Reference Help Available Today:
Search the library's holdings (the Library Catalog) using the Discover Resources search box on this page. The library's holdings include both physical books and hundreds of online titles on mathematics-related topics. These are included in the catalog, or you can search for online titles directly through:
You can also use WorldCat Discovery to search the library collections of many of the world's libraries. If searching the DBL library does not turn up an item you want, go to the left-hand column and change the "Held By Library" selection to "Libraries Worldwide." Click the title of the work you want, and then click "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan." Note that the library cannot borrow complete e-books, but can borrow electronic articles and usually e-book chapters. Most items arrive in 3 days to 3 weeks (in general, copies of articles arrive more quickly than physical items like books).
Reference books are located on the first floor of the library and have an R preceding the call number. These books cannot be checked out, but you can read, scan to email, or photocopy articles from them; just ask a library staff member if you need help with scanning or photocopying!
CRC Handbook of Tables for Probability and Statistics by
Practicing statisticians and scientists working in diverse fields need an authoritative reference handbook of statistical tables developed to "aid" in the investigation and solution of many of today's challenging problems. This book has been compiled and arranged to meet the needs of these users of statistics.
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae by
A guide to mathematics provides tables and formulae along with information on such topics as number analysis, geometry, algebra, calculus, probability, game theory, risk analysis, tesselations, and tilings.
Handbook of Financial Mathematics, Formulas and Tables by
Entries range from simple and compound interest, to lease capitalization, rates of return, sunk costs, bankruptcy ratios, and many more.
The Mathematics Dictionary by
Much more than a mere word dictionary, this source offers cogent explanations of a wide range of mathematical ideas -- in a format that makes it easy to locate the meaning of terms at the level of complexity required.
The Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms by
This new edition has been carefully updated and extended to include the most recent terminology and techniques in statistics. Significant revision and expansion from an international editorial board of senior statisticians has resulted in a comprehensive reference work ideal for all who use statistics, including students and scientists in the natural and social sciences, and especially in medicine, law, politics, economics, finance, business, and history.
VNR Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics by
Explains the interrelationships between the various mathematical branches. Includes 950 diagrams, drawings, photographs, and plates.
Browsing the shelves is another good option. Books are arranged by Dewey Decimal numbers:
Dewey Decimal Numbers for mathematics and related topics:
310 General Statistics
500 Natural sciences & mathematics
510 Mathematics
511 General principles
512 Algebra & number theory
513 Arithmetic
514 Topology
515 Analysis
516 Geometry
519 Probabilities & applied mathematics
526 Mathematical geography
The most recently published books in these number ranges are located on the 3rd floor of the library. Older (but often still useful) books may be in Basement Storage; you can ask a staff member at the Circulation desk to retrieve specific items for you, but patrons cannot browse in this area.
Further Mathematics: Modelling with Algorthms by
evelop a deeper understanding of mathematical concepts and their applications with new and updated editions from our bestselling series. - Build connections between topics using real-world contexts that develop mathematical modelling skills, thus providing your students with a fuller and more coherent understanding of mathematical concepts. - Develop fluency in problem-solving, proof and modelling with plenty of questions and well-structured exercises. - Overcome misconceptions and develop mathematical insight with annotated worked examples.
An Introduction to Data Analysis by
Covering the general process of data analysis to finding, collecting, organizing, and presenting data, this book offers a complete introduction to the fundamentals of data analysis. Using real-world case studies as illustrations, it helps readers understand theories behind and develop techniques for conducting quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods data analysis. With an easy-to-follow organization and clear, jargon-free language, it helps readers not only become proficient data analysts, but also develop the critical thinking skills necessary to assess analyses presented by others in both academic research and the popular media. It includes advice on: - Data analysis frameworks - Validity and credibility of data - Sampling techniques - Data management - The big data phenomenon - Data visualisation - Effective data communication Whether you are new to data analysis or looking for a quick-reference guide to key principles of the process, this book will help you uncover nuances, complexities, patterns, and relationships among all types of data.
Mathematics for Computer Graphics and Game Programming by
Designed to explain the mathematical concepts involved in computer graphics and its entities, this book is ideal for courses in computer graphics, engineering, game development, as well as for professionals in industry. It begins with simple concepts such as how an image is generated on the screen and then moves to cover the different algorithms for the generation of simple geometry on the screen. The following chapters include two-dimensional and three-dimensional transformations, parametric representation of planar curves and parametric representation of space curves such as cubic splines, Bezier curves, etc. In addition to programming in C, OpenGL, and several other topics, it includes a final chapter on the methods of generating 3D models.
Misteaks... and How to Find Them Before the Teacher Does... by
An unusual supplement to every calculus textbook, Misteaks and How to Find Them before the Teacher Does is popular with students and teachers alike. Teachers love the way it encourages students to truly think about mathematics rather than simply plugging numbers into equations to crank out answers, and students love the author's straightforward, tongue-in-cheek style. The title of this light-hearted and amusing book might well have been "Going Gray in Elementary Calculus and How to Avoid it." Changing the metaphor, Barry has hit the nail on the finger in hundreds of fine examples. --Philip J. Davis, coauthor of The Mathematical Experience. "How I wish that something like this had been available when I was a student!" --Ralph P. Boas, former editor of The American Mathematical Monthly. Bonus: Solution to LeWitt Puzzle
Multivariable Calculus by
Stewart conveys not only the utility of calculus to help you develop technical competence, but also gives you an appreciation for the intrinsic beauty of the subject. His patient examples and built-in learning aids will help you build your mathematical confidence and achieve your goals in the course!
