Skip to main content

Law Review and Journal Articles: Electronic Databases

Differences between electronic databases and electronic indexes

With HeinOnline, you have several options to help limit and focus your search results within the Law Journal Library. You can browse by Publication Title, State, Country, Subject, or even select the most-cited works. There is also the option of performing an advanced search.  In the advanced search function, you can limit results by subject, title, date, and can also limit the type of document retrieved (article, comment, note, or review, for example). 

Narrowing or Filtering Your Results on HeinOnline

With HeinOnline, you have several options to help limit and focus your search results within the Law Journal Library. You can browse by Publication Title, State, Country, Subject, or even select the most-cited works. There is also the option of performing an advanced search. In the advanced search function, you can limit results by subject, title, date, and can also limit the type of document retrieved (article, comment, note, or review, for example). 

Narrowing or Filtering Your Results on Westlaw

There are a variety of options for narrowing or limiting your search results on Westlaw. In the left-hand column, you can limit by date, jurisdiction, type of document, and name of publication, for example. Just select your options and then click "Apply Filters."

Narrowing or Filtering Your Results on LexisAdvance

With LexisAdvance, you can narrow your results by type of document, date, jurisdiction, source, and practice area by selecting the option or options you would like on the left side of the screen.

HeinOnline

HeinOnline provides full coverage of all issues of periodicals within its database and contains the actual page image from the law review.  HeinOnline searches the full text of the article in its database, but searching can be slow.  It is best used when  you know a citation and need to pull up an article. HeinOnline is accessible from the Law Library's databases page.

Searching on Westlaw

Westlaw searches the full text of law review articles dating back to the early 1980s through today. From the homepage, select "Secondary Sources" and then select "Law Reviews & Journals".

LexisAdvance

When searching for law review articles on LexisAdvance, type your search terms in the search box on the top of the page.  You will have the option to limit your search results by a variety of factors.  Most secondary sources such as law review articles are under the tab labeled "Analytical."

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271