Today's Hours:

Art & Art History: Articles

Use this resource and research guide for Art History.

Why Articles?

Scholarly journal articles are great for:

  • research reports
  • current information
  • narrow topics
  • information for experts

Popular magazine and newspaper articles cover:

  • news reports
  • information for the general public

Browse Journals

Link to all journals.

Find Newspaper Articles

Art Index

Also find citations to articles in Art Index  items published 1935-2006. Ask for this index at the circulation desk. 

Databases for Art

The following databases contain articles about concept development and graphic design. Most articles are full-text or may be found in the library's collection or ordered through Interlibrary Loan.

EBSCOhost Databases - Click the "Academic Search Complete" link then select the following from the "Choose Databases" link:

Other Databases to Search:

Getting to full text

The PDF icon should open Adobe Reader and show the full text of the article as originally published. Print and save from the Adobe Reader interface.

The "Full Text Finder" option means the article should be available. Try it first for immediate access, then choose Interlibrary Loan if needed.

The "Full text from..." option may take a few clicks to link through the publisher to the full text. Try the Full Text Finder or Interlibrary Loan if it doesn't work.

 The "Interlibrary Loan" or "ILL" service is free to OCU students, faculty, and staff and usually takes 3 - 5 days. The library staff requests the article from another library and then emails it to you.

For articles not found through EBSCOhost, check the library's Journals List for the journal title or request through Interlibrary Loan if you don't find it there.

Interlibrary Loan: Articles & Books

Request a Journal Article

If ... it isn't available full text online or in the library's journals list.

search and click on "Request through ILL (arrives in 3 days to 3 weeks)"

fill in article title and author, journal title, date, volume, issue, and page numbers plus your contact information

Request a Book
If … it is not included in the Dulaney-Browne Library catalog and it isn’t a course textbook
 

search and click on "Borrow this item from another library (Interlibrary Loan)" and add your contact information

fill in title, author, publisher, and date plus your contact information

Please read: Warning concerning copyright restrictions.

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.