Skip to main content

Second Amendment: Secondary Sources

Chickasaw Nation Law Library Catalog

SEARCH THE LAW LIBRARY CATALOG

HeinOnline

Catalog Search Widget

Suggested Subject Headings

Second Amendment

Gun Rights

Gun Control

Firearms

Arms and Ammunition (C.F.R.)

Guns

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal Encyclopedias give a brief explanation of the law. They can be one of the most valuable tools for locating the relevant primary sources. The best encyclopedias for this topic are as follows:

79 Am. Jur. 2d Weapons and Firearms §§ 4-6, 9, 12, 25, 27-28, 32, and 34-35 (1976-present) is available in print and via the subscription databases Lexis Advance and Westlaw.

94 C.J.S. Weapons (1936-present) is available in print and via the subscription databases Lexis Advance and Westlaw.

Glenn H. Utter & Robert J. Spitzer, Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights (eds., 2nd ed. 2011) is available in print and via the subscription databases Lexis Advance and Westlaw.

American Law Reports

Written by legal scholars, American Law Reports are typically used by attorneys to gain an understanding of a specific legal topic, principle, or rule. They contain extensive citations related to the legal topic including primary and secondary sources.

Jennifer J. Chen, Preemption of State Regulation of Weapons and Other Laws by Federal Gun Control Act, 65 A.L.R. 329 (2011)is available in print and via the subscription databases Lexis Nexis and Westlaw.

James Lockhart, Construction and Application of United States Supreme Court Holdings in District of Columbia v. Heller 554 U.S. 570, 128 S. Ct. 2783, 171 L. Ed. 2d 637 (2008) and McDonald v. City of Chicago, Ill., S. Ct. 3020, 177 L. Ed. 2d 894 (2010) Respecting Second Amendment Right to Keep and Bear Arms, to State or Local Laws Regulating Firearms or Other Weapons, 64 A.L.R. 6th 131 (2011) is available in print and via the subscription databases Lexis Nexis and Westlaw.

Treatises & Casebooks

Law Review and Journal Articles

 

Allen Rostron, Justice Breyer’s Triumph in the Third Battle over the Second Amendment, 80 Geo. Wash. L. Rev. 703 (2011-2012).

Michael P. O’Shea, Modeling the Second Amendment Right to Carry Arms (I): Judicial Tradition and the Scope of “Bearing Arms for Self-Defense, 61 Am. U. L. Rev. 585 (2011-2012).

Dan M. Peterson & Stephen P. Halbrook, A Revolution in Second Amendment Law, 29 Del. Law. 12 (2011-2012).

Jon S. Vemick, Lainie Rutkow, Daniel W. Webster, & Stephen Teret, Changing the Constitutional Landscape for Firearms: The U.S. Supreme Court’s Recent Second Amendment Decisions, 101 Am. J. of Public Health (2011).

Allen Rostron, The Past and Future Role of the Second Amendment and Gun Control in Fights over Confirmation or Supreme Court Nominees, 3 N.E. U.L.J. 123 (2011).

Second Amendment Journals--Published academic scholarship on the Second Amendment (Last updated: June 18, 2006).

Form Books and Practice Manuals

20 Am. Jur. Legal Forms 2d §§ 262 (2012). 

19B Am. Jur. Pleading and Practice Forms, Municipal Corporations, Countries, and Other Political Subdivisions § 41 (2012).

Manual of Criminal Forms Right to Bear Arms 3d § 54:8 (2012).

Books

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271