Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Services Policy and Procedure Manual: WEEDING

PROCEDURE

  PROCEDURE TO WITHDRAW VOLUMES FROM THE LAW LIBRARY:

Circulation staff sends volumes with shelving instruction notes in them to the Collection Services Assistant who looks thru them to decide if the correct material was pulled.  If there are no notes he/she can check our check-in records or go the publisher website to find information about discarding the volumes. He/she can also check the "notes" in Subscription Maintenance for instructions on whether we keep or discard volumes. The process to delete them from our catalog follows:

-----Go to Voyager Cataloging module.

-----Go to FILE, find PICK AND SCAN. 

-----Click the DELETE ITEM box [right in the middle of the screen], then pick the ITEMS tab.  Each bar code that is scanned here will be deleted.  **[if there are only 1 or 2 items to be discarded then search by bar code in cataloging module and delete that way]

-----Stamp each volume on the inside front cover with the WITHDRAWN BY OCU stamp.

-----Count how many volumes there are and record in "deleted volumes" column on monthly statistics.

-----Volumes can then be taken to the dumpster and discarded.  

-----For the past few years we have been keeping a list of all discarded volumes for the Library Director/Accounting.  The list is kept in the Tech Services share drive and is called "List of Discards".  The Head of Collection Services and the Collection Services Assistant will add volumes that they delete to this list.  Put down the cost of the volume you are discarding only if you can find it easily.  All US GPO depository items come to us free. Since we pay Thomson West LMA a flat monthly fee per month for all that we receive from them there is no way to know the price per volume anymore.  That also applies to all subscriptions where we pay a yearly charge. Add a new tab for each fiscal year.  Send the Library Director a copy of the list after each fiscal year closes June 30.

 

Criteria used for casebook & textbook weeding

We will keep casebooks and textbooks based on their being in a law school textbook list during last 2 yrs. 

 Lists will be created based on these search criteria in Voyager --    books  with “text” or "casebook" in the series statement.

Consult the text book list which is kept on the Collection Services share drive.  We have to request a copy from the bookstore each semester.  Circ is trying to get the textbook list sent to them automatically each semester and will share with us if that happens.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

These are the terms to search by plus the date, format=book, location=gen collection to find books to weed:

1.  National casebook series –

2.  University casebook series –

3.  Law School casebook series –

4.  Contemporary legal education series

5.  Cases and materials series –

6.  American casebook series

 

In 2013 it was decided to NOT pull off any more volumes from these series as they seem to be more treatise than casebooks.  There weren’t very many vols left in our collection from these series anyway.

1.  University textbook series

2.  Analysis and skills series

3.  National textbook series

Consult Director

Recently sets that used to be looseleaf are being redone as annual publications, chiefly by Thomson/West Publishing Co.  Ask the Director about keeping the old looseleaf sets once this happens.  We have kept some and marked them "no longer being updated" and we have discarded some.

PICTURE

Picture from our weeding project in 2009.

2 Lobby weeding

Circulation staff takes care of weeding for the 1st Floor popular magazines and 2nd Floor newspapers.  There are notes in the acquisition check in records and in the holdings record (MFHD) of the bib records stating how long we keep these titles.  It varies from title to title and this is decided by Circulation and Reference staff.

AMERICAN LAW INSTITUTE PUBLICATIONS

August 2013 -- a decision was made to pare down the number of copies of the American Law Institute (ALI) material that we keep.  We will keep 2 copies of the main restatement volumes and 2 copies of the other projects that they publish such as tax, UCC, criminal justice, etc.  Previous to this decision we had up to 5 copies of various titles.

We will keep 1 copy of final drafts, tentative drafts, discussion drafts, proposed final drafts, etc.

History

2013-2014 : We weeded the collection heavily prior to our move downtown.  We discarded most of the reporter and digest sets, dead state statute sets, and many of the dead/cancelled titles from the general collection.  We also weeded a lot from the Audio Visual Collection, Periodicals, and the Library Office collection.

2011-2012 several weeding projects were finished.

The first weeding project was to withdraw old outdated material from our collection. The Associate Director and Head of Reference went through the collection pulling off old and outdated volumes to be discarded. They also pulled off volumes that were extra copies of hornbooks, nutshells, Oklahoma material, etc.  Those volumes were sent to Collection Services to withdraw them from our collection.

Another weeding project was to remove old textbooks and casebooks from the collection. As of Aug. 2012 we removed titles that were 2010 and older. If a title was on a current textbook list for law classes we kept the book regardless of age. We will weed this category once a year in the summer keeping the current 2 years only.

We created lists of loose-leaf and treatise titles that had been canceled over the years. With the advice of the Director many of these titles were discarded.

2011 - A major project to pare down our periodical collection was finished in Dec. 2011. The Periodical Collection was scaled down to 400 law review titles from over 800.  The Director decided at this time to keep 3 years only of some of the titles. We kept all volumes for all Oklahoma titles and major law review such as Harvard, Yale, etc.

2009 - Our first big weeding project began in the summer of 2009 when we discarded 17,343 volumes.  Most were duplicate copies of reporters and other duplicate titles.  Many dead sets were discarded too. 

 

FEDERAL RULES

In 2013 it was decided by the Associate Director that old editions of these titles can be discarded:

-Federal rules of civil procedure

-Federal rules of appellate

-Federal rules of criminal procedure

-Federal rules of evidence 

 

Titles may vary and the different rules may be combined in some years.  If we get gifts in the future of the current year these can go to general collection (GC).

DECISIONS ON DISCARDING STUDY AIDS & TEXTBOOKS

MISCELLANEOUS SERIES TO KEEP IN THE GENERAL COLLECTION IF IT IS THE CURRENT EDITION

[KEEP UP TO 2 COPIES, DISCARD OLD EDITIONS]

1.  Black letter outlines (West)

2.  Questions and answers (Lexis)

3.  Concepts and insights (Foundation Press)

4.  Acing series (West)

5.  Student Guides series (Lexis)

6.  Glannon’s Guides (Aspen)

KEEP FOR THE STUDY AIDS COLLECTION CURRENT EDITIONS

 [keep up to 2 copies; can keep 1 extra copy in general collection; discard old editions except for 1 copy of Hornbooks and Examples and Explanations series(we keep older editions in the General Collection)]

1.  Examples & explanations (Aspen) 

2.  Nutshells (West) 

3.  Understanding series (Lexis)

4.  Law Stories (Foundation) 

5.  Hornbooks and concise hornbooks (West)

KEEP FOR PERM RESERVE -CURRENT EDITIONS

1.  Current textbooks or casebooks if on the current textbook list for the last 2 years - keep up to 2 copies.

DO NOT KEEP ANY OF THESE SERIES --

1.  Roadmap law course outlines (Aspen)

2.  Sum & Substance quick review (West)

3.  Foundations of the law series (Foundation Press)

4.  Crunchtime series

5.  Turning Point series (Foundation Press)

6.  Gilbert’s law summaries

7.  Bridge to Practice

8.  Inside…

9.  Mastering…

10. Emanuel’s

Picture for weeding

Sometimes we just have too much stuff !

From Collection Development Policy Aug. 2012

Collection Maintenance – Weeding

The primary mission of the law library is to fulfill the research and academic needs of students, faculty, and staff.  The process of continually evaluating the collection, retaining material that has historical or scholarly value and discarding material is essential to the realization of this mission.  The following criteria are applied when weeding and canceling material:

  •       Relation of the material to the collection development policy and to the policy on collection building in subject specific areas
  •       Relation of the material to the current research and scholarship interests of the faculty and to the curriculum
  •       The physical condition of the material
  •       Duplicative materials are generally removed unless there is significant demand for them
  •       Availability from a library database
  •       The format of material may be considered if the library has the same material in multiple formats and one format offers space or cost savings, is more user friendly, and offers archival stability
  •       Casebooks are weeded every year and the law library generally only retains casebooks that have been used in a course in the previous two years

 

MORE HISTORY

NOTES ADDED TO VCAT AND VACQ

For titles that we were keeping all volumes of the set we added a note to the Voyager cataloging mfhd declaring the reason. The note field in check-in records in VACQ had a note added saying what we were doing with all dead titles.  We have many "dead" records in Voyager ACQ and CAT for titles that we no longer have because there is money attached to the PO.  These have been suppressed and will not show up in our opac anymore.  They do show up in staff side of VCAT in red meaning suppressed.  We decided to add "x" to the end of the title just as a quick visual that the title and all volumes have been discarded.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271