Collection Services Policy and Procedure Manual: ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

Cataloging electronic titles and databases:

1.  In 2002, we decided to not catalog all titles in all databases.  The decisions of which ones to catalog are in the list of databases below.  For those we catalog we show our holdings in OCLC too but there have been exceptions to that rule.  We do not have our holdings showing up in OCLC for any cataloging we receive from Cassidy Cataloging Co.  - example, HeinOnline sets, Lexis, Loislaw and Westlaw treatise titles.  We also did not attach our holdings in OCLC for EEBO and Serial Set databases.  We were sent bibs from vendor and we just dumped them into Voyager.

2.  We add the 856 e-link to every manifestation of a work that we have bibs for in Voyager -- fiche, paper, etc.  

3.   Call numbers in 099 field will be ON-LINE PERIODICAL for all periodical/journal titles.  ON-LINE RESOURCE is used for everything else.

4.  We do not attach our holdings in OCLC for any Ebscohost ebooks that DBL gets and shares with us or Law Ebrary e-books.  We receive weekly files for Law Ebrary new titles  and download them into our Voyager catalog. Kathy receives Ebscohost ebooks files from DBL periodically. She culls through them and picks out law related titles and puts them into our Voyager catalog.

This is the current law proxy server address which is added in the 856 field in the VCAT bib record for titles in HeinOnline, LLMC and other paid databases except for Westlaw and Lexis: 

https: //lawproxy.okcu.edu:8443/login?url=

Current CNLL and DBL IP addresses

As of 2019-09-27, the IP addresses for CNLL stakeholders are:
156.110.45.41
156.110.45.45
156.110.45.46
156.110.45.47 

As of 2019-09-27, the IP addresses for DBL stakeholders are:
156.110.45.10-45 (the overlap covers the law school's wi-fi and computer lab/public machine access)
156.110.45.48-255
 

Depreciated CNLL IP addresses

As of 2019-09-27 the following Law IP addresses were depreciated: 

24.248.245.202

24.248.245.203

Electronic Resources

The content of an electronic resource is evaluated using the same criteria as for other library material.  Purchase suggestions come from numerous sources including librarians, faculty, vendor advertisements, and MALLCO trial subscriptions.   The following criteria are used when selecting electronic resources: 

• Ease of use and reliability
• Provide value added enhancements over print equivalents
• Provide content in full-text as opposed to only abstracts or indexes
• Provide content that is at least as extensive as the print equivalent
• Electronic resources that omit material available in print equivalents are not preferred
• Permanent ownership of online content is generally preferred over leasing
• The library endeavors to purchase electronic resources at a discount through MALLCO.  Collaborative purchases with the Dulaney-Browne library are considered where appropriate.
• Access through IP address with Easy Proxy off-campus verification is preferred over access via individual passwords.
• Authorized users of resources should include the broadest scope of law library patrons as possible.  Oklahoma City University School of Law students, faculty, and staff should be included at the minimum.  Resources are preferred that also provide access for all members of the Oklahoma City University community including walk in users.
• Resources are preferred that allow the fair use of database content  including lending content through ILL.
• Electronic database vendors are asked to provide annual use statistics that are sufficiently detailed and specific to provide a meaningful illustration of database use.  Statistics are used when determining whether to continue subscriptions to electronic resources.
• Each electronic resource will be added to the law library’s databases page and to the online catalog.  At the minimum a single catalog record will be added for each database.  Whenever possible individual records will be added to the catalog for each title available in an online database
• Electronic resources that provide free MARC records are preferred over resources that charge for MARC records.  The law library purchases MARC records for electronic resources from Cassidy Cataloging and other vendors as budgetary funds permit

Electronic Books

The law library provides access to a collection of law and law related e-book titles through the Dulaney-Browne Library’s subscription to EBSCO.  MARC records for these titles are available in the law library’s online catalog. 

The law library began subscribing to EBRARY (now ProQuest Ebook Central) law books in 2013 through GOBI/Yankee Book Peddlar. We subscribe to Demand Driven Acquisitions through YBP Library Services.  Under this program MARC records for e-book titles that match pre-defined selection criteria are loaded into the library’s catalog.  Patrons will access e-book content by clicking a link in the record.  The library will automatically purchase any e-book that is accessed a pre-defined number of times.

The Assistant Director for Collection Services maintains an excel list of all the databases that we receive by FY.  Payment and order information are recorded there as often times it is necessary to send this list to other librarians. A copy of this sheet is kept in the CIRC share drive in Databases folder. This folder also has copies of our licenses and contracts for each database.  Also a bib record and a PO are created for all databases - some are for payment purposes only, some have full cataloging and we have our holdings attached in OCLC.  There are also paper files concerning our orders, problems with the various databases, cancellations, etc.  These files are kept in Nancy's office as well as in emails in my "web titles" folder. 

This is the current list of paid databases as of FY 16-17.   Nancy keeps this list current in excel and records payments there.  These are also paid in VACQ   Nancy also has an excel list of how many titles have been cataloged in each set along with our cataloging decisions to catalog or not to catalog   - - -

America's Best US Graduate Schools database - title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

AudioCase Files - 1 bib record in vcat

Bepress - have 1 skimpy bib record in vcat, no holdings in OCLC

Bloomberg Law/Bloomberg BNA - cataloged individual titles in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

CALI -  have one set bib that is cataloged in vcat and have 1 holding in OCLC

CCH Tax Research Network - individual titles are cataloged in vcat and have some holdings in OCLC

Chicago manual of style - have 1 bib record in vcat

Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) - the title is cataloged in vcat and have 1 holding in OCLC

Digital Bluebook for law review office - not cataloged in vcat, no holdings in OCLC

Early English books online (EEBO) - cataloged individual titles in vcat [vendor supplied bibs], but no holdings in OCLC by title; have set title in OCLC

Environment & Energy Publishing -  the set title is cataloged in vcat, no holdings in OCLC

Environmental Law Institute database -  the set title is cataloged in vcat and have 1 holding in OCLC

Fastcase -  title is cataloged in vcat, no holdings in OCLC

HEINONLINE DATABASES - each database has a set bib in vcat and have holdings on each set record in OCLC; some sets have been cataloged more

HOL ABA Law Library Collection of Periodicals - all cataloged individually

HOL ALI Library - received set bibs from Cassidy in 2016 and have s/o for updates for vcat, have some holdings in OCLC

HOL AALL Library -  title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL American Indian Law -  received set bibs from Cassidy in 2016 and have s/o for updates for vcat, have some holdings in OCLC when Nancy was cataloging the set

HOL AALS Library -  title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL Bar Journals - each title is cataloged individually

HOL Brennan Center for Justice Pubs. at NYU School of Law - 1 bib record in vcat

HOL Canada Supreme Court Reports -  title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL Cataloging Legal Literature - 1 bib record in vcat

HOL CFR Library -  title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL Core Plus (was Periodical Library) - cataloging individual titles in vcat and have holdings in OCLC; current project for Kathy

HOL Early American Case Law -   title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL English Reports - cataloged some titles in vcat and have some holdings in OCLC

HOL European Center for Minority Issues - no longer cataloging but have some bibs in vcat, have set holdings in OCLC

HOL Fastcase -  title is cataloged and have holdings in OCLC

HOL Federal Register - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat, have some holdings in OCLC

HOL Foreign & Internatl Law Resources - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat, have some holdings in OCLC

HOL Foreign Relations of the US - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat, have some holdings in OCLC

HOL Harvard Research in Internatl law - 2 titles cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL History of Supreme Court Nominations -  title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL International Law Assoc Reports - not cataloged and no holdings in OCLC

HOL Legal LC Subject Headings Lists - online title cataloged on the paper record in vcat ; have OCLC holdings

HOL Legal Classics - cataloging individual titles in vcat and have holdings in OCLC; current project for Kathy

HOL Manual of Patent Examining Procedure - 1 bib record in vcat

HOL Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory - 1 bib record in vcat

HOL National Conference of Commissioners on

     Uniform State Laws - set title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL National Survey of State Laws - 1 bib record in vcat

HOL Pentagon Papers - title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL Philip C. Jessup - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat, have holdings in OCLC

HOL Preview of US Supreme Court Cases - 1 bib record in vcat

HOL Revised Statutes of Canada - title is cataloged and have holdings in OCLC [doing 2-20-15]

HOL Selden Society - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat, have holdings in OCLC for set title

HOL Slavery in America and the World - 1 bib record in vcat, may catalog later

HOL State package - State Atty Gen Opinions (all cataloged in vcat), State Statutes: a historical archive (1 cataloged in vcat),

     State Reports: a historical archive (1 cataloged in vcat), State Session Laws (part cataloged in vcat and have set holdings in OCLC)  and State Bar Journals (all cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC; current project for Kathy)

HOL Statutes of the Realm - title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL Subject Compilations of State Laws - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL UNC Press Law Publications - 1 bib record in vcat

HOL US Atty Gen Opinions -no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL US Code Library -no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL US Congressional Documents - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL US Federal Agency Decisions - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL US Federal legislative history - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL US Presidential Library - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL US Statutes at Large - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL US Supreme Court Library - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL US Treaties and Agreements Library - no longer cataloging but have some titles in vcat; 1 holding in OCLC for the set

HOL Women and the Law - 1 set title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

HOL World Constitutions Illustrated - bought some Cassidy cataloging for vcat but have no holdings in OCLC; we will catalog each now and will have holdings in OCLC someday - not current project

HOL World Trials Library - bought some Cassidy cataloging for vcat but have no holdings in OCLC; we will catalog each now and will have holdings in OCLC - Nancy current project

Legal Scholarship (SSRN) -  have 3 bib records in vcat and have holdings in OCLC (Lee's journal cataloged and 1 Indian journal cataloged)

LexisNexis - received Cassidy bibs in 2016 for vcat and have s/o for updates, no holdings in OCLC

Lexis Shepard's online - title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC

LibGuides - have 1 skimpy record in vcat, no holdings in OCLC

LLMC digital - cataloging individual titles for vcat and have holdings in OCLC [OCLC Collection Mgr supplies bibs]

Loislaw - currently receive Cassidy cataloging for vcat of the treatises, have no holdings in OCLC

Oxford Internatl Encyclopedia of Legal History - 1 bib record in vcat

Parry & Grant Encyclopedic dictionary of international law - title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC 

Proquest Congressional & indexes - title is cataloged in vcat and have holdings in OCLC 

US Congressional Serial Set - individual records recd free from vendor and some in vcat, no holdings on OCLC. Have 1 set bib in vcat & OCLC

West Academic Digital Study Aids - all cataloged individually from records recd from West Academic.

Westlaw - received Cassidy bibs in 2016 for vcat and have s/o for updates; have no holdings in OCLC

[DATABASES THAT ARE FREE OR THAT WE GET THROUGH DBL ARE NOT LISTED HERE]

Free Internet Resources

The law library selectively adds links to free internet resources to its collection of LibGuide research guides and to catalog records.  These resources are evaluated using the selection criteria outlined above.  Free resources are evaluated according to the following criteria before they are included:

-          Is the author / source of the information credible and reliable

-          Is the information objective

-          Is the information kept current

Contacts for changing IPs that need to be whitelisted for authentication (e.g., after a university-wide ISP change):
 

IP addresses to add for law library stakeholders (as of 2019-10-08):
IP Ranges: 156.110.45.41; 156.110.45.45-47 which includes:

• Law School Campus
• Law School Off-Campus
• Law School Wi-Fi
• Law School Computer Lab

IP addresses to add for other users via OCU/Dulaney Browne Library where applicable (as of 2019-10-08): 
IP Ranges: 156.110.45.10-45; 156.110.45.48-255