Skip to main content

Law Library Resources During Closure: Law Library Resources

Even as the law school has moved to remote work and classes move online, you can access library resources. The Law Library's homepage is: https://libguides.okcu.edu/lawlibraryhome and specific resources you might need are listed below. 

Library services are limited to students, faculty, and staff while the Law School operates remotely.

Library Assistance

There are various ways to get assistance from the library when you can’t be on campus.

The Law Library is offering a chat reference service that will be open from 9am-6pm Monday – Thursday. You may access this chat from our website. The chat box is on the right of the screen on this page and our homepage. Chat service begins Monday, March 23rd. 

You may call the library's main number at 405-208-5271 from 9am-6pm to be connected to the librarian on call. Please leave a message if we don't answer and the appropriate person will be in touch with you. 

You can also email any librarian listed under "contact information" to the right and we will either assist you or forward your query to the appropriate person. 

The library will also offer assistance via Zoom so we can share our screens and walk you through searching, etc. as needed. 

Library services are limited to students, faculty, and staff while the law school operates remotely.

Study Aids

 

West Digital Study Aids

The library subscribes to West Digital Study Aids, which includes the Nutshell and Hornbook series, audio book study aids, and others. You can access these study aids from off-campus here

The West Academic Library app provides access to West Digital Study Aids on your phone or tablet off-line. The app also allows you to listen to audiobooks.

Lexis / Carolina Academic Press 

Lexis is providing access to their collection of digital study aids. These include the popular "Understanding" "Mastering" and "Q/A" series. To access these study aids, use this link and enter your full OCU email address: https://lexisdl.com/library/okc‚Äč

You can search via the search box at the top of the screen or browse by subject by selecting "browse library" to the left. You can find a guide to the Lexis Digital Library here

Wolters Kluwer Study Aids

Wolters Kluwer is offering free access to its line of study aids, which includes Examples and Explanations. Please find a student user guide here and use the following instructions to log in. 

  • Go to: ebooks.aspenlaw.com/librarycard/login 
  • Choose Oklahoma City University School of Law from the dropdown
  • Enter your "library card" number. This will be the part of your OCU email before the @ symbol, with 20 added IF your email doesn't already end with a number. For example, seurban would become seurban20 but seurban1 would remain seurban1. 

Electronic Access to Course Reserves

West Academic / Foundation Press has graciously offered to provide students with free access to their e-casebook platform while they are affected by the move to online classes. Call West customer service at (877) 888-1330 to get this set up. The following items on Course Reserve are available in ebook format from West:

  • Professor Dillon, Sales and Leases - Sales, Leases and Electronic Commerce: Problems and Materials on National and International Transactions, 4th, Murray and Flechtner
  • Professor Harrell, Secured Transactions - Security Interests in Personal Property: Cases, Problems, and Materials, 6th, Harris and Mooney
  • Professor Miller, Admin Law - Administrative Procedure and Practice: A Contemporary Approach, Revised 6th Edition (Interactive Casebook Series), Funk, Shapiro, and Weaver
  • Professor O’Shea, Legislation - Cases and Materials on Legislation and Regulation: Statutes and the Creation of Public Policy, 6th, Eskridge, Brudney, Chafetz, Frickey, and Garrett 
  • Professor Spivack, Property - Property: A Contemporary Approach, 4th (Interactive Casebook Series), Sprankling and Coletta

Wolters Kluwer / Aspen is offering free access to its bookshelf of products, which includes their casebooks. Please follow the instructions below for access. Keep in mind you can borrow only seven items at a time. 

  1. To get started, students should visit bookshelf.vitalsource.com and log-in or create a Bookshelf account with their institution-provided email address. Keep in mind it may take up to 24 hours to receive a verification email.  
  2. Here are instructions on creating a Bookshelf account for both students and instructors.
  3. Once students create an account with an institution-provided email address, they should log in and click on the “Explore” tab in the upper left corner of the screen to search for the book they are looking for. This tab provides access to the freely available e-textbooks.

Books on course reserve available via Wolters Kluwer are:

  • Professor Adelman, Civil Procedure II - Civil Procedure, 10th, Yeazell and Schwartz
  • Professor Harrell, Commercial Paper - Problems and Materials on Payment Law, 10th, Whaley and McJohn
  • Professor D. Johnson, Civil Procedure II - Civil Procedure, 10th, Yeazell and Schwartz
  • Professor Robben, Wills, Trusts, and Estates - Contemporary Trusts and Estates, 3rd, Gary, Borison, Cahn, and Monopoli
  • Professory Roesler, Property - Property: Cases, Problems, and Skills, Klein
  • Professor Spiropolous, Constitutional Law II - Constitutional Law: Principles and Policies, 5th, Cherminsky

Lexis / Carolina Academic Press

Lexis is providing a digital library including Lexis titles in the library collection and over 450 Lexis / Carolina Academic Press casebooks and other titles. To access titles, use this link and enter your full OCU email address: https://lexisdl.com/library/okcu. You can find a guide to the Lexis Digital Library here

Books on course reserve available via Lexis / Carolina Press are:

  • Professor Dillon, Sales and Leases- Understanding Sales and Leases, 3rd, Henning
  • Professor Eddington, Legal Research and Writing, An Advocate Persuades, 1st, Rocklin
  • Professor Paliotta, Agency, Agency, Partnership, and the LLC, 9th, Hynes

Access to Databases

Your access to law library databases will be unchanged. You can access them, including Lexis and Westlaw from this page: https://libguides.okcu.edu/lawdatabases

Being off-campus, you will need to sign in with your OCU credentials for access.

Electronic Access to The Bluebook

The Law Library has obtained codes for students, faculty, and staff to access the electronic version of The Bluebook. To receive a code and activation instructions please email any librarian listed under "contact information" above or begin a chat session.

Legal Research Award

The remainder of the Legal Research Award classes for this semester are canceled. However, you can still earn points towards the Legal Research Award by watching the recorded presentations on TWEN and completing the exercise that goes with it. If there is no exercise for that presentation, then you must send Prof. Gatton or Prof. Turner an emailing telling them what key points you learned from the presentation. You can also complete specific CALI lessons to earn points. Please see the Legal Research Award libguide for more details. 

If you are graduating this spring, please make sure you complete your hours (and make sure all proof of completion is forwarded to Professor Turner) by April 13, 2020 so that your name can be included on the list that goes to the Dean’s office for commencement. 

If you have any questions, please email Professor Le'Shawn Turner

Ask Questions via Chat

Chat reference is available to students, faculty, and staff at OCU Law from 9am-6pm Monday-Thursday.

chat loading...

Contact Information

Main Number: 405-208-5271 (this number will be directed to a librarian on call from the hours of 9-6)

Email us:

Timothy Gatton

Susan Urban

Le'Shawn Turner

Brent Greyson

Jordan Piel

Lee Peoples 

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271