Skip to main content

Empirical Legal Research: Other Resources

University of California Berkley Law - Center For the Study of Law & Society

The University of California Berkley Law School's Center for the Study of Law & Society provides links, publications, and blogs about empirical legal research.

It also provides access to video recordings of its Empirical Research Methods Workshops.

UCLA Law Empirical Research Group

The UCLA Law Empirical Research Group (ERG) focuses on "the design and execution of quantitative research in law."

The ERG website provides access to:

1) working papers;

2) publications (including in some cases the data-sets supporting the research and publications); and

3) information on obtaining funding via grants to support empirical research.

Cornell University Resources

Statistical Tools

There are several statistics software packages. Three of the most often utilized statistical tools are Stata, SPSS, and SAS

Statistical Computing Resources is a guide by UCLA's Academic Technology Services. It includes starter guides for each of the three software packages.

American Bar Foundation

The American Bar Foundation (ABF) is the research arm of the American Bar Association.

ABF research project topics vary widely; however, there is specific emphasis on research regarding the legal profession, including the After the JD  project, an empirical study of the career outcomes of almost 5,000 new lawyers.

Washington University Center for Empirical Research in the Law

The Washington University Center for Empirical Research in the Law (CERL) provides descriptions of its on-going research projects, including the U.S. Supreme Court Database as well as information about the Conducting Empirical Legal Scholarship Workshop, which it co-sponsors with Northwestern University School of Law. 

 CERL also provided support for an unusual collection of research known as thediscography, a Legal Encyclopedia of Popular Music.  

Law Libraries Highlighting Empirical Research

The Empirical Research Support site of Goodson Law Library at Duke University provides links to training tools, data-sets, and other information to assist empirical legal researchers.

 

Blog of the Empirical Research Caucus of the American Association of Law Librarians

Loading ...
800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271