Today's Hours:

Dewey Decimal Call Numbers: Home

Using the Dewey Decimal System

The Dewey Decimal System is used to arrange books (and DVDs and audio CDs) on the shelf by their subjects. Reference books (including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and commentaries) are on the 1st floor. Oversize books are on the 5th floor. Older books and VHS tapes may be in basement storage. DVDs are on the 2nd floor. Spoken Audio Books are on the 1st floor.

000 - GENERALITIES

000 Computer science, information & general works
010 Bibliography
020 Library & information science
030 General encyclopedic works
050 General serial publications
060 General organizations & museums
070 News media, journalism, publishing
080 General collections
090 Manuscripts & rare books

1st floor


100 - PHILOSOPHY & PSYCHOLOGY

100 Philosophy & psychology
110 Metaphysics
120 Epistemology, causation, humankind
130 Parapsychology & occultism
140 Specific philosophical schools
150 Psychology
160 Logic
170 Ethics
180 Ancient, medieval & eastern philosophy
190 Modern Western philosophy

1st floor

200 - RELIGION

200 Religion
210 Philosophy & theory of religion
220 Bible
230 Christianity & Christian theology
240 Christian moral & devotional theology
250 Christian orders & local church
260 Social & ecclesiasticalt theology
270 History of Christianity & Christian church
280 Christian denominations & sects
290 Other religions

2nd floor

300 - SOCIAL SCIENCES

300 Social sciences
310 Collections of general statistics
320 Political science
330 Economics
340 Law
350 Public administration & military science
360 Social problems & services; association
370 Education
380 Commerce, communication, transportation
390 Customs, etiquette, folklore

3rd floor

400 - LANGUAGE

400 Language
410 Linguistics
420 English & Old English
430 Germanic languages; German
440 Romance languages; French
450 Italian, Romanian& related languages
460 Spanish & Portuguese languages
470 Italic languages; Latin
480 Hellenic languages; Greek
490 Other languages

3rd floor

500 - NATURAL SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS

500 Natural sciences & mathematics
510 Mathematics
520 Astronomy & allied sciences
530 Physics
540 Chemistry & allied sciences
550 Earth sciences
560 Paleontology; Paleozoology
570 Life sciences
580 Plants (Botany)
590 Animals (Zoology)

3rd floor

600 - TECHNOLOGY (APPLIED SCIENCES)

600 Technology
610 Medicine & health
620 Engineering & allied operations
630 Agriculture & related technologies
640 Home & family management
650 Management & auxiliary services
660 Chemical engineering
670 Manufacturing
680 Manufacture for specific uses
690 Buildings

3rd floor

700 - THE ARTS

700 The arts; fine & decorative arts
710 Civic & landscape art
720 Architecture
730 Plastic arts; Sculpture
740 Drawing & decorative arts
750 Painting & paintings
760 Graphic arts; Printmaking & prints
770 Photography, photographs, & computer art
780 Music
790 Recreational & performing arts

3rd floor

800 - LITERATURE & RHETORIC

800 Literature & rhetoric
810 American Literature in English
820 English & Old English Literature
830 Literatures of Germanic languages
840 Literatures of Romance languages
850 Italian, Romanian & related literatures
860 Spanish & Portuguese literatures
870 Italic literatures; Latin literature
880 Hellenic literatures; classical Greek
890 Literatures of other languages

4th floor

900 - GEOGRAPHY & HISTORY

900 History & geography
910 Geography & travel
920 Biography, genealogy, insignia
930 History of ancient world to ca. 499
940 History of Europe
950 General history of Asia; Far East
960 General history of Africa
970 History of North America
980 History of South America
990 History of other areas

4th floor

REGULAR CIRCULATING COLLECTION

located on the 1st - 4th floors as noted to the left

most regular books that can be borrowed
 

REFERENCE BOOKS

located on the 1st floor

encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, commentaries and other books designed to be consulted rather than read through

SPOKEN AUDIO COLLECTION

located on the 1st floor

compact disc audiobooks and other spoken audio (Teaching Company lecture series, poetry readings, ect.)

FILM COLLECTION

located on the 2nd floor

feature films, documentaries, international films, TV programs, etc.

feature films share the call number 791.4372 and are arranged by director

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COLLECTION

located in the 2nd floor Faculty Reading Room

books and materials for improving college teaching
 

OVERSIZE COLLECTION

located on the 5th floor

books that are too tall for the regular shelves

CURRICULUM COLLECTION

located on the 5th floor

textbooks for K-12 classrooms

CHILDREN'S LITERATURE COLLECTION

located on the 5th floor

Non-fiction is arranged by Dewey Decimal Number.

Fiction is arranged alphabetically by author.
 

CIRCULATING STORAGE

located in the basement

older books and VHS tapes that can be checked out