Dulaney-Browne Library: Children's Literature: Articles

Children's Literature Research Databases

For scholarly research, the following databases will be very useful:

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education journal and magazine article, book, and conference paper database. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education journal article and document database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology journal article database from the American Psychological Association. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Education journal article and report database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
A great resource for an online dictionary when you want to know the history of a word and how it has been used.

Searching for Articles

The most current research in most fields will be found in journal articles.

EBSCOhost includes many databases both general and specific to various academic disciplines. To start with a broad search,click the link below, type a search in the box, and click the Search button. Or, you can click on one of the links in the database list box to search just a specific database.

JSTOR provides access to a broad array of journal articles, but generally excludes the most recent 5 years of articles.

Full text journal articles are included in the library's Discovery system, but searching EBSCOhost will also find descriptions of articles that are not immediately available but can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. This process generally takes 3-5 working days.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary scholarly journal article database including botany, humanities, education, history, social science, political science, social science, music, business, and statistics. Most articles are 5 years old or older. Default search limits to content we own, other items may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

Databases for Children

To look at resources specifically designed for school age students, try these databases:

Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary magazine article, primary source, and image database especially for elementary school libraries. Articles are assigned reading level indicators. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary magazine article, primary source, and image database especially for middle school libraries. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Current events magazine and newspaper article database especially for school libraries. Articles are assigned reading level indicators. Articles are full-text.
Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction book database designed for elementary students. Provides informative abstracts and searchable full text for popular nonfiction books on animals, weather, holidays, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, civics and more.
Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction book database designed for middle school students. Provides informative abstracts and searchable Nonfiction book database designed for popular nonfiction books on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.
Book Collection Nonfiction: High School This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction book database designed for high school students. Provides informative abstracts and searchable full text for popular nonfiction books on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.

MAS Complete is a multi-disciplinary magazine article database that can be limited by reading level and includes a lot of content suitable for school-aged children.

MAS Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary magazine article database. Many articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

The following databases are not specifically focused on children, but still have useful resources.

Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales This link opens in a new window
This Companion is the first authoritative reference source for the complex and captivating genre of the fairy tale. It provides full coverage of stories and characters, from Ali Baba, Aladdin, and Cinderella, to Hansel and Gretel, the Moomins, and Tom Thumb, along with the writers who wrote and reworked them, such as Hans Christian Andersen, Lewis Carroll, J. R. R. Tolkien, A. S. Byatt, and Gabriel García Marquez, and the artists who illustrated them, including Quentin Blake, Raymond Briggs, and Maurice Sendak.