Skip to main content

2011-2012 Annual Report: Oklahoma City University School of Law Library: Library Services for Students

Student Newsletter

The Law Library publishes a student newsletter twice a semester. The newsletter provides important library updates and useful research tips. Newsletters are distributed via email and print copies are available through out the library and law school. Previous editions are availble in the Law Library Newsletters LibGuide.

Student Group Support

The Law Library continued to offer formal and informal instruction to all clinic teams, moot court and trial court teams, student activity organizations, and the law review. At the beginning of the fall semester the library directly reaches out to every student group.This past year librarians provided specialized instruction and one on one assistance to:

  • Law Review
  • Jessup International Law Moot Court Team
  • American Bar Association Moot Court Team
  • Native American Law Student Association Moot Court Team
  • Public Interest Law Group
  • Texas Legal Society
  • Merit Scholars
  • Immigration Law Clinic
  • Oklahoma Innocence Clinic

Review our Outreach page for more information.

Law Review and Moot Court Services

The Law Library provides storage space for the Law Review and the moot court teams. Members may retrieve the key for the cabinet from the Circulation Desk and store research materials in the locked cabinets located in the Native American Wing for group use. Copy cards are also available for the Law Review and select moot court teams. Each body provides funds for their copy card.

Study Rooms

This past year we added 3 additional study rooms. All study rooms are equipped with white boards, large computer monitors, and table top outlets. Students may borrow cables from the circulation desk to connect their computers to the large monitors. Dry erase markers are also available to be checked out. During the exam reading period students may reserve 7 of the 10 study rooms up to a week in advance.

1L Database Registration

Every year incoming 1Ls must register for LexisNexis, Westlaw, and CALI. The library coordinates the sign up process and assists students with registering their information. After registering their accounts, students receive assistance signing up for TWEN courses and mandatory vendor training.

On Demand Training

Librarians provide on demand training to students daily. Each training is unique. Some select types of on demand training include:

  • Catalog instruction
  • Copying and digitizing guidance
  • Legal intern and summer associate assistance
  • Docket searching
  • CALI training
  • Databases instruction
  • Bluebook advice
  • Using current awareness tools
  • Law Review note and seminar paper consultation

Student Driven Collection Development

Students take an active part in the development of the print and electronic research collection. Each topical LibGuide allows students to leave feedback and suggest links and resources. Students are encouraged to provide suggestions to the librarians for additions to the collection. 

Amenities

Librarians and staff strive to make the Law Library a comfortable place for students. The library provides the following amenities:

 

  • Student lounge with cable television
  • Microwaves
  • Coffee, soda, and snack machines
  • Filtered water dispenser
  • Copiers with scanning capabilities
  • iPads
  • Free earplugs
  • Headphones
  • VCR and DVD players
  • Dry erase markers for use in the study rooms
  • VGA cables for use in the study rooms
  • HDMI and VGA splitters
  • Fax services for a fee
  • Free coffee and homemade cookies at select times in the semester
  • Magazines and newspapers
  • Soft seating throughout the library
  • Table top reading lights

Tours

Librarians offered tours to patrons.  ILs received a tour as part of their LRW library instruction. Tours were also available upon request.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271