Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Services Policy and Procedure Manual: SERIALS

Picture of a serial title

Voyager serial prediction set up

 

Predicting serial patterns when setting up new standing order on Voyager:

 

The way we set up our po's and patterns is to have all new serial titles sent to Nancy the first time they are received to set the pattern.  When you have the item in-hand you can read the insides to see what the pattern is (monthly, quarterly, etc.).  I printed off p.3 from Marc 21-Bibliographic OCLC book to get a list w/explanation of some of the patterns. (example = 4 per yr is quarterly; 5 per year is also quarterly where you have to delete no.5; etc.). If a pattern doesn't work you can always change it now and forever. There are many titles that just have messy patterns that have to be changed every year or so.

 

If you need to create a PO too make one as usual but in the field ORDER TYPE pick Continuation.  Then to go to DETAILED LINE ITEM and click on TYPE and it takes you to a screen (Serial maintenance) where you can set up the pattern so the item can be checked in.  In COMPONENT DETAILS we put the call number to make checking-in easier for the serials clerk.  I also add a description of the item (1 vol. looseleaf; annual supplement recd, etc.) to give a hint of what type of material to expect. Go to PREDICTIVE COMPONENT PATTERN to actually choose and set the pattern.  There are many common patterns listed and you just pick the one that fits the title best.  These patterns can always be changed or redone as frequently serials change from monthly to quarterly, etc.
 

 

From Collection Development Policy Aug. 2012

Loose-leaf and Updated Materials

The law library, with the input of the law faculty,  completed a systematic evaluation of the print collection of loose-leafs and treatises in 2006 with the goals of reducing subscriptions to print titles available through electronic databases and eliminating multiple titles in the same subject area with duplicate or similar coverage.  This evaluation is updated every time a subject specific collection review is completed.

The law library intends to transition away from collecting loose-leafs in print format and toward providing access to loose-leaf content through subscriptions to databases.  The following criteria will be followed when evaluating loose-leafs for purchase:

-    Is the loose-leaf listed in Svengalis, Legal Information Buyers Guide and Reference Manual, and recognized as the leading publication in its field?

 -     Is the loose-leaf listed in AALL’s Law Books Recommended for Law Libraries and does it have an A, B or C rating?

-          Does the loose-leaf support the curriculum?

-          Does the loose-leaf cover an area of law not otherwise represented in the collection?

-          Has the loose-leaf been specifically requested by a law faculty member?

      -          Do a large number of other academic law libraries own the loose-leaf?

-          Has the loose-leaf been cited frequently in legal periodicals?

-     Access to loose-leaf content through subscriptions to databases is preferred over print subscriptions unless print format is specifically requested by a faculty member.  

                       -          Print loose-leafs that are available online are marked with an “Available Online” sticker.

LAW REPORTER SETS

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271