Dulaney-Browne Library: Economics: Articles

Why Articles?

Scholarly journal articles are great for:

research reports
current information
narrow topics
information for experts

Popular magazine and newspaper articles cover:

news reports
information for the general public

Selected Economics Journals

American Economic Review This journal publishes articles & shorter papers on economic subjects.
American Journal of Economics and Business Administration The American Journal of Economics and Business Administration is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes original, innovative and novel work in various areas representing the intersection of economics as a scientific discipline and the professional practice of business management.
Bulletin of Economic Research This journal publishes original survey articles, other long articles, short notes and memoranda and a specially-commissioned book review on all aspects of economics for an international readership.
Cambridge Journal of Economics This journal presents theoretical and applied work on realism of analysis, the provision and use of empirical evidence and the formulation of economic policies published for the Cambridge (England) Political Economy Society.
Contemporary Economic Policy This journal has articles about economic research, analysis and policy.
Econometrica Econometrica is the journal of The Econometric Society. Original articles in English or French and notes and comment aimed at the advancement of economic theory in its relation to statistics and mathematics.
Economic History Review This journal publishes original contributions in the field of economic and social history, critical essays, notes and comments, and extensive numbers of book reviews.
The Journal of Economic History The JEH seeks to promote the scholarly study of economic aspects of the human past from a diversity of perspectives, notably those of economists and historians, and to stimulate discourse among scholars with varied interests and modes of inquiry.
Journal of Economics This journal contains original research in the general area of economics.
Journal of Economics and Finance This journal presents scholarly research in economics and finance with both empirical and applied research articles.
Journal of Economics Theory This journal publishes articles in all areas of economic theory.
Journal of Political Economy Articles, comment and book reviews on all aspects of political economy.
Quarterly Journal of Economics This journal presents refereed articles shaping today's economic theory from microtheory to empirical and theoretical macroeconomics.
Review of Economics and Statistics This journal presents refereed research articles and notes on all aspects of economics and statistics published for the Harvard University Department of Economics.
The Review of Economic Studies Research articles on all aspects of theoretical and applied economics, especially by young economists.

Searching for Articles

The most current research in most fields will be found in journal articles.

EBSCOhost includes many databases both general and specific to various academic disciplines. To start with a broad search,click the link below, type a search in the box, and click the Search button. Or, you can click on one of the links in the database list box to search just a specific database.

JSTOR provides access to a broad array of journal articles, but generally excludes the most recent 5 years of articles.

Full text journal articles are included in the library's Discovery system, but searching EBSCOhost will also find descriptions of articles that are not immediately available but can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. This process generally takes 3-5 working days.

EBSCOhost
JSTOR Multi-disciplinary scholarly journal article database including botany, humanities, education, history, social science, political science, social science, music, business, and statistics. Most articles are 5 years old or older. Default search limits to content we own, other items may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

Additional Journal Information

Many citations in the sciences use standardized abbreviations for journal titles. You will need the full title in order to request interlibrary loan and you may need the standard abbreviation for your own citations.

Genamics Journal Seek
provides information on journal titles including full titles from abbreviations or abbreviations from full titles

Limit to Scholarly & Full Text

EBSCOhost Full Text, Peer Reviewed (Scholarly), and Date Limits are under the search box

Getting to full text

The PDF icon should open Adobe Reader and show the full text of the article as originally published.

"Access options" vary. Click on the down arrow to see them.

PDF opens in the Adobe Reader (as above)

Online full text may link to the full article in HTML format, or may require a purchase to see the full article.

"ILL" or "Interlibrary Loan" service is free to OCU students, faculty, and staff. Articles usually take 3 - 5 days. The library staff requests the article from another library and then emails it to you.

"Find Full Text" searches the library's Discovery System for the article and offers a link to Interlibrary Loan if no immediate free options are found.

Database Citation Creators

Look for the 'cite' option

choose your citation style
highlight
copy
paste
proofread!