The library hires students both with Federal Work Study funds granted through financial aid, and without. International students are welcome to apply but will need to obtain a Social Security number before they can start work.
Library Student Assistant I
This is the entry-level student position in the library. Students work under the close supervision of a full-time staff member or librarian to perform basic tasks related to circulation and the smooth functioning of the library. This is a public service position, so students must be organized and dependable with good customer service skills.
- Checks materials in and out, including course reserves, holds, and interlibrary loan items
- Sets up study room reservations and checks out keys to rooms
- Reshelves returned items accurately
- Performs shelf maintenance: shelf reading, fronting, and dusting assigned section of collection
- Locates and pulls items requested by patrons or for interlibrary loan
- Scans inventory
- Picks up in-house circulation
- Assists in shifting books & furniture & minor cleaning
- Checks printers and refills printer paper
- Learns and applies general library and circulation policies
- Answers basic questions, refers patrons to full-time staff or librarians as needed for more complex questions
- Other duties as assigned
Pay rate: Students will start at $7.50/hour. After working successfully for 1 semester, they are eligible to apply for a Library Student Assistant II position if there are such positions available.
Library Student Assistant II
Students at this level perform more specialized tasks requiring a greater level of training, and with greater responsibility and independence. Project Assistants and Lead Students will normally have worked for at least one full semester as a Library Student Assistant I before applying for a Library Student Assistant II position and must have demonstrated the ability to work independently. Processing Assistants, Interlibrary Loan Assistants, and Archives Assistants may be hired directly into those positions.
Project Assistant/Closer:
- Normally continues all functions of the Library Assistant I
- Projects vary, but involve working without continual direct supervision from full-time staff or part time staff once embarked on the project
- May include supervision of other students during projects
- Possible projects include:
- Indexing the OCU student newspaper for the Archives
- Promoting the library on social media and creating in-library materials displays
- Working with librarians on weeding sections of the circulating collection
- Shifting items on shelves to accommodate increased holdings
- Performs shelf checks
- Carries out missing book searches as directed
- Helps open and/or close the library building
- Is fully responsible for the Circulation desk if no full-time staff member is available
- Other duties as assigned
Processing Assistant:
- Processes new and gift materials to make them shelf-ready:
- Ownership stamps
- Security strips
- Other identification stamps/stickers
- Protective covers
- Prepare folders for music items
- Assists with repairing damaged items
- Assists with circulation desk tasks
- Other duties as assigned
Interlibrary Loan Assistant:
- Adds new requests to the interlibrary loan Access databases
- Updates requests regularly to reflect current status
- Assists in locating items for ILL requests
- Assists in preparing ILL items for shipment
- Assists with circulation desk tasks if needed
- Other duties as assigned
Archives Assistant:
- Monitors Archives Reading Room (answers the phones and assists researchers by registering users, explaining research policies and procedures)
- When not actively assisting researchers, work on individually assigned projects. Projects may include:
- Processing of archival records - changing out non-archival boxes and folders with archival-quality boxes and folders, removal of fasteners, hand-labelling folders, and creating folder inventories using Excel spreadsheets.
- Updating university and Methodist-related indexes
- Processing of university newsletters, newspapers, and other publications (physical and electronic) including indexing current issues of the OCU student newspaper and the OCU Alumni magazine.
- Digitization projects
- Storage Room maintenance
- Other duties as assigned
Pay rate: Students who are promoted to Library Assistant II will be paid $10.00/hour.
Library Student Assistant III
Students at this level perform more specialized tasks requiring a greater level of training, and with greater responsibility and independence. Students must have at least 2 years of college experience and be able to work alone and be able to supervise student workers.
Part Time Position:
- Projects vary, but involve working without continual direct supervision from full-time staff once embarked on the project
- Supervision of other students during projects and while at the circulation desk
- Possible projects include:
- Indexing the OCU student newspaper for the Archives
- Promoting the library on social media and creating in-library materials displays
- Working with librarians on weeding sections of the circulating collection
- Shifting items on shelves to accommodate increased holdings
- Continues all functions of the Library Student Assistant I
- Helps to train/supervise Student Assistant I and Student Assistant II workers
- Performs shelf checks
- Carries out missing book searches as directed
- Collects fines and other payments
- Helps open and/or close the library building, including the cash drawer
- Is fully responsible for the Circulation desk when scheduled
- Other duties as assigned
