Scholarly journal articles are great for:
Popular magazine and newspaper articles cover:
For scholarly research, the following databases will be very useful:
To look at resources specifically designed for school age students, try these databases:
The most current research in most fields will be found in journal articles. EBSCOHost includes many databases both general and specific to various academic disciplines. To start with a broad search, type a search in the box below, and click the Search button. Or, you can click on one of the links in the database list box to search just a specific database.
You can do similar searches through the JSTOR and Project Muse databases. Just click on the buttons below to go to one of those databases.
Many citations in the sciences use standardized abbreviations for journal titles. You will need the full title in order to request interlibrary loan and you may need the standard abbreviation for your own citations.
Use the Limit to.. Full Text and Scholarly options after searching
The PDF icon should open Adobe Reader and show the full text of the article as originally published. Print and save from the Adobe Reader interface.
The "Find Full Text" link will take you to the library's Discovery system. If the article is available full text through another source, a few clicks should take you to it. If it is not, you will see a message recommending an interlibrary loan request.
"Interlibrary Loan" or "ILL" service is free to OCU students, faculty, and staff and usually takes 3 - 5 days. The library staff requests the article from another library and then emails it to you.
Look for the 'cite' option