Today's Hours:

Photography: Articles

Resources for the study of photography.

Why Articles?

Scholarly journal articles are great for:

  • research reports
  • current information
  • narrow topics
  • information for experts

Popular magazine and newspaper articles cover:

  • news reports
  • information for the general public

Finding Journals about Photography

Current Photography Subscriptions include:

Aperture (2003-current issue in paper)

Popular Photography & Imaging (1955-current issue in paper)

Leonardo (1968-2007 full-text in JSTOR, 2001-current issue in Project Muse)

Databases by Title for Photography

The following list contains both multi-disciplinary journal and magazine article databases as well as special subject databases. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

Art Index

Also find citations to articles in Art Index  items published 1935-2006. Ask for this index at the circulation desk. 

Getting to full text

The PDF icon should open Adobe Reader and show the full text of the article as originally published. Print and save from the Adobe Reader interface.

WorldCat link The "Find Full Text" link will take you to the library's Discovery system. If the article is available full text through another source, a few clicks should take you to it. If it is not, you will see a message recommending an interlibrary loan request.

"Interlibrary Loan" or "ILL" service is free to OCU students, faculty, and staff and usually takes 3 - 5 days. The library staff requests the article from another library and then emails it to you.

For articles not found through EBSCOhost, check the library's Discovery System for the article or request through Interlibrary Loan.

Additional Journal Information

Many citations in the sciences use standardized abbreviations for journal titles. You will need the full title in order to request interlibrary loan and you may need the standard abbreviation for your own citations.

Interlibrary Loan: Articles & Books

Request a Journal Article

If ... it isn't available full text online or in the library's journals list.

search and click on "Request through ILL (arrives in 3 days to 3 weeks)"

fill in article title and author, journal title, date, volume, issue, and page numbers plus your contact information

Request a Book
If … it is not included in the Dulaney-Browne Library catalog and it isn’t a course textbook
 

search and click on "Borrow this item from another library (Interlibrary Loan)" and add your contact information

fill in title, author, publisher, and date plus your contact information

Please read: Warning concerning copyright restrictions.

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.