Reference Help Available Today:
Here are a selection of suggested books, ebooks, websites, and journals (for articles) to help you get started on your research for assignments. There are also links to search results in WorldCat Discovery for topics specific to your courses.
If you don't find what you need, try searching keywords on your topic in Discover Resources, or go to the Articles tab to search in Sociology/Criminal Justice databases. Use Advanced Search and select "Subject" or "Title" fields in which to search your keywords.
The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual
Report Writing for Criminal Justice Professionals
Research Design: Quantitative, Qualitative, Mixed Methods, Arts-based, and Community-based Participatory Research Approaches by
With a new chapter on the literature review, this accessible step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design is now in a thoroughly revised second edition. The prior edition's user-friendly features are augmented by a new companion website with worksheets keyed to each chapter. For each approach, the text presents a template for a research proposal and explains how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice issues. Unique coverage includes hot topics--replication studies, data sharing, and preregistration; tailoring proposals to different audiences; and more. Terminology commonly used in each approach is identified and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. The book includes a general introduction to social research, an in-depth discussion of ethics, and a chapter on how to begin a research study. New to This Edition *New or expanded discussions of theory and literature in quantitative research, replication studies, preregistration of research, the critical paradigm in qualitative research, mixed methods research, approaching different kinds of organizations in community-based participatory research, and more. *Chapter on the literature review, including the ethics of citational practices. *Companion website with worksheets to aid in learning and practicing each chapter's key concepts. *Updated examples, references, and recommended readings throughout. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bolded key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Pointers to downloadable worksheets throughout the chapters. *Author-created PowerPoints and chapter tests with answer keys available to instructors using the book in a course.
Research Exposed: How Empirical Social Science Gets Done in the Digital Age by
The era of digital communication provides endless opportunities for the collection and analysis of social data in novel ways. It also presents new and unanticipated challenges, as researchers are often inventing elements of their methodologies on the fly or studying a phenomenon or media platform for the first time. Research Exposed offers in-depth, behind-the-scenes accounts of doing empirical social science in this new paradigm. Through firsthand descriptions of innovative research projects, it shares lessons learned from over a dozen scholars' cutting-edge work. These candid accounts describe what can go wrong when pioneering new genres of research and how such difficulties can be overcome, giving both big-picture reflection and actionable advice. The chapters discuss a variety of methods, ranging from the completely novel to the use of more traditional approaches in the digital context, and cover research questions relevant to a range of disciplines, including sociology, political science, communication, information studies, and anthropology. By focusing attention on the concrete details seldom discussed in final project write-ups or traditional research guides, Research Exposed helps equip junior and senior scholars alike with essential information that is all too often left with no outlet for sharing. It offers important insights into how empirical social science research can be both innovative and rigorous when dealing with the opportunities and challenges presented by digital media.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research. It is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. The contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchersin the field as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while simultaneously providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the mostexperienced researchers. It serves as a user-friendly teaching tool suitable for a range of undergraduate or graduate courses, as well as individuals working on their thesis or other research projects. With a focus on methodological instruction, this volume offers both a retrospective and prospective view of the field. The first two sections explore the history of the field, ethics and philosophical/theoretical approaches. The next three sections focus on the major methods of qualitative practiceas well as newer approaches (such as arts-based research and internet research); area studies often excluded (such as museum studies and disaster studies); and mixed methods and participatory methods (such as community-based research). The next section covers key issues including data analysis,interpretation, writing and assessment. The final section offers a commentary about politics and research and the move towards public scholarship.
See also the "Qualitative / Quantitative Research" tab of this Guide.
Effective Interviewing and Interrogation Techniques
Forensic Interviewing
Police Interrogation and American Justice by 
How the Police Generate False Confessions: An Inside Look at the Interrogation Room by When you search an individual EBSCOhost database for articles, all of its helpful tools will be available, including Subject Terms, Cited References (an article's bibliography of related articles), and Times Cited (later articles that cite your chosen article). Cited References and Times Cited are great for doing literature reviews.
JSTOR has full-text of journals going back decades in some cases, but not the latest articles; it's especially good for literature reviews or a historical perspective on a topic. Go to HeinOnline if your topic involves a legal issue such as discrimination, governmental regulation, or criminal law.
To find book-length dissertations and theses on a sociology or criminal justice topic (including some written as early as the nineteenth century), use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Many are available in full-text; others may require interlibrary loan.
Men Who Batter by
Men who act abusively have their own story to tell, a journey that often begins in childhood, ripens in their teenage years, and takes them down paths they were hoping to never travel. Men Who Batter recounts the journey from the point of view of the men themselves.The men's accounts of their lives are told within a broader framework of the agency where they have attended groups, and the regional coordinated community response to domestic violence, which includes the criminal justice workers (e.g., probation, parole, judges), and those who staff shelters andwork in advocacy. Based on interview data with this wide array of professionals, we are able to examine how one community, in one western state, responds to men who batter.Interwoven with this rich and colorful portrayal of the journey of abusive men, we bring twenty years of fieldwork with survivors and those who walk alongside them as they seek safety, healing and wholeness for themselves and their children. Women who have been victimized by the men they love oftenhold out hope that, if only their abusers could be held accountable and receive intervention, the violence will stop and their own lives will improve dramatically as a result. While the main purpose of Men Who Batter is to highlight the stories of men, told from their personal point of view, it iscountered by reality checks from their own case files and those professionals who have worked with them. And finally, interspersed within its pages is another theme: finding religious faith or spiritual activity in unlikely places.
Women, Intimate Partner Violence, and the Law by
Every year, millions of women across the world turn to the law to help them live free from intimate partner violence. They engage with child protection services and police and apply for civil protection orders. They seek family court orders to keep their children safe from violent fathers, andtake special visa pathways to avoid deportation following their separation from an abuser. Women are often driven to interact with the law to counteract their abuser's myriad legal applications against them. While separation may seem like a solution, often the abuse just gets worse.Countless women who have experienced intimate partner violence are enmeshed in overlapping, complex, and often inconsistent legal processes. They have both fleeting and longer-term connections with the legal system. Women, Intimate Partner Violence, and the Law explores how women from many differentbackgrounds interact with the law in response to intimate partner violence, over time. Drawing on their experiences of seeking help from the law, this book highlights the many failures of the legal system to provide safety for women and their children. The women's stories show how abusers oftenharness aspects of the legal process to continue their abuse. Heather Douglas reveals women's complex experiences of using law as a response to intimate partner violence.Douglas interviewed women three times over three years to reveal their journey through the legal process. On occasion, the legal system allowed some women closure. However, circular and unexpected outcomes were a common experience. The resulting book showcases the level of endurance, tenacity, andpatience it takes women to seek help and receive protection through law. This book shows how the legal system is failing too often to keep women and their children safe and how it might do better.
Abetting Batterers: What Police, Prosecutors, and Courts Aren't Doing to Protect America's Women by
Whatever the number, domestic violence victims remain far too many for a preventable crime. More and more victims of intimate partner violence are reaching out to police, prosecutors and judges only to be sorely disappointed, even betrayed. While laws and programs have multiplied over the last few decades to address domestic violence, the country is getting safer for almost everyone except for women who have, or have had, abusive male intimate partners. Andrew R. Klein and Jessica L. Klein look at the criminal justice response to domestic violence across America today, ranging from police to prosecutors and courtrooms across the nation. Abetting Batterers reveals the troubling pattern of inattention and incompetence that compromises the safety of women and encourages their male abusers to continue their abuse and violence. Although criminal justice system agencies vary among cities, towns and counties within the same state they all too often relegate domestic violence to the backburners of the system, dismissing victims and ignoring even the most serious and chronic abusers. The variation reveals the real problem in preventing intimate partner violence lies in these agencies' commitment and will, rather than their ability to do the job. The authors unveil what is working in regard to protecting victims of domestic violence and holding their abusers accountable, and they suggest strategies for ensuring that what is being done right can be replicated and become the law and practice across the nation. The wide variation in how intimate partner violence is handled by similar jurisdictions demonstrates the real problem in preventing it lies in these agencies' commitment, rather than ability to do the job. This book proves to be invaluable in understanding what is and is not being done in the reality of domestic violence in America.
Gender Violence: Resistance, Resilience, and Autonomy by
A 2022 Choice Reviews Outstanding Academic Title In often mundane but sometimes quite obvious ways, persons belonging to groups routinely threatened with harm on the basis of gender and sexuality suffer restrictions to choice and action, impairing autonomy. Gender Violence: Resistance, Resilience, and Autonomy shows that resistance to, and cultivating resiliency within, a culture of gender violence is key to fostering autonomy. Building on decades of research philosophically interrogating autonomy and its limits, and with a martial arts background spanning over twenty-five years, Professor Burrow develops a novel approach to autonomy development under everyday threats of violence. Appealing to empirical research to ground its philosophical analysis, the theory presented in this book establishes that cultivating self-confidence through self-defense training is a significant strategy contributing to resistance and resilience under threats of violence and hence, autonomy development.
Feeling Trapped: Social Class and Violence against Women by
The relationship between class and intimate violence against women is much misunderstood. While many studies of intimate violence focus on poor and working-class women, few examine the issue comparatively in terms of class privilege and class disadvantage. James Ptacek draws on in-depth interviews with sixty women from wealthy, professional, working-class, and poor communities to investigate how social class shapes both women's experiences of violence and the responses of their communities to this violence. Ptacek's framing of women's victimization as "social entrapment" links private violence to public responses and connects social inequalities to the dilemmas that women face.
In WorldCat Discovery, you enter a search term, and then limit your search using filters on the left-hand side of display.
For example, the results below are limited to print books that Oklahoma City University has access to. You can also limit your results to articles or ebooks:
Some of the most authoritative and up-to-date information is available in full-text at these websites from the Department of Justice and other agencies:
