Today's Hours:

Entertainment Business: Home

Entertainment Business

This web page was intended to help entertainment business majors begin research on topics in the area.  All print sources can be fund at the Dulaney-Browne Library unless otherwise stated.  This is not a comprehensive list of resources.

Subject Headings

Monographs (books) can be located using the Library Catalog.  Following are some examples of subject headings for researching entertainment business topics:

When searching in the EBSCO databases you should choose the advanced search tab.  From there you can choose either the keyword or subject term search.  The above searches will work in either, but by choosing subject you will get more targeted results.

The asterisk (*) is used to truncate words.  Agen* will find results that contain both agent, agents, agency, and agencies.

Additional subject terms can be found in the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS.
 

Notable Names (persons)

When searching for people, it is a good idea to do both an author and SUBJECT search on their name.

Notice the above EBSCO searches are all done differently.  Some are basic searches and some are advances searches.  Some are keyword and some are subject searches.  The last one uses the OR on the advanced tab to search for the last name listed for the first and last e.g. Gary Zuckerbrod OR Zuckerbrod, Gary.

If you are having problems locating information on a person, it may be because you are searching one of their aliases.  To find their given name visit the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS NAME AUTHORITIES.

Journal Titles & Indexes (Electronic & Print)

Journals that are accessible via the Internet are listed under the database they are indexed by, while journals that are available in print only are listed separately. Databases that do not have an associated list of journals contain dance articles but are not limited to dance only. This is not a comprehensive list. You may need your OCU email username and password to access electronic resources.

Search the EBSCO Databases:

 

Reference Materials

Reference are a good place to start your research.  Dictionaries and encyclopedias give you a broad overview of the subject as well as terminology to use in subject searches.  Directories can tell you who and where to look.

  • R 658.03 En194h5 2006. Helms, Marilyn M. Encyclopedia of Management. Farmington Hills: Thomson Gale, 2006. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection)
  • R 791.025 St45 2001. Forster, Stephanie. Stern's Directory. New York: Barbara Paige Kaplan, 2000. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection)
  • R 790.2 H729b. Hollywood Representation Directory. Hollywood: IFILM Pub, 2005. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection)
  • R 791.07973 F855e3 2005. Franks, Don. Entertainment Awards: A Music, Cinema, Theatre, and Broadcasting Guide, 1928 through 2003.Jefferson: McFarland & Co., 2005. (Library Use Only – Reference Collection)

 

Books

Below are several general titles on management and entertainment business to get your research started.  Books are a good resource when you need a large amount of information on one topic.  Books normally provide a larger overview as well as a historical perspective of a specific topic.

  • Oversize 658.4 W274h2. Warfield, John N. A Handbook of Interactive Management. Ames, IA: Iowa State University Press, 1994.
  • Oversize 658.4012 B964 v.3. Park, Amy Lynn.  Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses Throughout North America. Detroit, MI: Gale research, Inc., 1999.
  • 790.2 Sa99e 2008. Sayre, Shay. Entertainment Marketing & Communication: Selling Branded Performance, People, and Places.  Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2008.
  • 791.068 Sh135b3 2001. Shagan, Rena. Booking & Tour Management for the Performing Arts. New York: Allworth Press, 2001.
  • 791.4 L529b 2007. Lehu, Jean-Marc. Branded Entertainment: Product Placement & Brand Strategy in the Entertainment Business.  London: Kogan Page, 2007.
  • 791.023 B399o. Bekken, Bonnie Bjorguine. Opportunities in Performing Arts Careers.  Lincolnwood, IL: VGM Career Horizons, 1991.
  • 791.0068 F861t4 2004.  Frascogna, Xavier M.  This Business of Artist Management.  New York: Billboard Books, 2004.
  • 791.0698 B458a 2007. Bernstein, Joanne Scheff. Arts Marketing Insights: The Dynamics of Building and Retaining Performing Arts Audiences.  San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2007.

Internet Sources

 

Videos

 

  • DVD 792.082  Sh82 2001. Show Biz 101: No Guts No Glory
  • DVD 792.028 D615m 2007. Mike Fenton's Actors Workshop.  Special Features: Entertainment Business Primer
  • DVD
    338.71 F492 2011. Finding Your Customers: Marketing and Advertising Your Business.  How can you apply these strategies to marketing people instead of products and services?

Google Image Search

Google ADVANCED Image Search --Take advantage of advanced search features, such as limiting results to a site or domain.

TinEye Reverse Image Search--TinEye is a reverse image search engine. Search by image: Give it an image and it will tell you where the image appears on the web.

Picsearch

Getty Image Collections

NYPL Digital Images--Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog--Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Online access to a portion of the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Victoria and Albert Museum
Access over 360,000 images from the collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum, the world's largest museum of decorative arts and design.

Bing Images

Artstor--best image database in the world....better and more comprehensive than Google Image Search!  TOTALLY worth effort to get to use it!!  HOW??  1.  Get OK Share Card from our circulation desk  2. Drive to any nearby school that owns access.  (OU, OSU, and UCO all own access to this resource).  3. Go in to the school's library and use their access to this amazing resource for FREE!

Corbis images

Europeana--Online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.

Oxford Art Online  from Oklahoma City Public Libraries This database is the second largest collection of images after Artstor, and yes, it is still MUCH larger than Google Images!  It has a single interface you can use to search the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.--ANY Oklahoma City University Student can go to any branch of the Oklahoma City Public Libraries and get a card to use this database and once they get the card, they may use the database from the comfort of their very own home.

Music, Theater, Dance and Entertainment Business Librarian

Beth Fleming's picture
Beth Fleming
chat presence
Contact:
Leichter Listening Library
Room 308 B
Wanda L. Bass School of Music
405-208-5708
Website