Skip to main content

2011-2012 Annual Report: Oklahoma City University School of Law Library: Technical Services

Goals of the Department

The technical services department is in charge of purchasing and processing all library material added to the library collection.  This includes items generously donated from our faculty and alumni patrons. The technical services dept. is also responsible for removing an item from the collection and the catalog when it is out of date or no longer needed. The members of this department build and maintain the online library catalog. 

Catalog

Each year a strong focus of the technical services department is database cleanup, as well as enrichment and enhancement to the bibliographic records in the online library catalog. In 2011-2012, 7915 new records were created and 33,096 records were updated in the catalog. The most innovative project this department completed this year was adding and enhancing the code that generates QR codes for all titles in our online library catalog.

Student Workers 2011-2012

Trent Brewer
Jeanne Lynn
Austin Windover

Completed Projects

 A few long term projects were completed in the 2011-2012 fiscal year:

  • Technical services utilized the OCLC Collection Analysis program to identify books to purchase in the areas of Health Law, International Commercial Arbitration, and Wrongful Convictions. This program compares our collection with several other libraries with major holdings in these areas and indicates where our collection needs to be bolstered.
  • Another project entailed adding exact holdings information for all periodicals in our collection to our  A-Z list. With this project completed, patrons can now view each periodical available in the collection and quickly establish the holdings and coverage of a title.
  • long term project was completed which involved adding 1292  records and updating 806 records with our local holdings information for serials to the OCLC worldwide database. This change allows other libraries placing ILL requests and other OCLC Worldcat searchers to more accurately determine the materials we have available. 

Current Projects

Several longterm projects began in the last fiscal year:

  • Adding table of contents information to each of the records for enhanced keyword searching in the online library catalog
  • Reclassifying the Audio Visual Collection [dvds and vhs] into Library of Congress classification rather than accession numbers for easier patron browsing by subject material
  • Adding Library of Congress Genre/Form headings [such as Casebooks, Hornbooks, Legal Forms, etc.] into the catalog records for richer patron searching
  • Cross-training access services staff on aspects of integrated library system administration

Technical Services Dept. employees

Nancy Cowden, Assistant Director for Technical Services, Librarian

Kathryn Broad, SystemsLibrarian/Cataloger 

Mary Gillman, Library Specialist in Technical Services

Cross Departmental Projects

In conjunction with access services, technical services assisted with inventorying all the print materials in the library.  The last time an inventory project was attempted was in the early 1990’s.

 A completed joint project with access services was the creation of lists of titles available online and titles no longer being updated. Student workers and access services staff used these lists to mark volumes with “available online” and “no longer being updated” notices. The technical services dept. will continue this project by adding these notices to new material when received.

In conjunction with the adminstration and reference departments, technical services assisted with a large weeding project. Select items weeded last year were out of date or duplicate textbooks and casebooks, periodicals, and material from the second and third floors.  In 2011-2012, 5598 periodical volumes and 4534 looseleaf and treatise volumes were weeded from the collection.

The technical services department also assists the access services and reference departments with creating and modifying database queries used to evaluate the collection, services, and library hours.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271