Skip to main content

Empirical Legal Research: Articles and Journals

Finding Articles and Journals

A number of practice oriented journals as well as academic law reviews offer coverage of empirical research topics. Some of these journals are available in print in the Chickasaw Nation Law Library at Oklahoma City University School of Law, and some are also available in subscription databases, including HeinOnline, Westlaw, and LexisNexis.

All the journal articles searchable in HeinOnline are in full text. Westlaw and LexisNexis also have full text databases devoted to periodical legal literature.

However, many of the articles indexed or found in full text in the tools discussed above will be primarily from publishers in the United States, Canada, England and Australia. Because the topic you are researching involves additional foreign and international topics, use of the the print subject index, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, may be necessary to locate additional article citations. The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is located in the General Collection. 

Law and Social Inquiry

Loading ...

Instruction on Reading an Empirical Research Article

If you are unfamiliar with reading empirical research publications, you may find reading and understanding an article reporting empirical research somewhat challenging. This video will help clarify the organization of the typical empirical article as well as provide helpful tips on how to critique such an article.

UCLA Law - ELS Bibliography

Annual Review of Law and Social Science

Below is a feed of the table of contents of the most recent issue of the Annual Review of Law and Social Science.

Loading ...

Journal of Empirical Legal Studies

The Journal of Empirical Legal Studies is the premier journal in the area.  Click here to access the catalog record for the print journal.  Click here for the catalog record for the online resource.

Below is a feed to abstracts of recent articles published in the Journal of Empirical Legal Studies. 

Loading ...

Social Science Reserch Network (SSRN)

The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 283,500 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 235,200 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.

The Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) of SSRN has several resources that may be of interest to those working to locate articles on a specific empirical research topic. These include:

1)  LSN Experimental and Empirical Studies eJournal

2)  Annual Review of Law and Social Science

3)  LSN Empirical Studies (Topic)

HeinOnline

Catalog Search Widget

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271