Dulaney-Browne Library: Design & Production: Home

Searching the Catalog

Use the Discovery Search box to the right → to search the library catalog for resources on design & production. You can search by:

keyword: general keywords about the topic
- i.e., Stage, Theater, Setting, Scenery, Design, Sound Effects, Lighting, Props, Construction
- tip: put phrases of two or more words in quotation marks while searching: "stage management," "stage lighting," "sound design"
name: a specific director or other theatre professional
- i.e., Hal Prince; Jo Mielziner; Heidi Ettinger, Peter Lawerence, Ruth Mitchell
- tip: enter their name as "LastName, FirstName"
  - "Korins, David"
  - "Bay, Howard"
- tip: use Library of Congress authority names. Search them here.

For more information about subject headings, see the box to the right →

One of the best ways to find library materials on a topic is to use subject headings. Below are some subject headings to explore the catalog.

Click on the phrase, or copy and paste it into the library search bar after "su:"

USITT
Official website for the United States Institute for Theatre Technology, the leading professional organization for theatre design and technology practitioners.
more...less...
Contains industry news, advice and help for emerging professionals, and even a podcast.
USA 829
Site for the union of United Scenic Artists, part of the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE).
more...less...
Contains a showcase gallery of members' work, events for professional networking, and education and safety resources.
SETC
The South Eastern Theatre Conference, despite it's historically regional name, is a networking organization for theatre practitioners across the United States.
more...less...
Contains a job search service that includes summer apprenticeships, grants to support professional development, and a video library of past seminars.
TCG
The Theatre Communications Group is the national organization for theatre, supporting both professional and university theatres in the United States.
more...less...
Contains support for arts advocacy, ARTSEARCH job placement service, and scholarships and grants.
Working in the Theatre
Docuseries by the American Theatre Wing that explores the varied specialties that come together in theatrical work.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary streaming video database. Contains recordings of live performances of plays, musicals, operas, ballets, and more.
Drama Online Core Collection This link opens in a new window
playtexts, audio plays, video, and scholarly books from leading theatre publishers and companies
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from antiquity to contemporary theatrical production.