Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Services Policy and Procedure Manual: OCLC

Access to OCLC

There are several ways to access OCLC ---

1.  Connexion is available 2 ways - one is thru the internet and is called the Connexion Browser

http://connexion.oclc.org/WebZ/DBSearch?sessionid=cnxs06.prod.oclc.org-42667-h8lwafi1-jd54qn

the other called Connexion Client is a program that is installed on each computer that needs it.  Kathy is in charge of installations. 

2.  WorldCat/Firstsearch is listed on our database page is a very user friendly way to search.  This can be used by staff and patrons.  Patrons can generate ILL requests using this program.

Cataloging is purchased for LLMC records

We get all new bib records in LLMC Digital set and almost all of the HeinOnline databases through the OCLC Collection Manager subsystem. This is an ongoing project as titles keep being added to these sets.  The records are free.

 

Costs

We pay for these OCLC services - - - cataloging, Interlibrary loan and internet access. We receive a monthly invoice from OCLC for these services. We pay a fixed fee for cataloging and most of ILL.  The charges for ILL are set in some categories but vary in other categories. In the 1980's and 1990's we were billed for each produce, update, search, cards, etc. that we did on OCLC.  Now they send us a letter in June telling us what the charges will be for the next year beginning in July.  They base this on our usage from previous years.  Our costs for OCLC go up every year without fail.

Authorization numbers

 

100-022-409 (password CATALOG) – NANCY’s number, full access to cataloging, ILL, Local Holdings Maintenance and the WorldCat Registry.

 

100-134-467 (password Kathy) – Kathy’s number, full access to cataloging (logon name is Kathy).

 

100-300-249 (password Student) - student worker number, limited access to cataloging but full access to Local Holdings Maintenance (logon name is Student)

 

 

New Service

xOCLCnum

Posted: 27 May 2008 08:51 AM CDT

A new service from OCLC:

Just as xISBN allows you to find all related editions of a book by entering its ISBN, xOCLCnum does the same thing using OCLC number.

xOCLCnum is queried using a simple URL format, and returns an XML response with both related OCLCnums and related ISBNs (if any). It is designed to be easily built in to your library application, so you can expand queries, find all related editions, or do whatever creative thing you want to do.

Background: ISBNs have been assigned since 1970, to most but not all books published.OCLC numbers are assigned whenever a record is added to WorldCat, OCLC's global union catalog. These records cover a large portion of all books, old and new, held by any library in North America and, increasingly other regions worldwide.

So the coverage range of OCLC numbers is far greater than that of ISBNs: in WorldCat, for example, around 100 million OCLCnums compared to about 20 million ISBNs.

See website: http://xisbn.worldcat.org/xisbnadmin/xoclcnum/index.htm

(Catalogablog)

TSLL Tech Scans Blog

Connexion Settings to a new computer

From the help file:

The Connexion client stores your settings and customizations files in one folder, \MyProfile, in the following location:

  X:\Documents and Settings\[user name]\Application Data\OCLC\Connex\Profiles\MyProfile\ (Windows XP)

Or

  X:\Users\[user name]\AppData\Roaming\OCLC\Connex\Profiles\MyProfile (Windows Vista or 7)

(X = letter of your hard drive)

This location includes not only “TextStrings.xml” but also “Options.xml” and “Custom.Keymap.xml,” all files vital to keeping your current settings.

 

PICTURE

Originally named the Ohio College Library Center, OCLC began in 1967 through a collaboration of Ohio university presidents, vice presidents, and library directors who wanted to create a cooperative, computerized network for Ohio libraries. The group first met on July 5, 1967 on the campus of Ohio State University to sign the articles of incorporation for the nonprofit organization[3]. The group hired Frederick G. Kilgour, a former Yale University medical school librarian, to design the shared cataloging system [4] Kilgour wished to merge the latest information storage and retrieval system of the time, the computer, with the oldest, the library. His vision of an active rather than passive system where the library would go to the people was a rather revolutionary idea for 1967. The plan was to merge the catalogs of Ohio libraries electronically through a computer network and database in order to streamline operations, control costs, and increase efficiency in library management. The goal of this network and database was to bring libraries together to cooperatively keep track of the world’s information in order to best serve researchers and scholars. The first library to do online cataloging through OCLC was the Alden Library at Ohio University on August 26, 1971. This was the first occurrence of online cataloging by any library worldwide [

Taken from Wikipedia, 9-21-12

Librarian's Toolbox

http://www.oclc.org/en-US/toolbox.html

Provides links to OCLC LINKS, CATALOGING TOOLS, GENERAL USE TOOLS, FORMS, ORDERING, FIRSTSEARCH TOOLS, WORLDCAT, and RESOURCE SHARING TOOLS.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271