Dulaney-Browne Library: Media Research: Home

Discovery

Independent Journalism

Project Censored
A US nonprofit media watchdog organization
Validated Independent News
A subsite of Project Censored - VINs report information and perspective that the public has a right and need to know, but to which it has limited access.

News Databases - OCU Library

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper article, radio transcript and related news database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Database with near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press Internationa, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire
Regional Business News Plus This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News Plus provides more coverage of full-text regional business publications for the U.S. and Canada than any other database available. Scholars and academic researchers can access essential newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, newswires and videos.

Other News Databases - METRO Library

Newspaper databases
Access to several NewsBank databases including the Access Newspaper Archive and Access World News (Metro Library account required)

To request a school account at Metro Library – email a scan/photo of your photo ID and proof of enrollment (student invoice will do – see Student Financial Services tab in BlueLink) to [email protected].

Research Centers & Public Opinion Polling

Pew Research
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan think tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, and other macro-level, data driven social science research. Pew does not take policy or advocacy positions.
Roper Center (Cornell)
As early advocates of scientific polling practices, the Roper Center remains one of the most extensive repositories for polling and archived social science data.
Real Clear Politics
Non-partisan news analysis and editorials, updated daily.
Quinnipiac University Pollling
Independent Quinnipiac University Poll regularly surveys residents nationwide and polls in more than twenty states about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern.
538 Blog
Founded by former NY Times pollster, Nate Silver, 538 tracks all manner of empirical trends from politics to popular culture.

Online Newspapers & Media Resources

Fact-Checking Tools

FactCheck.org
Part of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at UPenn, Factcheck.org allows users to submit questions across a range of topics, including politics and scientific research.
Know Your Meme
Since 2008, Know Your Meme has been documenting and cataloging all manner of internet activities, including Memes, Gifs, etc.
News Literacy Project
An independent, educational non-profit which seeks to empower citizens in the information age. Resources for students and teachers.
Politifact
Founded by the Tampa Bay Tribune and owned by the nonprofit Poynter Institute for Media Studies, Politifact primarily evaluates the claims of US politicians for accuracy.
Reporter's Lab (Duke University)
Based out of the Sanford School at Duke University, the Reporter's Lab focuses on international fact-checking and media accuracy.
Snopes
Since 1994, Snopes has remained one of the premier fact-checking and urban myth/folklore debunking website.
Washington Post Fact Checker
Fact-checking service from the Washington Post, with a focus on domestic politics and events. Claims scored on a 1 to 4 scale of Pinocchios.
AllSides
A media and journalism bias assessment tool focused on promoting balanced perspectives, diversity of viewpoints, civic consciousness and engagement, as well as fostering exposure to alternative sensibilities about the news and world events.

State-Wide Historic Newspaper Projects

Gateway to Oklahoma History
Hundreds of thousands of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s (Oklahoma Historical Society)
Portal to Texas History
Search newspapers, books, maps, and photographs from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries; many Texas newspapers provided coverage of events in Oklahoma/Indian Territory (University of North Texas)

Links to Aggregators

Sites that bring together links to digitized newspapers.

US Historical Newspapers Online by State
Single search of indexed newspapers from across the US. Browse by state - both free and subscription-based sites are collected.
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
Provides links to free and subscription-based newspaper digitization projects world-wide.

Archivist & Special Collections Librarian

Christina Wolf

Email Me

Contact:

Dulaney-Browne Library Room 508

405-208-5919

Subjects: Art, Continuing Education, English & Literature, Film, Literature, Mass Communications, Modern Languages