Reference Help Available Today:
The search box below looks in two EBSCOhost databases simultaneously for articles on history. You may retrieve thousands of search results, so remember to limit your results by checking "Full-Text" and "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" (left side of EBSCOhost page).
In JSTOR and EBSCOhost, you may limit your searches to Book Reviews in order to retrieve only those results.
The library also has print indexes of journal/magazine articles and book reviews. The Reader's Guide, which the library has back to the year 1900, is often the only source available for finding popular magazine articles on particular topics in a given period.
When you search an individual EBSCOhost database for articles, all of its helpful tools will be available, including Subject Terms, Cited References (an article's bibliography of related articles), and Times Cited (later articles that cite your chosen article). Cited References and Times Cited are great for doing literature reviews.
JSTOR has full-text of journal back issues going back decades in some cases; it's especially good for literature reviews and finding book reviews. Project MUSE has recent full-text articles in social sciences fields.
To find book-length dissertations and theses on your topic (including some written as early as the nineteenth century), use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Many are available in full-text; others may require interlibrary loan.
To search for individual journal titles, use this link:
