Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Services Policy and Procedure Manual: Periodicals

NEWSPAPERS

Newspapers

The law library receives paper copies of the Wall Street Journal, the Journal Record (a legal newspaper covering Oklahoma City), the Oklahoman daily and Sunday editions.  Legal Times back issues are maintained on microform.  Students and faculty have access to a wide variety of local, national and international newspapers through Westlaw, LexisNexis, EBSCO databases, and a subscription to the complete electronic archives of the Oklahoman. 

 

PICTURE

From Collection Development Policy Aug. 2012

 

Journals

 

The law library provides electronic access to substantive journals of American and other law schools through Hein Online’s Law Journal Library, LexisNexis, Westlaw, and select journals available in full text through the Index to Legal Periodicals.  Non-law journals are available through JStor, EBSCO, and other databases shared with the Dulaney-Browne Library.

 

The law library intends to limit the number of new print law review subscriptions.  Electronic access to law review content is preferred over print publications.  New print law review subscriptions will be added if requested by a faculty member or if the journal content meets the selection criteria outline above and is not available online.


 

 

 

 

 

 

A proposal to reduce the size of the print journals collection was developed based on print journal usage statistics, a study of the availability of journals through electronic databases, and input from the Editor in Chief of the Oklahoma City University Law Review and the Faculty Law Library Committee.  Under the proposal, approved by the faculty in the fall of 2011, the law library retains all print issues of journals in the following categories:

 

-          Any journal routed to a faculty member

-          Any journal that a faculty member requested be kept current in print

-          Any journal published in Oklahoma

-          Any journal that we currently subscribe to that is not available in LexisNexis or Westlaw and Hein Online

 

-          A select group of law reviews that the law library no longer subscribes to but that support faculty research or curricular offerings and are not avail in a database.

 

   

A moving wall of the most recent three years of all other print law reviews that the law library continues to subscribe to is maintained.  Print law journals that do not fall into one of the categories listed above were removed from the collection in 2011.  The law library only binds law journals published in Oklahoma. 

 

 

Indexes to periodicals

We subscribe to these periodical indexes:

 

--Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals e-version; we have a complete set of the paper verison up thru 2011.  

--Current Index to Legal Periodicals email version which we print out; we keep 3 months worth only.

 

We have these dead paper periodical indexes:

--Index to Legal Periodicals - we have a complete set of the paper version up thru 2008.

--Current Law Index thru 2000 - electronic version is Legal Trac.

--Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - thru 2011.

--Index to Periodical Articles Related to Law in paper; we have entire set thru 2005.

PICTURE

New issues of law reviews

 

At Lee’s request, Tyler has been putting the new issues of the American University law reviews up on faculty row.  They are changed each week.  If any of the faculty want to have an issue routed to them after being up there for 1 week they are supposed to put a note in the issue they want.  Tyler will then put the issue in their mailbox.

 

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271