Today's Hours:

Ballet/Modern Dance: Home

Discovery

Ballet/Modern Dance

This web site was created for the Ballet and Modern Dance assignment: person, era, or organization pertaining to the realm of BALLET or MODERN DANCE. It is not intended to be a comprehensive guide. However, the site is intended to help students understand the various dance sources available and how to begin their research and narrow topics. All print sources can be found at the Dulaney-Browne Library unless otherwise stated. All resources and recommended searches will be categorized for person, era, organization, or general.

Subject Headings

Monographs (books) can be located using the Library Catalog. Following are some examples of subject headings for researching dance topics:

Journal Titles & Indexes (Electronic & Print)

Journals that are accessible via the Internet are listed under the database they are indexed by, while journals that are available in print only are listed separately. Databases that do not have an associated list of journals contain dance articles but are not limited to dance only. This is not a comprehensive list. You may need your OCU email username and password to access electronic resources.

Search Dulaney-Browne Library Catalog

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good place to start your research because they can give you a broad overview of the subject as well as terminology to use in subject searches.

  • R 792.8 B171c 1977. Balanchine, George and Francis Mason. Balanchines Complete Stories of the Great Ballets. New York: Doubleday & Company, 1977. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection) Era
  • R 792.8 L422v. Lawrence, Robert. The Victor Book of Ballets and Ballet Music. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1950. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection) Era
  • R 792.803 C846o. Craine, Debra. The Oxford Dictionary of Dance. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection) Person
  • R 792.803 In8. Bremser, Martha. International Dictionary of Ballet. Detroit: St James Press, 1993. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection) Person & Organization
  • R 792.803 In83b. International Dictionary of Modern Dance. Detroit, MI : St. James Press, 1998. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection) Person & Organization

 

Books (Era)

Below are several general titles on the history of dance. These titles can help you research people as well as eras since you cannot recount history without talking at least briefly about the principle characters. Once you find books on your topic it is useful to browse the shelves in the same call number range.

 

  • 793.3 Sa1221w. Sachs, Curt. World History of the Dance. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 1939.
  • 793.319 C66d. Cohen, Selma Jeanne. Dance as a Theatre Art. New York: Harper & Row Publishers, 1974.
  • 793.31973 D833c. Driver, Ian. A Century of Dance. London: Octopus Publishing Group Limited, 2000.
  • 793.32 W659L. Sorell, Walter. Mary Wigman The Language of Dance. Middletown, CT: Wesleyan University Press, 1966.
  • OVERSIZE 792.809 K154h 2007. Kassing, Gayle. History of Dance: an Interactive Arts Approach. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2007.
  • OVERSIZE 792.8097471 D195. Garafola, Lynn and Eric Foner. Dance for a City: Fifty Years of the New York City Ballet. New York: Columbia University Press, 1999.
  • OVERSIZE 792.8947 G798. The Great History of Russian Ballet: Its Art and Choreography. Bournemouth, England: Parkstone Publishers, 1998.
  • OVERSIZE 793.3 H569d. Hilton, Wendy. Dance of Court & Theater: the French Noble Style 1690-1725. Princeton Book Company, 1981.

Internet Sources

 

Videos

  • DVD 792.8092 D541p 1999. DanceMaker (Person)
  • DVD 792.80947 G514 2005. The Glory of the Bolshoi. (Organization)
  • DVD 792.809747 B461a 2007. Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. (Organization)
  • DVD 793.32 G567is 2006. Isadora Duncan Movement from the Soul. (Person)
  • DVD 792.82 D736c 2004. The Children of Theatre Street. (Organization)

Music, Theater, Dance and Entertainment Business Librarian

Beth Fleming's picture
Beth Fleming
chat presence
Contact:
Leichter Listening Library
Room 308 B
Wanda L. Bass School of Music
405-208-5708
Website