Dulaney-Browne Library: Exercise and Sport Science: Articles

Exercise and Sport Science Journal Databases

For scholarly research, EBSCO has several useful databases. Search them together using the search box, or choose individual databases for more precise searching

Sport Discus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Sports and Sport Medicine journal database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window The most important nursing and allied health journal article database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Education journal and magazine article, book, and conference paper database. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
Health Source (Nursing/Academic) This link opens in a new window Scholarly health information journal article database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window The most important medicine journal article database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

The two databases below have non-scholarly articles, but still may be useful for general information:

MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary magazine article database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

Why Articles?

Scholarly journal articles are great for:

research reports
current information
narrow topics
information for experts

Popular magazine and newspaper articles cover:

news reports
information for the general public

Searching MSSE

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise is one of the leading journals in the field of Exercise Science. This journal is open access with a 1-year embargo, which means that all of its issues except for the most recent 12 months are freely available. To browse through the journal, click the link below. You will then be able to select the year and month, and scroll through to see what articles were published in that issue.

It is indexed in SPORTDiscus, which allows you to search by subject. Just click on the "Find Full Text" option for a trail of links to the full text of articles more than a year old.

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise MSSE features original investigations, clinical studies, and comprehensive reviews on current topics in sports medicine and exercise science. It is an official journal of the American College of Sports Medicine.

Sport Discus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Sports and Sport Medicine journal database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

Additional Journal Information

Many citations in the sciences use standardized abbreviations for journal titles. You will need the full title in order to request interlibrary loan and you may need the standard abbreviation for your own citations.

Genamics Journal Seek
provides information on journal titles including full titles from abbreviations or abbreviations from full titles

Limit to Scholarly & Full Text

Use the Limit to.. Full Text and Scholarly options after searching

Getting to full text

The PDF icon should open Adobe Reader and show the full text of the article as originally published. Print and save from the Adobe Reader interface.

The "Find Full Text" link will take you to the library's Discovery system. If the article is available full text through another source, a few clicks should take you to it. If it is not, you will see a message recommending an interlibrary loan request.

"Interlibrary Loan" or "ILL" service is free to OCU students, faculty, and staff and usually takes 3 - 5 days. The library staff requests the article from another library and then emails it to you.

For articles not found through EBSCOhost, check the library's Discovery System for the article or request through Interlibrary Loan.

Database Citation Creators

Look for the 'cite' option

choose your citation style
highlight
copy
paste
proofread!