Dulaney-Browne Library: Mass Communications: Books

Librarian

Christina Wolf

Email Me

Contact:

Dulaney-Browne Library Room 508

405-208-5919

Subjects: Art, Continuing Education, English & Literature, Film, Literature, Mass Communications, Modern Languages

Interlibrary Loan

Request a Book or any Library Item
If … it is not included in the Dulaney-Browne Library catalog and it isn’t a course textbook

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books in libraries world wide plus electronic books, full text journal articles, and archival resources, with links to items accessible to our students, faculty, and staff

search and click on "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" and add your contact information

Book ILL Request Form
ILL Book Request Form

fill in title, author, publisher, and date plus your contact information

Request a Journal Article

If ... it isn't available full text online or in the library's journals list.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window

search and click on "Request through ILL (arrives in 3 days to 3 weeks)"

Article ILL Request Form
ILL Journal Article Request Form

fill in article title and author, journal title, date, volume, issue, and page numbers plus your contact information

WorldCat Books Search Box

Finding Books

Browse Books

Browsing the shelves may also be a useful exercise in finding resources as books on a certain subject will be near each other. Typically books about the Media, Journalism and Publishing can be found in the 070, 300s, and the 650s call number ranges.

Dewey Decimal Numbers for Communications

070 News media, journalism, publishing
380 Commerce, communication, transportation
384 Communications & Telecommunication
659 Advertising & Public Relations

Locations for Mass Communications Materials

1st floor Reference
2nd floor Professional Development Collection
3rd floor Circulating Collections
5th floor Oversize Collection (for items too tall for regular shelves)
Basement Circulating Storage (ask for access at the circulation desk)

Online & Print Reference Books

Not sure where to start your research? Consider perusing Reference Books. We have several ebook and print editions available for your use.

Online Reference

Encyclopedia of Media and Communication
The first comprehensive encyclopedia for the growing fields of media and communication studies, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication is an essential resource for beginners and seasoned academics alike. Contributions from over fifty experts and practitioners provide an accessible introduction to these disciplines'most important concepts, figures, and schools of thought – from Jean Baudrillard to Tim Berners Lee, and podcasting to Peircean semiotics.Detailed and up-to-date, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication synthesizes a wide array of works and perspectives on the making of meaning. The appendix includes timelines covering the whole historical record for each medium, from either antiquity or their inception to the present day. Each entry also features a bibliography linking readers to relevant resources for further reading. The most coherent treatment yet of these fields, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication promises to be the standard reference text for the next generation of media and communication students and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Media and Communications Research
This book presents current research in the field of media and communications. Topics discussed include the political use of fear and news reporting; dyadic and social influence on the axelrod model with clever mass media; impact of quality of service assessment in video-conferencing; video-mediated communication and impression formation; design and optimization of antennas using genetic algorithms for wireless communications and multiple antenna coding and signal processing.

Print Reference

Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
Call Number: REF 302.2303 En19d 2011
This one-volume encyclopedia features around 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples′ media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens′ media, and community media. The Encyclopedia engages with all communication media: broadcasting, print, cinema, the Internet, popular song, street theatre, graffiti and dance. The entries are designed to be relatively brief with clear, accessible and current information. Students, researchers, media activists and others interested in this field will find this to be a valuable resource. Recommend this title to your library today! Key Themes Cinema, Television and Video Concept and Topic Overviews Cultural Contestations Feminist Media Gay and Lesbian Media Human Rights Media Independence Movement Media Indigenous Peoples′ Media Information Policy Activism Internet Labor Media News Performance Art Media Popular Song Press Radio Social Movement Media Regions
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
Call Number: Reference 302.2303 In82v 2013
ISBN: 9781405193566
The International Encyclopedia of Media Studies is arranged across 6 thematic volumes edited by an international team of expert scholars. Accessible volume introductions provide overviews of key themes Probes the many dimensions of the subject: history, production, content, audiences, effects, and futures.