Reference Help Available Today:
The music library has an entire room dedicated to music education! This section of the library holds:
The book that started the Essential Elements Band Method features music history right in the book, band arrangements, Dr. Tim parent letter, quizzes, and a rhythm-based sequence. Effective pedagogy, a logical sequence of skills, innovative parental communication tools, multicultural songs, duets and full band arrangements, and much more, create a method designed to help kids succeed.
Well-respected educator and best-selling author Jerry Snyder has put together the most versatile guitar method available. This comprehensive method for classroom or individual study comes in two sections: the first section teaches chords and accompaniment, while the second teaches note reading. This flexible method allows you to start with either section or use both sections simultaneously. Includes 58 songs and progressions for accompaniment, 26 songs for learning how to read music, 25 accompaniment patterns, fingerstyle and pickstyle techniques, and all basic chords and keys. 96 pages.
(ExpressiveArts). First We Sing! Kodaly-Inspired Teaching and its companion volumes offer guidance and direction for teachers who are new to the Kodaly approach. Experienced teachers will find fresh ideas to supplement their materials, along with another perspective on Kodaly's philosophy and its implications for teaching today. It includes a detailed explanation of the "three-step process" (Prepare, Present, Practice) toward musical literacy, as well as a comprehensive look at musical skills and the ways they develop over time.
(Percussion). This book features 27 orchestral works currently requested at timpani auditions. The CD-ROM contains the timpani parts in .pdf format, along with annotated forScore files for the iPad. Each page includes important items to consider when preparing these orchestral works. These observations are from John Tafoya's personal experience with orchestral timpani auditions, and his vast professional experience with rehearsals and performances with world-renowned conductors.
Sound Innovations: Sound Development emphasizes playing with a characteristic beautiful sound.The flexible levels can be used in the order that is best for your students, as individual warm-ups or as structured units. Your students will learn the proper use of the bow with the variables of tone, the next group of bowings needed for intermediate repertoire, and how to shift and play with vibrato. These skills are reinforced with comprehensive scales, arpeggios, sight-reading materials, rhythm exercises, and warm-up chorales.
Orchestra Expressions(tm) provides music educators at all levels with easy-to-use, exciting tools to meet daily classroom challenges and bring new vibrancy and depth to teaching music. The lessons were written based on the National Standards for the Arts in Music -- not retro-fitted to the Standards. The program is music literacy-based and satisfies reading and writing mandates in orchestra class. The pedagogy involves a four-fingers-down" start for every instrument and separate but simultaneous development of both hands. Each student book features an attractive full-color interior with easy-to-read notes and includes:
Analyzing Classical Form builds upon the foundations of the author's critically acclaimed Classical Form by offering an approach to the analysis of musical form that is especially suited for classroom use. Providing ample material for study in both undergraduate and graduate courses, Analyzing Classical Form presents the most up-to-date version of the author's "theory of formal functions."
Becoming a Choral Music Teacher: A Field Experience Workbook, Second Edition is a choral methods textbook that prepares students in Music Education to become middle school and high school choral music teachers. It emphasizes important musical skills, vocal pedagogy and repertoire suitable for secondary school choirs in order to provide future teachers with the critical experiences to be effective. Focusing equally on rehearsal strategies, auditions and classroom management, the book is also a "workbook" that requires the students' active learning through participation in fieldwork.
The Music Library also has an entire section dedicated to piano pedagogy. This collection holds piano method books for every level. It is a great resource for finding repertoire for group piano classes, or for teaching piano students of your own.
The collection also holds several beginning piano theory books: helpful if you want additional music theory practice!
The Piano Ped collection is in the southwest part of the music library, right next to the computer study carrels.
(Faber Piano Adventures). The 2nd Edition Level 1 Lesson Book introduces all the notes of the grand staff, elementary chord playing, and the concept of tonic and dominant notes. Students play in varied positions, reinforcing reading skills and recognizing intervals through the 5th. Musicianship is built with the introduction of legato and staccato touches. This level continues the interval orientation to reading across the full range of the Grand Staff. The 5-finger approach is presented here in a fresh, musically appealing way.
This suite of four contrasting pieces represents styles from both the 19th and 20th centuries. Perfect for the serious performer, these compositions are excellent material for formal recitals, auditions, and festivals.
With all the responsibilities of daily life, it's not always easy to find the time to learn an instrument. A good piano method book for adults should be easy to understand and pick up whenever free time presents itself and this is that book. Impress your friends and family with your new talent or simply unwind after work with this well-written and effective piano method. The Hal Leonard Student Piano Library's Adult Piano Method takes an all-in-one approach by combining lessons, solos, technique, and theory into a single volume.
The Ear Training Books reinforce each concept presented in the Lesson Books and specifically focus on the training and development of the ear. Rhythmic, melodic and intervallic concepts are drilled throughout each book and each page is designed to be completed using approximately five minutes of the lesson time.
Premier Piano Course Level 5 students develop their rhythm skills using sixteenth notes in 3/8 and 6/8 time. A special focus is a stylistic introduction to the Baroque and Classical masterworks. Additional pieces range from lyrical ballads and jazz styles to arrangements of familiar classic and folk themes. New concepts introduced include augmented triads, grace notes and additional scales and keys. To access the TNT recordings, visit: alfred.com/ppcdownloads.
Compiled to provide students with a progressive program for technical development, this first book contains 21 classic elementary studies carefully chosen for their pedagogical merit as well as their lyrical beauty. A choice series for both teacher and student libraries.
(Educational Piano Library).Level: basic note values and rests; sharps, flats and naturals; 3/4, 4/4 meter; melodic and harmonic intervals through a 5th; limited use of hands-together passages. Reading range: from Bass Clef B (a 6th below Middle C), to Treble Clef B (a 7th above Middle C).
These exciting movie themes have been arranged in traditional five-finger style, with the melody split between the hands, and without key signatures in the student part. Starting hand positions are illustrated above each piece. Fingerings that are outside the noted five-finger positions and those indicating a shift in hand position are circled for easy identification. Dotted quarter notes, triplets and sixteenth notes have been avoided. All of the melodic arrangements have optional duet accompaniments created to achieve a fuller, richer musical experience.
Two of opera's greatest names offer encouragement and useful advice to aspiring singers in this classic guide. Tenor Enrico Caruso and coloratura soprano Luisa Tetrazzini employ nontechnical terms to provide an informal vocalist's anatomy, with instructions for the proper training, care, and disposition of the tongue, lungs, diaphragm, mouth, and the voice itself.
Singing is a sport. And the athletic skills that are required to be a great vocalist come from one source: your brain. The Singing Athlete is the first book of its kind: a view on voice training through the lens of both the physical body and the nervous system. As one of the top teachers of professional Broadway performers, Andrew Byrne has developed a unique synthesis of athletics and neuroscience that will guide you to higher levels of performance. Whether you're a beginner or a seasoned professional, The Singing Athlete will allow you to harness the power of the nervous system to make yourself the singer you've always wanted to be.
This update of Miller's original study incorporates these new concerns while continuing the investigation into which techniques within the national schools and idiosyncratic regional tendencies that remain.
Singing and the Actor takes the reader step by step through a practical training programme relevant to the modern singing actor and dancer. A variety of contemporary voice qualities including Belting and Twang are explained, with excercises for each topic.
Although rock singing was once seen as a vulgar use of the human voice and was largely ignored by the academic community, voice teachers and singers around the world have recently taken a professional interest in learning specialized techniques for singing rock 'n' roll. This book gives readers a comprehensive guide to rock history, voice science, vocal health, audio technology, technical approaches to singing rock, and stylistic parameters for various rock subgenres.
This engaging and long influential collection of essays looks at the art of singing in its totality, and is a comprehensive manual that deals with all aspects of singing, from the physiology and acoustics of the singing voice to career-building. Divided into four main sections -- vocal technique, style and interpretation, professional preparation, and vocal pedagogy - the book's structure is such that the reader may pick and choose as personal interests and needs dictate.
Visit the Leichter Listening Library for more information
