Reference Help Available Today:
Articles are a good source for current research and scholarship. You can find journal articles in many ways. The "Discover" search on the main page includes almost all of the full text journal articles in the library's collection. Google Scholar includes links to many of those articles, and others, especially if you have linked your account to Oklahoma City University or are using an on campus internet connection. The databases at the left can also all be searched individually.
Sometimes the individual, specific search is best because you find fewer articles, but they are better matches for your need. Also, there are many custom limiters available in the individual databases searches.
Finally, you can search all EBSCO databases below together using this search box. For any articles we do not own, there is a direct link to requesting it through Interlibrary Loan, and some limits (date, full text, peer reviewed) are available.
Google Scholar also offers access to many journal articles. Be sure to log in and set your library as Oklahoma City University so that you can access subscriber content the library pays for. You can request interlibrary loan for articles that are still not full text.
The PDF icon should open Adobe Reader and show the full text of the article as originally published. Print and save from the Adobe Reader interface.
The "Find Full Text" link will take you to the library's Discovery system. If the article is available full text through another source, a few clicks should take you to it. If it is not, you will see a message recommending an interlibrary loan request.
"Interlibrary Loan" or "ILL" service is free to OCU students, faculty, and staff and usually takes 3 - 5 days. The library staff requests the article from another library and then emails it to you.
For articles not found through EBSCOhost, check the library's Discovery System for the article or request through Interlibrary Loan.
Newspaper articles are a good source of reviews of theatrical productions and the library provides access to:
As an Oklahoma City University student or faculty member, you also have access to databases provided by the Metropolitan Library System. These include:
If you don't already have a library card, you can sign up online or at any library location. Remember, for these resources, you will need your Metropolitan Library card number and password.
Request a Journal Article
If ... it isn't available full text online or in the library's journals list.
If you found it in EBSCOhost, click on "Request through ILL (arrives in 3 days to 3 weeks)"
If you found it elsewhere, use the request form below.
fill in article title and author, journal title, date, volume, issue, and page numbers plus your contact information
Request a Book
If … we don't own a copy and it isn’t a course textbook by using "Request through Interlibrary Loan" in
or fill in title, author, publisher, and date plus your contact information on the
Please read: Warning concerning copyright restrictions.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
