Skip to main content

2015 - 2016 Oklahoma City University School of Law Library Annual Report: The Collection

2015-2016 Collection Overview


 

  283,990  Titles     
57,079  book titles            169,307 total volumes           89,671 book volumes     
 694  book titles added       1,245 book volumes added  
  17,441 Electronic titles added         1 AV titles added  
 152 active periodical subscriptions           466 active subscriptions of all types including periodicals  
64 books purchased for law school faculty 

Acquisitions

The law library ended the fiscal year with more  titles (283,990) than volumes (169,307). This is due to the addition of thousands of e-titles to the collection. 

Program

Amount Spent and other acquisitions

Center on Alternative Dispute Resolution

$85.34

Center for the Study of State Constitutional Law & Government.

$866.82

American Indian Law and Sovereignty Center

$673.37

Judge Alfred P. Murrah Center for Homeland Security Law & Policy

$108.49

  • The Homeland Security Digital Library was added to the library’s digital collection.
  • The library received a large gift of books on terrorism and homeland security from Mr. Stephen Sloan. 

Norick Municipal Law Research Clinic

$408.92

Business Law with Electronic Commerce or Financial Services & Commercial

Law concentrations

$1456.49

Energy & Natural Resources Law

$743.08

Estate Planning

 

$163.90

Health Law

$1635.91

Public Law

$280.99

Real Estate Law Practice

$783.18

Dean’s Summer Pro Bono and Public Interest Law Fellowship Program

$167.48

Law Library Legal Research Award and Advanced Legal Research Award

$565.16

  • Access to the Ravel database was added to the library’s digital collections.
  • The library added access to West Academic Digital Study Aids in August 2016.
  • The library added access to the Commonwealth Legal Information Institute database.
  • The library partnered with the Dulaney-Browne Library to provide access to EBSCOhost eBook Academic Collection.
  • The library added a new HeinOnline database: National Survey of State Laws for $225.

 

Digital Study Aids

West Digital Study Aids have been well-received by students. 50% of enrolled students accessed West Academic Digital Study Aids in 2015-2016. Document views by Month are as follows:

Ebooks

One Ebrary title was purchased, five Ebrary titles were used, and seventeen Ebrary searches were performed. EBSCOhost eBooks was accessed 994 times.

Other Databases

Electronic Resources

The Law Library continually reviews and evaluates the electronic collection to ensure resources are spent on services and tools our patrons need to successfully complete their research. Librarians work with the Law Library consortia group MALLCO, vendors, and faculty to identify and purchase useful databases or discontinue those that no longer serve patrons' needs.

HeinOnline

 


HeinOnline continues to be a popular and valuable resource for law students and faculty.



 

Lexis Advance

 

 

Lexis Advance usage has increased for documents accessed, Shepard’s Citation searches, and public records searches over each of the past 3 years. Total usage increased last year and remained steady this year. In 2013-2014, Lexis reported 28,512 searches, 29,218 documents accessed, 4,167 Shepard’s searches, and 1,020 public records searches, for a total of 62,917 searches. In 2014-2015, there were 47,253 searches, 39,765 documents accessed, 4,684 Shepard’s Citations searches, and 2,224 public records searches, for a total of 95,936 searches. In 2015-2016, there were 39,295 searches, 47,857 documents accessed, 5,297 Shepard’s Citations searches, and 3,354 public records searches, for a total of 95,803 searches.

Westlaw

 

 

 

Westlaw usage was down from all users in 2015-16 compared to the previous year, but higher than two years ago. In 2013-2014, faculty conducted 36,821 transactions and students conducted 227,253 transactions. In 2014-2015, transactions increased to 82,647 for faculty and 465,090 for students. In 2015-2016, faculty conducted 49,365 transactions, and students conducted 342,754 transactions.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271