Dulaney-Browne Library: Finance: Articles

Why Articles?

Scholarly journal articles are great for:

research reports
current information
narrow topics
information for experts

Popular magazine and newspaper articles cover:

news reports
information for the general public

Selected Finance Journals

Applied Mathematical Finance This journal encourages the confident use of applied mathematics & mathemetical modeling in finance.
Business Ethics Quarterly This journal presents articles and reviews about the application of ethics to the business community, particularly global business and economic concerns.
Financial Management This journal presents articles and thematic issues aimed at both executives and academicians concerned with financial management of nonfinancial businesses, financial institutions and public and private not-for-profit organizations.
Financial Review This journal publishes empirical, theoretical and methodological articles on topics of micro- and macrofinance for members of the Eastern Finance Association and the Midwest Finance Association.
International Finance This journal has peer reviewed international coverage of theory and policy in macroeconomics and microfinance.
International Tax and Public Finance International Tax and Public Finance serves as an outlet for first-rate original research on both theoretical and empirical aspects of fiscal policy, broadly interpreted to include expenditure and financing policies.
Journal of Accounting, Auditing, and Finance This journal presents research articles, professional adaptation and empirical analysis on all aspects of accounting, auditing and finance for a general readership.
Journal of Applied Finance This journal presents articles for educators, students and practitioners of finance including articles on strategy and philosphy, as well as scholarship and publication.
Journal of Business Ethics This journal presents original articles and reviews concerning ethical issues related to business, and analyses of systems of production, consumption, marketing, advertising, social and economic accounting, public relations and organizational behavior from a moral viewpoint.
Journal of Business Finance and Accounting This journal publishes research based on theoretical or empirical analysis on business finance, financial theory, financial accounting and reporting, management accounting and control, and accountability and audit of performance for professionals in the field.
Journal of Corporate Accounting and Finance This journal is directed to corporate accounting and financial executives and outside auditors and accountants working with corporations.
Journal of Economics and Finance This journal presents scholarly research in economics and finance with both empirical and applied research articles.

Searching for Articles

The most current research in most fields will be found in journal articles.

EBSCOhost includes many databases both general and specific to various academic disciplines. To start with a broad search,click the link below, type a search in the box, and click the Search button. Or, you can click on one of the links in the database list box to search just a specific database.

JSTOR provides access to a broad array of journal articles, but generally excludes the most recent 5 years of articles.

Full text journal articles are included in the library's Discovery system, but searching EBSCOhost will also find descriptions of articles that are not immediately available but can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. This process generally takes 3-5 working days.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary scholarly journal article database including botany, humanities, education, history, social science, political science, social science, music, business, and statistics. Most articles are 5 years old or older. Default search limits to content we own, other items may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

Additional Journal Information

Many citations in the sciences use standardized abbreviations for journal titles. You will need the full title in order to request interlibrary loan and you may need the standard abbreviation for your own citations.

Genamics Journal Seek
provides information on journal titles including full titles from abbreviations or abbreviations from full titles

Limit to Scholarly & Full Text

Use the Limit to.. Full Text and Scholarly options after searching

Getting to full text

The PDF icon should open Adobe Reader and show the full text of the article as originally published. Print and save from the Adobe Reader interface.

The "Find Full Text" link will take you to the library's Discovery system. If the article is available full text through another source, a few clicks should take you to it. If it is not, you will see a message recommending an interlibrary loan request.

"Interlibrary Loan" or "ILL" service is free to OCU students, faculty, and staff and usually takes 3 - 5 days. The library staff requests the article from another library and then emails it to you.

For articles not found through EBSCOhost, check the library's Discovery System for the article or request through Interlibrary Loan.

Database Citation Creators

Look for the 'cite' option

choose your citation style
highlight
copy
paste
proofread!