Today's Music Library Hours:

Music Research: Home

Discover Resources

 

 Click here to do more in-depth music research.

Oxford Music Online Search Box
Oxford Music Online

If off-campus, use this link:

Search all products:

Streaming Audio:

Loading ...

Music Resources

CATALOGS

Dulaney-Browne Library Catalog (You can limit to 'Music Listening Library' location, musical recording or musical score. Alternatively, try the score search box below.)

SEARCH THE MUSIC LIBRARY'S SCORE COLLECTION


If you have trouble understanding the Library of Congress catalog system and want to learn more about the numbers you'll see while looking for music materials in Leichter Listening Library, click here:

 

Looking for Videos of performances?  The search box below will help you find if we have a DVD or a Video of a performance in this library:

SEARCH THE LIBRARY'S MEDIA COLLECTION (DVD & VHS)


Uncataloged LPs (These LP recordings are held by the library but are not in the library catalog. Use Excel's built in 'Find & Select' option to search this file.)

WorldCat (Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries world wide. You can order items free of charge from this catalog via inter-library loan.)

Journals list (Searchable list of print and electronic journals held by the Dulaney-Browne Library)


MUSIC-SPECIFIC DATABASES

Oxford Music Online (Includes: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music)

 

Oxford History of Western Music by Richard Taruskin


Naxos Music Library (Streaming audio)

Ebrary-Sheet Music (Electronic sheet music collection)

Music Index (Index to articles on music with some links to full-text)

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Index to music research material with some links to full-text)


GENERAL DATABASES CONTAINING MUSIC-RELATED MATERIAL

Academic Search Premier (Index to articles on a range of topics, including music, with some links to full-text. Accessible through EBSCOHost.)

JSTOR (Index to older journal articles, including music articles, with some links to full-text)
 
ProjectMuse Collection of not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
 
ProQuest Dissertations and Thesis  Provides abstract and full text access to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
 
Ebrary (Electronic book collection available online 24/7)

ERIC (Index to articles on education, including music education, with some links to full-text. Accessible through EBSCOhost.)

Need a Recording?

Naxos includes CDs available for live streaming via the Internet

Alexander Street Press includes video streaming channels as well as audio streaming channels.  This link lets you search them all!

Catalogs for recorded sound & video collections

Library of Congress Recorded Sound Reference Center
British Library Sound Archive Catalogue
Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database

National Jukebox  The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Live Music Archive is a community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format.

The Avant Garde Project is a series of recordings of 20th-century classical, experimental, and electroacoustic music digitized from LPs whose music has in most cases never been released on CD, and so is effectively inaccessible to the vast majority of music listeners today.

Free Music Archive The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads.  The Free Music Archive is directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America.  Radio has always offered the public free access to new music. The Free Music Archive is a continuation of that purpose, designed for the age of the internet.

Spotify  Think of Spotify as your new music collection. Your library. Only this time your collection is vast: over 15 million tracks and counting. Spotify comes in all shapes and sizes, available for your PC, Mac, home audio system and cell phone. Wherever you go, your music follows you.  And because the music plays live, there’s no need to wait for downloads and no big dent in your hard drive.

Grooveshark  Excellent source for popular music.  Allows users to send links to individual tracks and customized playlists via email to other users. The person sending the links, and creating the playlists, must have a (free for now) account, but the recipients do not have to be members.

 

Websites by Category

Here are just a few examples to get you started with using the Internet for academic research. Remember that there will be many other useful sites out there on the Internet!

Search Engines specifically to find scores

ScorSer 

Free sheet music databases
IMSLP

Sheet Music Consortium
Art Song Central

Aria Database
CAIRSS for Music 

Sheet Music for the nation-America

Musopen

Mutopia

Sheet music databases downloads for a fee

Musicnotes Download Sheet Music. From $5.25. With Over 110,000 Available Songs.

Art Song Transpositions--in case your song can't be found in the right key, this website publishes professional, exquisitely crafted editions of songs in any key. Fill out the request form below and we'll email you a price quote and estimated delivery date. Titles start as low as $4.95, which includes your song in one transposed key. For each additional key requested, there's an extra $.50 charge. Songs are delivered in PDF form. In case we don't have access to the song, we'll ask you to email us a copy. 24-hour rush orders are available.

Access to other library catalogs

LibWeb

Resources put together by other music libraries

Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard College Library)

Directories to open access material


Directory of Open Access Journals
DSpaceInstances


Website Categories
By subject

Musicals and Musical Theatre

Internet Broadway Database records of productions from the beginnings of New York theater until today.

Lortel Archives--The Internet Off-Broadway Database  also known as www.IOBDB.com (Internet Off-Broadway Database) provides a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.

Guide to Musical Theater fascinating site that includes numerous details about all musical productions.

ASCAP's Ace on the web Database of song titles, composers, lyricists, performers, and publishers. Includes publishers' addresses.

BMI HyperRepertoire

Links to song indexes

SESAC Repertory

Yale Theater and Dance Guide

UT song index

Popular songs in collections database-University of Washington

Choral Public Domain Library is an archive of choral sheet music and includes a wiki with texts and translations of the availble works.

Lied, Art Song, and Choral Texts Page

The Red Hot Jazz Archive

Musical Theme Dictionary

Music Theory Assistance

Good Ear = ear training help.

Musicards = intensely helpful music theory flash cards!

Music Theory and History Online = basics of notation, meter, rhythm, chord structures and more!

MusicTheory.net = free tools for learning music theory with ear training too!

Teoria—Music Theory Web = award winning tutorials on all aspects of music theory


By composer/performer

The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies This is a visionary Museum/Library at San Jose State University in San Jose California. One can access information about the American Beethoven Society and the Beethoven Gateway as well as information about interesting exhibits at the Center.

Beethoven Gateway Formerly called the Beethoven Bibliography Database, the purpose of this website is to bring all literature about Beethoven and the related information about the era he lived in under bibliographic control. This is an excellent resource for finding information about Beethoven literature.

The Charles Ives Society, Inc.

Mozart Database The purpose of this web site, operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute, is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study, scholarly and educational use. You can find a digital version of the Neue Mozart Ausgabe (the newest Urtext version of Mozart's collected works)here at this website.

By collection

The Julliard Manuscript Collection
Brahms-Institut
(in German)
Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia

Band Music PDF Complete settings for bands of today, including full scores and parts

The Full English a digital archive of approximately 44,000 records and 58,400 digitized images, all available freely online. The site documents folk music culture in England during the early 20th century. While it doesn’t provide any song recordings, what it does include are thousands of transcriptions of music and lyrics of folk songs from all across England, transcribed and compiled by notable song collectors, folklorists, and composers, including the likes of Percy Grainger, Cecil Sharpe, and Ralph Vaughan Williams. The Full English also includes correspondence and notebooks that paint a compelling picture of this community of scholars and musicians.

New York Philharmonic Dgital Archive The New York Philharmonic Digital Archives houses multiple score and part collections, including those of Leonard Bernstein and Andre Kostelanetz as well as the oldest items of the Philharmonic's own music library which dates back to the founding of the Orchestra in 1842.

Musica International MUSICA is currently a choral documentary search tool as well as a pedagogic tool for conductors, musicologists, schools of music, musical federations, music stores, and other organisations. It is also ideal for amateurs and those who wish to know more about the choral music repertoire. It fits perfectly as a database to manage a choral music library in a cooperative way with other libraries. It is a necessary tool for choral conductors, just like a tuning fork or pitch pipe.

MUSICA seeks to gather information on all choral music of the world and compile it into a single research tool. It is an international project and the database is therefore multilingual (French, German, English and Spanish), containing over 160,000 references (as of November 2010). This represents dozens of year-men of work. Its evolution into a virtual multimedia library is well underway. However, this work will take many years, and the contribution of volunteers from the world's choral community is necessary in order to quicken the pace towards completion.

Musical Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship. Researchers can search or browse materials, access metadata about each item, and view digital images of the treasure via each custodial archive's Web site. The consortial collection will grow as members add more materials.

The Avant Garde Project is a series of recordings of 20th-century classical, experimental, and electroacoustic music digitized from LPs whose music has in most cases never been released on CD, and so is effectively inaccessible to the vast majority of music listeners today.

By organization
American Federation of Musicians (AFM)

American Choral Directors Association (ACDA)

Association for recorded sound collections (ARSC)

The National Association for Music Education

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia International Music Fraternity for Men

Sigma Alpha Iota International Music Fraternity for Women

Can you think of other categories? Email the music librarian with your suggestions.

Tips taken from Coursera course Copyright for Multimedia from Duke University, Emory University & The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The following links are the suggested reading material for Data:

Feist Publications, Inc v. Rural Telephone Service (499 U.S. 340)

US Copyright Law Definition of Compilation in 101

Creative Commons Zero (CCO)

Sharing Research Data and Intellectual Property Law: A Primer

The following links are the suggested reading material for dealing with Images:

Circular 40: Copyright Registration for Pictorial, Graphic, and Sculptural Works

U.S. Copyright Law Section 106(a) (VARA)

The Original TEACH ACT Tool Kit

US Copyright Law Section 110(1) (Classroom Exception)

US Copyright Law Section 110(2) (TEACH Act)

The following links are the suggested reading material for dealing with Music and Audio:

Music and Copyright

Copyright Basics for Musicians

Protection for Pre-1972 Sound Recordings under State Law

YouTube now tells you how copyrighted music will affect your video before you upload It- check it out.

Blog Post- Planning for Musical Obsolescence

Getting Permissions

How Music Royalties Work

The following links are the suggested reading material for dealing with Film and Video:

Documentary Filmmakers' Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use

Best Practices of Fair Use in Dance-Related Materials

Society for Cinema and Media Studies, Fair Use Policies

TEACH Act Requirements (PDF).pdf

Loading ...

Music, Theater, Dance and Entertainment Business Librarian

Beth Fleming's picture
Beth Fleming
chat presence
Contact:
Leichter Listening Library
Room 308 B
Wanda L. Bass School of Music
405-208-5708
Website