WorldCat Discovery is a powerful tool for searching library holdings and databases together. During the COVID-19 closure of ours and many other libraries, the need to access eBooks and other online sources is great. A large and growing number of publishers have temporarily made their content freely available, and most of these are accessible on this platform.
Find tips on using some of these resources at https://libguides.okcu.edu/online
This web site is a starting point for researching plays, playwrights, and other theater topics at the Dulaney-Browne Library. It is not intended to be a comprehensive guide. However, the site is intended to help students understand the various theater sources available and how to begin research. All print sources can be found at the Dulaney-Browne Library unless otherwise stated. The information presented here is intended for college students, who are new to library research or new to the theater subject matter.
Monographs (books) can be located using the Library Catalog. Following are some examples of subject headings for researching theater topics:
Additional subject terms can be found in the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS.
When searching for people, it is a good idea to do both an author and subject search on their name. The catalog will react better for you if you reverse the name when you search as you see here below
If you are having problems locating information on a person, it may be because you are searching one of their aliases. To find their given name visit the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS NAME AUTHORITIES.
You may need your OCU email username and password to access electronic resources.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good place to start your research because they can give you a broad overview of the subject as well as terminology to use in subject searches. All items listed in this section are a part of the library’s reference collection and are LIBRARY USE ONLY.
ONLINE RESOURCES OF THEATER INTEREST
Shakespeare Quartos Archive--want to see the original publications of the master's works, be able to turn the pages as if you were reading it when the very first publication came out? Use this cool resource!A Compendium of Common Knowledge 1558-1603(Hosted at Renaissance, The Elizabethan World, this a very attractive and informative on-line book by Maggie Pierce Secara on "Elizabethan Commonplaces for Writers, Actors, and Re-enactors." This fifth edition is a very thorough source for information on everyday life in Elizabethan times, drawn both from formal research and the author's experiences at Renaissance Faires. The web designer, Paula Katherine Marmor, has crafted a very elegant presentation. The book can also be downloaded for printing in Word 6.0 and Adobe Acrobat PDF format. The main site also has other good resources.The Complete Works of William ShakespeareHTML versions of the plays.
Internet Shakespeare EditionsAccording to the editors, the purpose of this site is "to make scholarly, fully annotated texts of Shakespeare's plays available" on the internet. This includes Quartos and Folios, old-spelling editions of selected plays, and a refereed introduction to Shakespeare's life and times.
Ren Faire: Elizabethan AccentsA very interesting page that is part of a site devoted to Renaissance Faires. It includes sections on pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, forms of address, insults and cursing, all aimed toward the improvisational use of Elizabethan English. A particularly interesting feature is a collection of sound files with Elizabethan pronunciations of some words.
Shakespeare Authorship"Dedicated to the Proposition that Shakespeare Wrote Shakespeare," this site is devoted to a critical examination of Oxfordian claims on the authorship of Shakespeare's plays. It also includes numerous links to other sites related both to the controversy and to Shakespeare in general.
World Shakespeare Bibliography The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2015. Containing over 142,500 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England.
The library owns a large library of dialect instruction called Acting with an accent dialect instruction by David Alan Stern. They are on permanent reserve behind the circulation desk at Dulaney-Browne Library. Ask for the call number 792.028 St45a 2003 and tell
Google ADVANCED Image Search --Take advantage of advanced search features, such as limiting results to a site or domain.
TinEye Reverse Image Search--TinEye is a reverse image search engine. Search by image: Give it an image and it will tell you where the image appears on the web.
NYPL Digital Images--Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.
Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog--Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Online access to a portion of the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Victoria and Albert Museum
Access over 360,000 images from the collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum, the world's largest museum of decorative arts and design.
Artstor--best image database in the world....better and more comprehensive than Google Image Search! TOTALLY worth effort to get to use it!! HOW?? 1. Get OK Share Card from our circulation desk 2. Drive to any nearby school that owns access. (OU, OSU, and UCO all own access to this resource). 3. Go in to the school's library and use their access to this amazing resource for FREE!
Europeana--Online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
Oxford Art Online from Oklahoma City Public Libraries This database is the second largest collection of images after Artstor, and yes, it is still MUCH larger than Google Images! It has a single interface you can use to search the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.--ANY Oklahoma City University Student can go to any branch of the Oklahoma City Public Libraries and get a card to use this database and once they get the card, they may use the database from the comfort of their very own home.