Today's Hours:

Dance: Home

Dance

Introduction

This web site is a starting point for researching dance at the Dulaney-Browne Library. It is not intended to be a comprehensive guide. However, the site is intended to help students understand the various dance sources available and how to begin research on dance topics. All print sources can be found at the Dulaney-Browne Library unless otherwise stated. The information presented here is intended for college students, who are new to library research or new to the dance subject matter.

Subject Headings

Monographs (books) can be located using the Library Catalog. Following are some examples of subject headings for researching dance topics:

Journal Titles & Indexes (Electronic & Print)

Journals that are accessible via the Internet are listed under the database they are indexed by, while journals that are available in print only are listed separately. Databases that do not have an associated list of journals contain dance articles but are not limited to dance only. This is not a comprehensive list. You may need your OCU email username and password to access electronic resources.


SEARCH EBSCOhost Databases listed below
 


 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good place to start your research because they can give you a broad overview of the subject as well as terminology to use in subject searches.

 

Books

Below are several general titles on dance. Once you find books on your topic it is useful to browse the shelves in the same call number range.

 

Internet Sources

 

Videos

 

SEARCH THE LIBRARY'S MEDIA COLLECTION (DVD & VHS)


 

Note: An Actor/Actress search will also include books written by the actor/actress.
 

NYPL Digital Collections --Jerome Robbins Dance Division Audio and Moving Image Archive

 

Music, Theater, Dance and Entertainment Business Librarian

Beth Fleming's picture
Beth Fleming
chat presence
Contact:
Leichter Listening Library
Room 308 B
Wanda L. Bass School of Music
405-208-5708
Website