Dulaney-Browne Library: Intellectual Property Rights of Indigenous People: General Info

Relevent Books

Culture and Culture by Manuela Carneiro da Cunha
Call Number: K1420 .C76 2009
ISBN: 0976147564
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
"Increasingly today, intellectual rights over traditional knowledge are fiercely contested and have revived debates about culture in major ways. But how should we make sense of the politics and meaning of culture, knowledge and authorship? What are the unexamined assumptions over the regimes of knowledge that ground the increasingly pervasive legal constructs on intellectual property? What are we to make of inconsistencies that surface in cultural claims? As the Brazilian anthropologist Manuela Carneiro da Cunha highlights in this pamphlet, it is no easy task. By distinguishing "culture" from culture, the former being a reflexive notion that purportedly speaks about the latter, da Cunha shows how such inconsistencies are inherent to any reflexive system. She asks: What are the cognitive as well as pragmatic consequences of the coexistence of "culture" and culture? In answer, da Cunha explains how the loan word "culture," as imported from anthropological jargon, is mobilized by indigenous people to effectively separate interpretive regimes and avoid contradictions."--BOOK JACKET.

Information

This page is designed to inform the user on some relevant texts on intellectual property rights. The struggle that indigenous people have had, with regards to their IP rights, has been well documented and this guide is for the reader who is concerned about those rights. This page also provides general IP news as well.

Books

Access to Knowledge in Africa by Chris Armstrong; Jeremy de Beer; Dick Kawooya; Achal Prabhala; Tobias Schonwetter
Call Number: KQC371 .A934 2010
ISBN: 9781919895451
Publication Date: 2011-06-15
"Published in association with the International Development Research Centre, the Shuttleworth Foundation and the LINK Centre, Graduate School of Public and Development Management (P&DM), University of the Witwatersrand." "This book is a result of an international and interdisciplinary research project known as the African Copyright and Access to Knowledge (ACA2K) Project" --Acknowledgments. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Indigenous Intellectual Property Rights by Mary Riley (Editor)
Call Number: K1401 .I535 2004
ISBN: 0759104867
Publication Date: 2004-10-13
A good resource for those interested in the effort to protect the cultural heritage of Native Americans. It highlights the obstacles to change and the efforts to overcome those same obstacles.
Intellectual Property Rights, Development, and Catch Up by Hiroyuki Odagiri (Editor); Akira Goto (Editor); Atsushi Sunami (Editor); Richard R. Nelson (Editor)
Call Number: K1401 .I58 2010
ISBN: 9780199574759
Publication Date: 2010-06-06
This book discuses the current economic impact on IP rights with regards to developing countries.
Mana Tuturu by Barry Barclay
Call Number: K1401 .B37 2005
ISBN: 0824830563
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Finding Books About Indigenous Peoples and Intellectual Property at the Chickasaw Nation Law Library

WorldCat Search

IP News

IntellectualPropertyNews.com

Intellectual Property Law News--Findlaw

Finding Articles and Journals

A number of practice oriented journals as well as academic law reviews offer coverage of empirical research topics. Some of these journals are available in print in the Chickasaw Nation Law Library, and some are also available in subscription databases, including HeinOnline, Westlaw, and LexisNexis.

All the journal articles searchable in HeinOnline are in full text. Westlaw and LexisNexis also have full text databases devoted to periodical legal literature.

However, many of the articles indexed or found in full text in the tools discussed above will be primarily from publishers in the United States, Canada, England and Australia. Because the topic you are researching involves additional foreign and international topics, use of the the subject index, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, may be necessary to locate additional article citations. The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is on HeinOnline.