Skip to main content

1L Survival Guide: Library Services

This LibGuide is designed to help first year law students as they begin their legal education.

Student Resources

Accessing the Internet

Wireless and traditional Internet connections are available throughout the law library.  Ethernet cables are available at the circulation desk.  For more information about accessing the Internet, contact the Law Technology Services located in the computer lab.

 LibGuides and Research Guides

The law library has created a number of LibGuides and research guides on various subjects.  These guides are a useful starting point for conducting research as they provide a general overview of the subject and list important library and internet resources.  All LibGuides and research guides are accessible at: http://libguides.okcu.edu/lawlibrary

Electronic Databases

Oklahoma City University libraries subscribe to various legal and informational databases.  These databases are listed and described on the Databases Libguide where you can link to them.  Databases are easily accessible on-campus.  If you would like to access these databases off campus, the LibGuide Page, Off Campus Access, provides directions on how to log-in.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a free service that provides law students and faculty access to materials not owned by Oklahoma City University   Cooperative agreements allow libraries around the world to lend and borrow books, articles, and other materials.

A full tutorial on how to make an ILL request is available on the LibGuide, Requesting items the Library doesn't own via Inter-Library Loan (ILL): Getting Started. Requests may also be submitted requested directly through a reference librarian.  For questions concerning interlibrary loan contact the reference librarian on duty or Jordan Piel

Practice Exams

Practice Exams

To ensure equal access to practice exams, with faculty approval, practice exams are made available exclusively in electronic format.  Practice exams are accessible through TWEN.

Reference Services

Reference Services

The Chickasaw Nation Law Library has three librarians holding J.D. degrees, and they enjoy teaching Oklahoma City University Law students how to effectively conduct legal research using paper and online sources to find case law, statutes, administrative rules, treatises and monographs.  The law library also trains a few talented law students to provide reference assistance to their peers.  A reference librarian or student reference assistant is available Monday through Friday during the fall and spring semesters. 

Reference Assistance is Available:

Mon - Thu     7:30 am - 5 pm

Friday           7:30 am - 5 pm

 

To contact a reference librarian or student reference assistant, call the Chickasaw Nation Law Library main line at 405-208-5271.  You may also contact reference librarians directly. If they are not available, they will get back to you as soon as possible.

 

Lee Peoples, Associate Dean of Library and Technology and Frederick Charles Hicks Professor of Law
lpeoples@okcu.edu
405-208-5440

Timothy Gatton, Associate Director for Research and Instruction
tgatton@okcu.edu
405-208-5344

Le'Shawn Turner, Reference Librarian

lrturner@okcu.edu

405-208-5062

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271