OER for Law Courses - Open Education Resources - Law - Dulaney-Browne Library at Oklahoma City University

Overview

This page includes lists of open textbooks, casebooks, and media relevant to law students and faculty. For more information or assistance searching OER databases, contact Syd Stephenson.

Casebooks and Legal Textbooks

CALI Legal Textbooks
CALI Legal Textbooks provides access to over 60 peer-reviewed and Creative Commons licensed casebooks
Directory of Open Access Books - Law
The Directory of Open Access Books hosts 1345 law books.
Milne Open Textbooks - Law
Milne Open Textbooks provides access to Law 101: Fundamentals of Law and An Introduction to Labor and Employment Law.
OER Commons - Law Textbooks and Full Courses
OER Commons has 204 law textbooks and course materials.
Open Casebooks | H20
H20 Casebooks is an online database of digital casebooks built and maintained by Harvard Law School’s Library Innovation Lab. H20 Casebooks provides free access to over 400 casebooks and over 8,000 legal documents.
Open Textbook Library
Open Textbook Library is an online OER repository that houses over 90 law textbooks and casebooks.
Pressbooks Directory - Legal Resources
Pressbooks Directory houses 75 free and open legal textbooks and casebooks.

Legal Open Learning Resources

CALI Online Learning
Offers over 1,000 computer-based legal tutorials for use by law students on a wide variety of topics. Lesson topics are divided into 1L and 2L/3L topics.
Law Review Commons
Law Review Commons is “the largest collection of free and open law review scholarship” online. Users can view law reviews from legal institutions from across the United States.
Merlot - Open Education Materials - Law
Merlot provides access to 871 OER for the legal field.
Teaching Commons - Law Course Materials
Teaching Commons provides free and open teaching materials, including casebooks, manuals, syllabi, and other course materials.

Subject-Specific Resources

Asian Americans and U.S. Law - H20 Casebooks
Published January 2023.
Ball/Oberman Crim Law Casebook (Fourth Edition) - H20 Casebooks
Published in August 2024 and updated September 2024. Includes embedded teaching notes.
Business Law I Essentials
Business Law I Essentials is an OER textbook published on the OpenStax platform, hosted by Rice University. Published in 2019 and updated in 2023.
Civil Procedure - H20 Casebooks
Published in 2022 and updated in January 2023.
Constitutional Law - H20 Casebooks
Published January 2022 and updated Nov 2023.
Evidence Fall 2024
First published Aug 2022 and updated Sep 2024. Includes syllabus, cases, and assignments.
Property Law - H20 Casebooks
Published in November 2020.
Sales and Leases: A Problem-based Approach - CALI
Published July 2023 and includes Teacher's Manual.
Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Employment Discrimination - CALI
Sources of American Law: An Introduction to Legal Research - CALI
Technology, Human Rights, and Cybersecurity - H20 Casebooks
Published in September 2022.
Torts! - H20 Casebooks
Published in January 2021.
U.S. Federal Income Taxation of Individuals - CALI
10th edition - 2023
Wetlands Law: A Course Source
4th edition - revised, 2021.

General Databases

Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a searchable database of free, open access books covering a variety of academic topics.
Mason OER Metafinder
Provides access to federated search of materials from 20+ databases.
Milne Open Textbooks
"Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff."
OER Commons
"OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum."
Open Textbook Library
"Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Now offering 1235 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network."
Pressbooks Directory
"Pressbooks Directory provides an index of 5,227 books published across 152 Pressbooks networks."

Creative Commons Licensing and Attribution

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. This guide was adapted from SPARC: Open Education and the Michigan State University Libraries OER Program Guide.