Skip to main content

2012-2013 Annual Report: Oklahoma City University School of Law Library: Electronic Services

Collection Development

The Law Library continually reviews and evaluates the electronic collection to insure resources are spent on services and tools our patrons need to successfully complete their research. Librarians work with the Law Library consortia group MALLCO, vendors, and faculty to identify and purchase useful databases or discontinue those that no longer serve patrons' needs.

Enrollment Decline

The number of enrolled law students declined significantly from 605 students in the fall of 2011 to 540 students in the fall of 2012. The decline in enrolled students has naturally resulted in decreased usage numbers for library databases. These enrollment numbers are those provided by the main campus registrar office and include full and part-time students.

CaseMaker and Fastcase

The Law Library provides students with access to two important practicioner's databases, CaseMaker and FastCase. Both companies cooperate with bar associations to set up access through someone's bar membership. The association pays for membership wide access to the database. The Oklahoma Bar Association provides Oklahoma Bar members with access to FastCase. The Texas Bar Association provides members with access to CaseMaker. Each database is taught in a variety of trainings and in the state specific research classes.

65 students are currently registered with CaseMaker accounts. CaseMaker has been accessed 110 times through the libary's database page. FastCase has been accessed 519 times.

Public Access Terminals

Ten online public access terminals are available for use by all library users. Three computers in 1 North may be used to print documents, complete online forms, and read pdf files. They also provide access to the OBA Formbook CD-Rom and Kendall Svengalis's Legal Information Buyer's Guide. One terminal serves as a dedicated "Shepard's Terminal" and is available for public patrons and visiting attorneys to "Shepardize" their cases and statutes free of charge. The terminal in 1 South provides users with access to a number of Native American legal resources. The remaining public access terminals may be used to search the catalog and browse the Internet.

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest purchased LexisNexis Congressional in 2012. In 2013 the LexisNexis administrative console and usage statistics for the database was discontinued. A new usage statistics module was recently developed but it reports statistics differently than the older administrative module. According to ProQuest, there were  1764 citation searches run and 1580 full text searches run in ProQuest Congressional. Click through reports from the Law Library's database page shows that ProQuest Congressional was accessed 793 times in 2012-2013 down 18.7% from 2011-2012. The lower number may be due to the few Federal Legislative History research workshops offered in 2012-2013 and reduced first year law student enrollment.

Serial Solutions

 

 

 

Serial Solutions provides two services to the Law Library, the A-Z List and Article Linker.

The A-Z List combines journal holding information from the Law Library's catalog and databases. It then generates a list of the Law Library's print and electronic journal holdings and displays where in the library's physical or electronic collection that journal may be found. Article Linker allows users to locate the full text of an article within the library's holdings through the Law Library's journal indexes. The "Titles Accessed" line reflects a combination of journal titles accessed using the A-Z List and Article Linker. Both continue to be excellent tools with 1778 searches conducted in the A-Z List and 579 articles accessed.

More detailed information about specific titles and databases accessed using Serial Solutions is available upon request.

 

1L Database Registration

Every year incoming 1Ls must register for LexisNexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law, and CALI. The library coordinates the sign up process and assists students with registering their information. In July all incoming 1L and transfer students are sent emails with detailed instructions for signing up for Westlaw accounts and TWEN. Included in this information are instructions for accessing Legal Analysis course materials. To do this, the Head of Reference Services works closely with law school administration and staff and the Legal Analysis professors.

In the following weeks student are also sent emails with instructions for signing up for Lexis and CALI. Additionally, handouts with this information are included in the 1L orientation materials.

After registering their accounts, students receive assistance signing up for TWEN courses and mandatory vendor training. While most students are able to sign up for these services without any difficulty, many experience technical difficulty or need one on one assistance. The Library spends a great deal of time in late July and through August providing one on one assistance with database registration and vendor training registration. In the fall of 2012 115 questions were recorded in Gimlet related to database and vendor training registration. 

 

Subject Specific Databases

For most of the databases shown, the data from 2011-2012 and 2012-2013 was gathered by determining click through counts from the Law Library's Database page. The 2010-2011 data was gathered from the 2010-2011 Annual Report, which reported the click-through data beginning January 2011. This information does not reflect when an item was accessed through the catalog or through another guide. Though an imprefect measurement, it provides a general overview of how often resources are used. Many of these databases are used for specialized research. Though they may be used infrequently, when they are accessed the information is very valuable.

For LLMC Digital and Early English Books Online, site visit data for is available from the vendor.

HeinOnline

*Site visit information is not available for these years.
** Site visits beginning January 2010

HeinOnline continues to be a popular and valuable resource for law students and faculty. Though the number of searches has declined, the number of documents retrieved has steadily increased. This may be attributed to HeinOnline's improved interface and increased instruction on how to successfully search HeinOnline in LRW classes, seminars, and other library trainings.

Legal Periodical Indexes

Google Visualization API Sample

Index to Legal Periodicals and LegalTac provide library patrons access to legal scholarship indexes allowing them to efficiently locate citations from a number of sources.The indexes are primarily accessed through the Law Library's Database page and therefore a comparison of the number of times each index has been accessed or "clicked" through the Database page provides a good overview of the frequency of use. Click through statistics are not available prior to 2011-2012.

CALI Lessons

.

327 current law students are registered for CALI. This number will increase as more first year students sign up closer to finals. Reduced enrollment explains some of the drop in  the number of CALI lessons taken in 2012-2013. There were 464 Legal Research and Legal Writing lessons run in 2012-2013 compared to 184 in 2011-2012 representing a 152% increase in these categories. 

The top ten lessons run in 2012-2013 were:

  • Plagiarism - Keeping Out of Trouble  
  • Punctuation and Grammar Basics for Students 
  • The Legal Research Game: Fee or Free Edition  
  • Citation Form for Briefs and Legal Memoranda 
  • Model Rules of Professional Conduct I: Preliminary Drill  
  • How to Brief a Case 
  • Contemporary Commerce Clause 
  • An Overview of Relevance and Hearsay: A Nine Step Analytical Guide 
  • Battle of the Forms (UCC 2-207) 
  • Automobile Searches

More detailed information about specific CALI Lessons for 2012-2013 is available on request.

Multi Disciplinary Databases

Law Library patrons have access to several multi-displinary databases through the Dulaney-Browne Library. Based on click through numbers from the Law Library's Database page, use of these databases has increased significantly despite the decline in enrollment numbers. This may be attributed to the Law Librarians increased presence in the substantive law courses and increases Award participation.

Ebrary

In January, the Law Library launched a new patron driven demand ebook collection through Ebrary. Every two weeks Ebrary sends the Law Library catalog records of newly available law related ebooks in their collection. The catalog records are then uploaded into the Law Library's catalog. 793 records from Ebrary have been uploaded into the catalog.

When patrons search the catalog and find an ebook they wish to review, they can download it to a number of mobile devices or their computer. The service itself is free. The Law Library is only charged a fee when a new ebook is downloaded. Of those 793 records, 19 titles have been access with 6 full chapter downloads. $69.74 has been spent purchasing Ebrary titles. Print full text purchases of these items would have cost approximately $500. Read more about ebooks from Ebrary on the Ebrary LibGuide.

LexisNexis

In 2011-2012 there were 55,877 total transactions in LexisNexis. For 2012-2013 Lexis altered its reporting and a comparison is difficult. Lexis reported 18,390 documents accessed on Lexis.com and 21,575  documents accessed on Lexis Advance for of total of 39,965 documents accessed though LexisNexis. Lexis reported a combined 33,522 database searches in Lexis.com and LexisAdvance and 4,008 Shepard's searches.

Lexis moved forward in its migration of content from Lexis.com to Lexis Advance. All Lexis users were required to create a new username and password for Lexis Advance. Beginning June 22, Lexis.com IDs and passwords no longer functioned. Reference librarians coordinated with faculty, students, and staff to migrate and update Lexis account and user ID information. Many students still need assistance activating new Lexis Advance IDs and the migration work will likely continue intermittently for the next year or two. 

Westlaw and Westlaw Next

Top Ten Westlaw Next and Westlaw Classic Databases used by Students

Databases

Total Transactions
Search-All 45,437
Srch-Single Jurisdiction 40,030
Oklahoma Cases 28,208
Oklahoma Statutes Annotated 22,654
US Court of Appeals Cases 22,090
KeyCIte 18,026
All US Supreme Court 15,752
United States Code Annotated 15,605
Vernon's Okla. 2d Forms 12,962
Search-Single Publication 12,418

2012-2013 usage information for Westlaw Classic and Westlaw Next was provided by the vendor. Transactions include basic searches as well as citation searches. The data combines numbers from Westlaw Classic and Westlaw Next. While many students continue to utilize the inefficient "ALL-Search" option, more students are pre-filtering to specific resources. The reference librarians will continue to provide instruction that emphasizes pre-filtering and efficient search methods. 

KeyCite v. Shepard's

According to Westlaw there were 6,263 KeyCite searches by Faculty and 18,026 KeyCite searches by students for a total of 24,289 KeyCite searches. This is remarkably higher than the Shepard's citation searches reported by Lexis, 4,008

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271