Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Services Policy and Procedure Manual: NATIVE AMERICAN COLLECTION

PICTURE

Tim Gatton is in charge of collection development for this collection.

PICTURE

From Collection Development Policy Aug. 2012

 

Native American Collection

The goal of the law library’s Native American Collection is to collect materials that will not only support the teaching and scholarship of members of the Oklahoma City University community but also individuals in the local community.  The primary emphasis of the collection is on Oklahoma tribes with an additional focus for materials by and about Native Americans of the Great Plains, Southwest, and Five Civilized Tribes. Materials outside of this geographic area will be strictly evaluated prior to inclusion in the collection. This collection includes works addressing all aspects of Native American life, history, and culture.   

In addition to reference and periodical materials, the Native American collection contains general information, Federal Indian law and Tribal Law materials.  Online access to Native American case law, statutes, regulations, news and analytical materials is provided through American Indian Law Collection on HeinOnline and content in other databases the law library subscribes to.  Free online resources are collected in an annually updated Native American LibGuide. 

Works included will primarily be in English unless requested by a Law School affiliated Professor, it is a legal material only available in Native American languages, or in reference materials like dictionaries or directories. 

The Head Reference Librarian, Timothy Gatton, has primary responsibility for developing the collection.  Librarians assigned as liaisons to faculty who work in the subject area collaborate on selecting materials for the collection.

CFR TITLE 25 - INDIANS

The current year of CFR title 25 Indians is kept in the Reference Collection.  All old years of CFR title 25 are kept in Native American Collection.  We do not have a complete set but  we do have

   1949, 1958, 1966, 1968-1971, 1973-1975, 1987-1997, 2002-2003, 2005, 2005, 2007-

Also have some in microfiche - - 1949 - 2008 [Microforms AA 4] and 1938, 1980, 1988 [ Microforms A 271 U3]

Also available online in HeinOnline Federal Register and CFR libraries.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271