Skip to main content

Law Review and Journal Articles: Electronic Indexes

What is an Index?

An index is a collection of article citations organized by topic. Searches are performed on the bibliographic information (title, author, etc.) and more relevant results are often obtained as opposed to searching in a full-text database. However, since most indexes are usually not full-text, you may only find the citation to the relevant article.

Search Strategies for Electronic Indexes

When searching in an electronic index, here are a few helpful tips to make your searches more productive:

  • If you know the name of an expert in that field, search that author's name.
  • If you already have one article, search using that subject heading.
  • Filter by date.
  • Use suggested subjects.

Accessing databases from off campus

Current Oklahoma City University Law students who wish to access databases from off campus will log on to the system with the user name and password used when logging into the network. For more detailed instructions please read off campus access.

Locating an article not at the law library

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If the law library does not have the materials you need, it may be possible to borrow them from another library. It takes approximately ten to fourteen days to receive most items. However, historical, rare and international materials could take as long as a month or more to arrive.

Interlibrary loan requests may be submitted using
WorldCat. A guide to assist you in requesting an item using the WorldCat system is available hereAlternatively, you may contact a reference or circulation librarian with your ILL request.

Dulaney-Browne Services

To locate materials owned by Oklahoma City University's undergraduate library, search the Dulaney-Browne catalogDulaney-Browne utilizes the same type of catalog interface as the law library. You can find search tips at the Searching the Law Library Catalog LibGuide or Dulaney-Browne's Help Page.

You may checkout materials in person  at the Dulaney- Browne library or fill out the online form here: http://www.okcu.edu/library/bookexpress.asp. If you elect to use the online form. After receipt  of the completed form by a librarian at Dulaney-Browne, the materials are checked out to you, and an Oklahoma City University law circulation librarians retrieves them from Dulaney -Browne and deliver the materials to your faculty mailbox.

Law faculty have the same privileges as other Oklahoma City University faculty in checking out books from Dulaney-Browne library.  The faculty checkout period is five months. Oklahoma City University faculty are not charged fines or fees except on recalled or lost items. You will receive an email alerting you if an item has been recalled. Please return it to avoid incurring fines. If you wish to continue using an item that is recalled your law library liaison can assist you in locating an alternate copy.

Dulaney-Browne is a partial government depository library. If you need assistance with government document retrieval, you may contact your Law Library liaison or Dulaney-Browne research services (405-208-5065).

Borrowing Privileges at Area Libraries

Faculty members may obtain an OK-Share Library Card from the Dulaney-Browne Library. This card will give you borrowing privileges at university and college libraries in Oklahoma, including OU and OSU.  See a full list of participating libraries here.

For further information and to sign up for an OK-Share Card contact Risa White, Dulaney-Browne Access Services Librarian, at 405-208-5956.

Index to Legal Periodicals through HeinOnline

HeinOnline has several indexes available, including Index to Periodical Articles Related to Law (1958-2007), International Legal Materials (1962-2010), and Legal Bibliography (1894-1913).

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271