Today's Hours:

Online Resources Available During the COVID-19 Closure : Home

WorldCat Discovery

 

 

WorldCat Discovery is a powerful tool for searching library holdings and databases together. During the COVID-19 closure of ours and many other libraries, the need to access eBooks and other online sources is great.  A large and growing number of publishers have temporarily made their content freely available, and most of these are accessible on this platform.

Below are additional tips on using some of these resources and additional free resources. 

Hathitrust

‚ÄčHathitrust contains the digitized collections of several academic and research libraries.  Some of this is available full-text to anyone.  Additional content is available to individuals who sign in with Google, Facebook, Microsoft or other ID, or by creating a free University of Michigan Friend account. 

All users can do the following without logging in:

  • Search across the entire collection

  • Read and view works that are “full-view”

  • Search within works that are “limited (search-only)”

  • Download a single page at a time from works that have download restrictions (e.g., works that are in the public domain but were digitized by Google or other vendors with contractual limitations)

  • Download an entire work that doesn’t have download restrictions (e.g., works digitized by Internet Archive and other organizations, works that have been opened with a Creative Commons license)

Internet Archive

Internet Archive (archive.org) is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.  Many of the eBooks are unrestricted, but you may also see items with a limited preview and the note "This book can be borrowed for 14 days" with a link to log in and borrow the book.  This is free, but it does require you to create an account.  You may borrow up to 10 items at a time from Internet Archive.