Davis
Dillon Jennifer Prilliman
Eby Timothy Gatton
Eddington Timothy Gatton
Foster Sabrina Davis
Gibson Jennifer Prilliman
Harrell Timothy Gatton
Hellman Sabrina Davis
B. Johnson Sabrina Davis
D. Johnson Jennifer Prilliman
Jones Timothy Gatton
Laity Lee Peoples
LeFrancois Jennifer Prilliman
Lyons Jennifer Prilliman
MacDougall Sabrina Davis
Mitchelson Timothy Gatton
O’Shea Timothy Gatton
Roesler Sabrina Davis
Ross-Petherick       Jennifer Prilliman
Serrata Timothy Gatton
Spiropoulos Sabrina Davis
Spivack Timothy Gatton
Tussey Sabrina Davis

Reference Assistants

The Law Library provides several services to assist individual faculty members with research that would require work performed by a student research assistant (RA).

When a faculty member hires their own RA, upon request, a Reference Librarian will provide training and guidance on legal (and other types) of research to the student RA. This training will be catered to meet the research needs of the individual faculty member's scholarship. 

When a faculty member needs the services of an RA but they do not wish to hire their own, they can use one or more from the Law Library's pool of Student RAs. The law library maintains a staff of “on call” law student reference assistants. The pool of students the library hires for the RA positions have demonstrated a competency and interest in research through their successful participation in the Legal Research Award program or other for-credit research courses. Additionally, the library requires them to complete a one-on-one advanced legal research training period with the reference librarians prior to being assigned to work on faculty research projects. At all times, Librarians supervise and monitor the quality of the students' work.  

Faculty members who want to take advantage of either of these services should contact their assigned library liaison.

Collection Development Policy

Law Library Implementation of Oklahoma City University Copyright Policy

You have several options to make course reserve materials available:

  1.  Individual Law Faculty, Faculty Support Services, or the Law Library Staff post electronic copies of materials or links to such materials on virtual course management products such as The West Education Network (TWEN) or LexisNexis Web Courses.
  2. Course materials in a PDF format may be made available via the OCU StarNet website.
  3.  If the materials are in a text or other book, you may place the book on course reserve.
  4. Print copies of materials may be placed on course reserve.
  5. Copies may be provided via a coursepack.

Irrespective of the format, copyright law must be complied with when providing access to materials. The OCU Copyright Policy is available at http://www2.okcu.edu/library/OCU_Copyright_Policy.pdf. Additional information regarding copyright is available from a number of sources listed as references to the policy. 

If, pursuant to the OCU Copyright Policy and Copyright Guidelines, permission must be obtained prior to posting or copying the information to be placed on reserve, TWEN or LexisNexis Web Courses, or StarNet, the Law Librarians are available to assist faculty in obtaining permission from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) or via direct contact with the copyright holder. Please note that expenses associated with copyright permissions should be considered in determining the method through which materials will be made available.

 

Obtaining Copyright Permission 

A request to obtain copyright permission may be submitted to your library liaison.

Placing Items on Lexis Web Courses or TWEN 

For assistance in learning how to create web courses and how to post or link documents in TWEN or LexisNexis Web Courses, you may email your library liaison.  You may also find it helpful to review the Professor’s Quick Guide to TWEN located on the TWEN Features and Updates page.  Information about the Lexis Web Courses can be found at the LexisNexis On Demand Learning Center

If you would like a reference librarian to post documents to TWEN or LexisNexis Web Courses, provide a PDF to your library liaison. Your library liaison can also convert documents to PDF for you. If copyright permission to post the material is necessary and you are requesting assistance to obtain permission, please make note of this when submitting the material to your liaison.  Posting will be delayed while copyright permission is sought. This process can take anywhere from one day to several months. 

Linking to resources available in Westlaw or LexisNexis is easy and, often does not require copyright permission. Providing citations to documents in other electronic databases is also an easy alternative and librarians may assist your students in locating the material if needed. 

Access to TWEN or LexisNexis Web Courses can be limited to students enrolled in the course through the use of a password, strengthening fair use arguments. 

Material located on TWEN or LexisNexis Web Courses remains available to faculty after the completion of the semester and may be copied, after obtaining appropriate permission from the copyright holders, into a course created for subsequent semesters, reducing the need to maintain alternative electronic copies. 

Many students have experience using course management systems such as TWEN and LexisNexis Web Courses and are comfortable accessing course materials this way.

TWEN and LexisNexis Web Courses are hosted off-campus.  As a result, electrical and other service interruptions on the OCU campus do not affect the availability of the material. 

Placing Items on StarNet 

If you would like assistance posting documents to StarNet, send a print or digital copy to Faculty Support Services.  Your library liaison is available to assist you or the Faculty Support Staff in requesting the requisite copyright permissions.

Because the materials are available to the entire OCU Law community rather than only those students enrolled in the class, arguments for fair use may be weakened.  

StarNet is hosted on a campus server, so electrical and other service interruptions on campus will often affect the availability of resources. 

 

Placing Books on Course Reserve 

Before the start of the semester, circulation staff will use booklists from the OCU Bookstore and syllabi posted on StarNet or supplied by you to pull materials owned by the Law Library and place them on course reserve. Reference materials, such as the Restatements and Vernon’s Oklahoma Forms, and study aids will not routinely be placed on course reserve unless such a specific request is made by faculty. If you would like additional books from the Law Library collection, or your personal collection to be added to course reserve please provide them to any of the law library circulation staff personnel or your library liaison. Books or other materials obtained via interlibrary loan (ILL) may not be placed on course reserve without specific permission from the lending library.

Obtaining copyright permission is not required to place a book on course reserve; however, as indicated below, if multiple copies of material from a book are to be placed on course reserve, permission from the copyright holder may be required. 

Although the library is accessible 24 hours a day, access to materials on course reserve is limited to hours when the circulation desk is open.  Library hours are available here.

 

Placing Copies of Materials on Course Reserve

If you would like copies of material to be added to course reserve, please provide them to any law library circulation staff personnel or your library liaison. 

If copyright permission is required, once the permission has been granted by the rights owner, copies can be placed on reserve.  In most cases, copyright permissions are not granted beyond one semester. Placing copied materials on reserve for more than one semester may require an additional request for copyright permission.  Some publishers are reluctant to grant permission, without cost, for materials that will be placed on course reserve. 

Copies of materials obtained via interlibrary loan (ILL) may not be placed on reserve without specific permission from the lending library. Access to and copying of these materials for course reserve may be accomplished through other means.  You may contact your library liaison for assistance with this procedure. 

Although the library is accessible 24 hours a day, access to materials on course reserve is limited to hours when the circulation desk is open.  Library hours are available here.

 

Creating a Coursepack 

Coursepacks may be created with the assistance of Faculty Support Services and sold in the OCU Bookstore. 

Often copyright permission is required for all materials in coursepacks.  Some publishers are reluctant to grant permission, without cost, for materials placed on course reserve, but cost associated with obtaining copyright permission may be recouped by including the cost in the charge for the coursepack.

Copies of materials obtained via interlibrary loan (ILL) may not be placed in coursepacks. Access to and copying of these materials for coursepacks must be accomplished through other means. You may contact your library liaison for assistance with this procedure.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271