Today's Music Library Hours:

Music In The Human Experience Class: Home

These Materials will help you with the research projects for the Music in the Human Experience Course

Discover Resources

 

Music Resources

MUSIC-SPECIFIC DATABASES

Oxford Music Online (Includes: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music)

 

Music Index (Index to articles on music with some links to full-text)

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Index to music research material with some links to full-text)


GENERAL DATABASES CONTAINING MUSIC-RELATED MATERIAL

Academic Search Premier (Index to articles on a range of topics, including music, with some links to full-text. Accessible through EBSCOHost.)

JSTOR (Index to older journal articles, including music articles, with some links to full-text)

 
ProjectMuse Collection of not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
 
ProQuest Dissertations and Thesis  Provides abstract and full text access to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
 
ERIC (Index to articles on education, including music education, with some links to full-text. Accessible through EBSCOhost.)

Need a Recording?

Naxos includes CDs available for live streaming via the Internet

Alexander Street Press includes video streaming channels as well as audio streaming channels.  This link lets you search them all!

Catalogs for recorded sound & video collections

Library of Congress Recorded Sound Reference Center
British Library Sound Archive Catalogue
Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database

National Jukebox  The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Live Music Archive is a community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format.

The Avant Garde Project is a series of recordings of 20th-century classical, experimental, and electroacoustic music digitized from LPs whose music has in most cases never been released on CD, and so is effectively inaccessible to the vast majority of music listeners today.

Free Music Archive The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads.  The Free Music Archive is directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America.  Radio has always offered the public free access to new music. The Free Music Archive is a continuation of that purpose, designed for the age of the internet.

Spotify  Think of Spotify as your new music collection. Your library. Only this time your collection is vast: over 15 million tracks and counting. Spotify comes in all shapes and sizes, available for your PC, Mac, home audio system and cell phone. Wherever you go, your music follows you.  And because the music plays live, there’s no need to wait for downloads and no big dent in your hard drive.

Grooveshark  Excellent source for popular music.  Allows users to send links to individual tracks and customized playlists via email to other users. The person sending the links, and creating the playlists, must have a (free for now) account, but the recipients do not have to be members.

 

Websites of interest

Music, Theater, Dance and Entertainment Business Librarian

Beth Fleming's picture
Beth Fleming
chat presence
Contact:
Leichter Listening Library
Room 308 B
Wanda L. Bass School of Music
405-208-5708
Website