Skip to main content

2011-2012 Annual Report: Oklahoma City University School of Law Library: Facility Improvements

New faculty offices in 3 South

Four new offices have been created in the 3 South wing of the library this summer. 

New Furniture

Summer 2011 new furniture for every wing of the library arrived. This significant increase in seating allowed the library to seat 91% of the student body (based on a FTE of 578 in Fall 2011).

Patrons now enjoy comfortable new seating and tabletop lighting throughout the library.

Native American Collection

The Native American Collection moved to the 1 South wing in March 2012. In Fall 2012 the 1 South wing was renamed the Native American Wing. This growing collection has significantly expanded in the last few years. In this diverse legal collection patrons are also able to find Native American periodicals, reference materials, oversize books, and Pro Se materials. With wider aisles and new signage, the Native American collection is even more popular than before.

Artwork

Professor Von Creel donated three items to add to our growing artwork collection. They are on display on the 2nd Floor lobby.  In a joint reference and access services departments project, Jennifer Prilliman and Jennifer Watson spent time in the University Archives finding photos and memorabilia from the Gold Star's ground breaking. A new exhibit highlighting the Gold Star building's history is planned for the 1st floor foyer.

New Seminar Rooms

Two new classrooms/study rooms were constructed in the Native American Wing (1 South). These rooms can accommodate up to 18 students.

Faculty Publications Display

The Faculty Scholarship electronic slides display on 2N was redesigned this year. Each slide contains an image of the first page or cover of the most recent scholarship of each full time faculty member. The image and title information was updated throughout the year.

Tuckpointing and new windows

Over the past year some noisy but necessary work has been done to the exterior of the Gold Star building. The old mortar has been carefully removed and replaced (top). The majority of the building has been tuckpointed, with only the tower and the west entrance left to be completed (center). Window installation began Spring 2012 and will continue through 2012-2013 (bottom). Eventually these new windows and tuckpointing will improve and assist with climate control and humidity. 

Popular Reading

The library owns many fiction and non-fiction titles that our patrons use for pleasure reading. These materials are now highlighted in the new Popular Reading Collection in the 3rd floor lobby. Patrons can spend a quiet moment taking a break from their studies or check out these materials and relax at home. The library is now actively collecting more materials for this section.

Disaster Preparedness

Natalie DeBerry has been revising and expanding the Library Disaster Preparedness Plan. She has attended numerous trainings offered by the campus risk management and FEMA. With this training, she has built off of the campus disaster plan and is working to create an updated salvage priority list.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271