Reference Help Available Today:
Holdings of the Dulaney-Browne Library are organized according to the Dewey Decimal System. Books on Religion have a call number between 200-299. Within this range, call numbers between 220-229 are on the Bible. Numbers beginning with 220 are about the Bible generally, or about the entire Bible. Numbers 221-224 cover the Hebrew Bible or Old Testament; 225-228 the New Testament; and 229 the Apocryphal and Pseudepigraphical works.
The First Floor Reference collection includes Bible Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Study Bibles, and several commentary series. The Reference collection is available for use in the Library. The Second Floor Circulating collection includes the majority of other works on the Bible, including many other commentaries, and may be checked out by OKCU students, faculty, staff and residents with a courtesy card.
We also have an increasing number of commentaries in our eBook collections.
Catalog search hint: try a keyword search with "bible commentary" plus the name of the book of the Bible you are looking for.
Resources for studying Biblical languages (primarily Hebrew and Greek) and the meanings of words in those languages may be located with either the appropriate Bible call number or the call number for the language. So, for example:
Brown, Francis. The Brown, Driver, Briggs Hebrew and English lexicon: With an appendix containing the Biblical Aramaic: coded with the numbering system from Strong’s exhaustive concordance of the Bible. Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson Publishers, 1996 printing. Call Number: R 492.45 G391b 1996
Botterweck, G. Johannes. Theological dictionary of the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans, 1974-1990. Call Number: R 221.3 B659tEw
Grimm, Carl Ludwig Wilibald. A Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament : being Grimm's Wilke's Clavis Novi Testamenti: translated, rev. and enl. by Joseph Henry Thayer. Grand Rapids : Baker Book House, 1977. Call Number: R 487.4 G864g
Kittel, Gerhard. Theological dictionary of the New Testament. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans, 1964-1976. Call Number: R 225.3 T342
Bible Oddyssey is a web resource from the Society of Biblical Literature featuring educational articles, videos, searchable NRSV and CEV texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary.
The Bible and Interpretation endeavors to bring the latest news and information in the field of biblical studies to a wide readership and to contact scholars for comment and analysis.
Working Preacher enlists biblical scholars, theologians, homileticians and pastors to provide timely, compelling and trustworthy biblical content.
STEP Bible ('Scripture Tools for Every Person') was created by Bible scholars at Tyndale House, Cambridge, UK, and is curated by a non-denominational body of scholars and other volunteers who are passionate about sharing accurate information on the Bible.
BibleWebApp is an online bible study application developed by the Digital Bible Society with features for studying Greek and Hebrew.
Bible Gateway provides search capabilities for dozens of Bibles in many different languages, including Greek and Hebrew.
Biblical Exegesis, Fourth Edition by
This is a beginner's guide to biblical exegesis, providing exegetical methods, practices, and theories. This book provides simple, helpful information and guidance about doing exegesis, without being overly prescriptive; succinctly introduces students to various methods; provides basic bibliographies that take students beyond an introductory discussion; and emphasizes exegesis as an everyday activity based on commonsense principles rather than as an esoteric enterprise. This revised edition of this perennially best-selling textbook includes discussions of emerging methods of interpretation aimed at a contemporary audience. Several chapters have been updated and improved, and readers will find an incisive new chapter on exegesis with a focus on identity and advocacy. Holladay has also written a new concluding chapter on exegesis as the art of seeing. Bibliographies are updated, and a helpful glossary is included in this new edition.
Handbook of Biblical Criticism, Fourth Edition by
The fourth edition of this best-selling textbook continues to be a valuable resource for the beginning student in the critical study of the Bible. Thoroughly revised to include the newest methods, recent discoveries, and developments in the field of biblical criticism over the past decade, the Handbook of Biblical Criticism is designed to be a starting point for understanding the vast array of methods, approaches and technical terms employed in this field. Updates in this edition also include an expanded dictionary of terms, phrases, names, and frequently used abbreviations, as well as a bibliography that includes the most up-to-date date publications. The Handbook of Biblical Criticism is a valuable introductory textbook and a reliable guide for pastors, laypersons, and scholars whose expertise lies in other fields.
The New Oxford Annotated Bible with Apocrypha by
For over 50 years students, professors, clergy, and general readers have relied on The New Oxford Annotated Bible as an unparalleled authority in Study Bibles. This fifth edition of the Annotated remains the best way to study and understand the Bible at home or in the classroom. This thoroughly revised and substantially updated edition contains the best scholarship informed by recent discoveries and anchored in the solid Study Bible tradition. · Introductions and extensive annotations for each book by acknowledged experts in the field provide context and guidance. · Introductory essays on major groups of biblical writings - Pentateuch, Prophets, Gospels, and other sections - give readers an overview that guides more intensive study. · General essays on history, translation matters, different canons in use today, and issues of daily life in biblical times inform the reader of important aspects of biblical study. · Maps and diagrams within the text contextualize where events took place and how to understand them. · Color maps give readers the geographical orientation they need for understanding historical accounts throughout the Bible. · Timelines, parallel texts, weights and measures, calendars, and other helpful tables help navigate the biblical world. · An extensive glossary of technical terms demystifies the language of biblical scholarship. · An index to the study materials eases the way to the quick location of information. The New Oxford Annotated Bible, with twenty new essays and introductions and others--as well as annotations--fully revised, offers the reader flexibility for any learning style. Beginning with a specific passage or a significant concept, finding information for meditation, sermon preparation, or academic study is straightforward and intuitive. A volume that users will want to keep for continued reference, The New Oxford Annotated Bible continues the Oxford University Press tradition of providing excellence in scholarship for the general reader. Generations of users attest to its status as the best one-volume Bible reference tool for any home, library, or classroom.
HarperCollins Study Bible by
The landmark general reference Bible completely revised and updated Endorsers say it all about the HarperCollins Study Bible: * “I ... can speak with unbounded praise for this work. The auspices are impeccable, the sponsorship is by one of the most prestigious and effective publishing firms in the field of religious publishing, and the scholarship under the aegis of the Society of Biblical Literature, which is the only game in town, the NBA of Bible study in this country (and abroad).”-David Noel Freedman, Endowed Chair in Hebrew Biblical Studies, University of California, San Diego; Editor-in-Chief, Anchor Bible Project * “The HarperCollins Study Bible engages some of the best of biblical scholarship for removing unnecessary obstacles in reading the Scriptures. I welcome its publication and recommend it highly.”-Elisabeth Schüssler Fiorenza, The Krister Stendahl Professor Scripture and Interpretation, Harvard University * “The HarperCollins Study Bible is the most authoritative ecumenical Bible available, the work of scholars who are at the cutting edge of their subjects. I recommend it highly.”-John J. Collins, The University of Chicago * “This is the Bible I have been looking for to use in undergraduate courses. The text itself is clear and readable. The introductions are sound and precise. The footnotes are balanced, accurate and hit a good balance between the dangers of being too terse and too extended.”-Harvey Cox, The Victor S. Thomas Professor of Divinity, the Divinity School, Harvard University * “An invaluable resource for teachers and students, and indeef for every thoughtful reader of the Bible.”-Richard P. McBrien, Crowley-O'Brien-Walter Professor of Theology, University of Notre Dame * “I am extremely glad for the HarperCollins Study Bible....Every effort has been made to make these study notes understandable and accessible to ordinary readers. They can be trusted to provide reliable information without trying to control what should be believed.”-Richard Foster, author of Celebration of Discipline
Old Testament Exegesis, Fourth Edition by
For years, Douglas Stuart's Old Testament Exegesishas been one of the most popular ways to learn how to perform exegesis--the science and art of interpreting biblical texts properly for understanding as well as proclamation. Completely updated and substantially expanded, this new edition includes scores of newer resources, a new configuration of the format for the exegesis process, and an entirely new section explaining where to find and how to use the latest electronic and online resources for doing biblical research. Stuart provides guidance for full exegesis as well as for a quicker approach to provide information specifically tailored to the task of preaching. A glossary of terms explains the sometimes bewildering language of biblical scholarship, and a list of frequent errors guides the student in avoiding common mistakes. No exegetical guide for the Old Testament has been more widely used in training ministers and students to be faithful, careful interpreters of Scripture.
A Handbook of New Testament Exegesis by
Victorian Art Criticism and the Woman Writer by John Paul M. Kanwit examines the development of specialized art commentary in a period when art education became a national concern in Britain. The explosion of Victorian visual culture--evident in the rapid expansion of galleries and museums, the technological innovations of which photography is only the most famous, the public debates over household design, and the high profile granted to such developments as the Aesthetic Movement--provided art critics unprecedented social power. Scholarship to date, however, has often been restricted to a narrow collection of male writers on art: John Ruskin, Walter Pater, William Morris, and Oscar Wilde. By including then-influential but now lesser-known critics such as Anna Jameson, Elizabeth Eastlake, and Emilia Dilke, and by focusing on critical debates rather than celebrated figures, Victorian Art Criticism and the Woman Writer refines our conception of when and how art criticism became a professional discipline in Britain. Jameson and Eastlake began to professionalize art criticism well before the 1860s, that is, before the date commonly ascribed to the professionalization of the discipline. Moreover, in concentrating on historical facts rather than legends about art, these women critics represent an alternative approach that developed the modern conception of art history. In a parallel development, the novelists under consideration--George Eliot, Charlotte Brontë, Anne Brontë, and Elizabeth Gaskell--read a wide range of Victorian art critics and used their lessons in key moments of spectatorship. This more inclusive view of Victorian art criticism provides key insights into Victorian literary and aesthetic culture. The women critics discussed in this book helped to fashion art criticism as itself a literary genre, something almost wholly ascribed to famous male critics.
