|
|
Program held at the
|
|
Speaker: Joni L. Cassidy, CEO
Cassidy Cataloguing Services, Inc.
|
|
SELECTING GOOD "COPY CATALOGING" RECORDS
Some of the elements to look at are:
Ø Title Proper
Ø ISBN or ISSN
Ø Copyright and/or issuing date(s)
Ø Physical format (i.e. print, microform, electronic, video, etc.)
Ø Publication information
Ø RDA descriptive coventions
Ø 505 contents note
Ø Citation note (510)
Ø Fixed field elements
Ø Check call number
Ø Are subject headings adequate? (i.e. Hunter Thompson)
Ø Typos? Could there be other errors?
Ø Linking entries for earlier / later titles
Ø Numeric and/or chronological designations
BUYING CATALOGING FROM A VENDOR
Ø Preparing the bibliographic information to outsource
Ø Evaluating the finished product before adding it to the catalog
Ø Profiling your library accurately to get the final product you want [as time permits]
WHENEVER POSSIBLE, CLONE NEW RECORDS FROM YOUR OWN OLD RECORDS
THE ZEN OF FORCING TO KF:
Generally, “forcing to KF” is not a decision we recommend anymore as libraries tend to outgrow this decision quickly and it is difficult to document in a way that can be followed by future catalogers.
The full range of Library of Congress classification scheme would usually include the classing of :
General Reference resources in Class A
Social science, including Finance in Class H
Political science and Political history in Class J
Language and Dictionaries in Class P
Pure sciences in Class Q
Medicine in Class R
Agriculture in Class S
Applied technology in Class T
Information science in Class Z
Usually, the full range is used in the REFERENCE Collection even if it is not utilized in the Circulating Collection. If a law library makes the decision to force all titles to the K Classes, meant for Law, it could look something like this:
H’s (Finance) end up with Banking Law, sometimes also with Securities and Investments.
J’s (Politics) may end up with Constitutional Law or Local Government.
Biotechnology titles would probably be classed with the regulation of the biotechnology industry.
Genetics research might end up with public health law.
Following are some examples of other adjustments we have made to K Class over the years to make it work better in libraries servicing practicing attorneys:
Computer law titles are kept together in the Intellectual Property range (KF 3024 or KF 3133).
A computer is a tool, not a subject. Ask yourself, “What is the book about?”
Environmental law titles are kept together in the public health range (KF 3775+) instead of also using KF 1299 for Toxic Torts.
International titles are kept together in a separate international section (INTL).
International tax titles are kept together, near or with the tax materials (KF 6271+).
Real estate titles are kept together in the private real estate range (KF 566-698), instead of being classed according to subject
(KF 566-698 = private real estate transactions)
(KF 6540 = taxation of real property)
(KF 1079 = real estate syndication)
(KF 5500+ = public land use)
Securities titles are kept together in the corporate finance range (KF 1431-1440), instead of being classed according to subject
(KF 1046-1050 = secured transactions)
(KF 1066-1070 = marketing of securities)
(KF 1431-1440 = corporate finance)
Trial practice titles can be kept together in the practice range (KF 8925), instead of being classed according to secondary subject.
Pension and Pension trusts can be forced together rather than be allowed to fall out into two separate numbers depending upon whether or not the item presents a strong tax treatment of the subject or not.
Trusts and Estates can be forced together rather than be allowed to fall out into two separate numbers depending upon whether or not the item presents a strong tax treatment of the subject or not.
Zoning law titles will be classed in KF5697-5698 with Public land use.
Damages titles are classed in KF1250 with Torts.
Federal Reserve Banks and Federal Reserve Systems are classed together in KF981-990 with Banking titles.
Real estate syndication titles are classed in KF1079 with other forms of investment.
Construction Contracts and Litigation titles are classed in KF902 with specific kinds of Contracts.
INTEGRATING RESOURCES
I. DEFINITIONS:
1. MONOGRAPH: A bibliographic resource that is complete in one part or intended to be complete in a finite number of parts.
Multipart Item-A monograph complete, or intended to be complete, in a finite number of separate
parts. The separate parts may or may not be numbered.
2. CONTINUING RESOURCE: A bibliographic resource that has no predetermined conclusion.
It provides a collective term for serial and integrating resources.
The primary difference between an integrating resource and a serial is the manner in which it is issued.
Serials are issued in discrete parts while Integrating resources are issued with updates that do not
remain discrete.
3. SERIAL: A continuing, bibliographic resource that is issued in a succession of discrete parts, usually bearing numbering, that has no predetermined conclusion.
INCLUDES: journals, e-journals, periodicals, electronic resources other than websites, newsletters, annual
reports, newspapers, monographic series*, regularly replaced directories.
*MONOGRAPHIC SERIES:
Has part numbers;
Is called “series” not “journal”;
Has all the characteristics of a serial, but each has a unique title, author, etc.;
We catalog the whole series with the same call #, but make an individual record for each.
4. INTEGRATING RESOURCE: A continuing, bibliographic resource that is added to, or changed, by means of updates that do not remain discrete and are integrated into the whole.
An integrating resource may be finite or continuing.
INCLUDES: updating websites, updating databases, updating loose-leafs.
ITERATION: An instance of an integrated resource, either as first published or after it has been updated.
II. DECIDING WHAT’S WHAT—LCRI 1.0 (formerly LCRI 12.0A):
The first step is deciding how to catalog a resource which leads to determining what it is.
Consult LCRI 1.0 and ask the following question:
Will the resource be issued/updated on a continuing basis?
If it is basically complete, but may have been corrected, catalog as a monograph.
If it is likely to be updated or added to over time, treat it as a serial or integrating resource.
Is the resource a direct access (e.g., CD-ROMs) e-resource?
LCRI 1.0 assumes that a direct access resource cannot be an integrated resource.
Ongoing CD-ROMs thus are serials, even when cumulative.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Is the resource issued in loose-leaf format?
Consider whether the base volume will be issued on a regular basis (serial) or not (IR)
Is the resource a remote access (online) resource?
Can you access any earlier issues or updates?
If no, consider to be integrating
If yes, treat as serial or as multipart monograph