Dulaney-Browne Library: Foundation Directory: Databases

Candid Foundation Directory Databases (in-library use only)

Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
Fundraising research database includes profiles of foundations that provide grants to non-profit organizations, grant giving histories, government grant opportunities, and information on research and scholarship grants for individuals. (In library use only)
GuideStar Pro This link opens in a new window
information on nonprofits, including location, organizational structure, employees, and finances

These database links are available only through computers in the Dulaney-Browne Library. Students and faculty can log on to any computer in the library for access. Visitors will need to have a library staff member to log them in as a guest.

Additional Candid Nonprofit Resources

Candid Learning
Informational website featuring FAQs, webinars, knowledge base, and sample grant applications (access may require personal account); most eLearning courses are free.
Philanthropy News Digest
Latest news about philanthropy, fundraising, and nonprofit world; features current RFPs from grantmakers
Find Funding
Free search option for finding basic foundation information by name or location, searching by foundation name for IRS 990 information (access may require personal account)

Candid Foundation Directory Online Searching Aids

Philanthropy Classification System
Provides definitions of Subjects and other terms used in Foundation Directory Online.
Foundation Center's Subject Terms (pdf)
A full list of all subject terms that may be selected for searching Foundation Directory Online. Please note that some topics occur under more than one category.
FDO Definitions (pdf)
A list of the search fields in Foundation Directory Online and what they mean.
FDO Tutorials
Watch videos about the features and search capabilities of Foundation Directory Online.

Free Internet Databases

Grants.gov
searchable database of grants available through the federal government, as well as the interface for applying for these grants
State of Oklahoma web site
type grants in the search box for grant opportunities offered by the State of Oklahoma
Nonprofit Explorer (ProPublica.org)
Browse IRS data released since 2013 and access over 9.6 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.