Reference Help Available Today:
Here are a selection of suggested books, ebooks, websites, and journals (for articles) to help you get started on your research for assignments. There are also links to search results in WorldCat Discovery for topics specific to your courses.
If you don't find what you need, try searching keywords on your topic in Discovery or one of the specialized Sociology/Criminal Justice databases. Use Advanced Search and select "Subject" or "Title" fields in which to search your keywords.
Investigative Ethics: Ethics for Police Detectives and Criminal Investigators by 
Ethical Issues in Policing by 
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics by 
Police Ethics: The Corruption of Noble Cause by
Police Ethics, Fourth Edition, provides an analysis of corruption in law enforcement organizations. The authors argue that the noble cause--a commitment to "doing something about bad people"--is a central "ends-based" police ethic. This fundamental principle of police ethics can paradoxically open the way to community polarization and increased violence, however, when officers violate the law on behalf of personally held moral values. This book is about the power that police use to do their work and how it can lead police to abuse their positions at the individual and organizational levels. It provides students of policing with a realistic understanding of the kinds of problems they will confront in the practice of police work. This timely new edition offers police administrators direction for developing agency-wide corruption prevention strategies, and a re-written chapter further expands our level of understanding of corruption by covering the Model of Circumstantial Corruptibility in detail. The fourth edition also discusses critical ethical issues relating to the relationship between police departments and minority communities, including Black Lives Matter and other activist groups. In the post-Ferguson environment, this is a crucial text for students, academicians, and law enforcement professionals alike.
Justice and Law by
Apart from considering classical theories of justice from Aristotle, Plato, Saint Thomas Aquinas, the Bible, and the Quran, the aim of Justice and Law is to focus on the contemporary vista, reviewing some of the modern ideas of justice advanced by legal philosophers of our time, such as John Rawls, J rgen Habermas, Ronald Dworkin, Robert Nozick, Richard A. Posner, Wojciech Sadurski, Marxism, or Feminist Theories. In the second part of the work, Mar a Jos Falc n y Tella deals with some of the principal themes relating to justice, such as punishment, civil disobedience, conscientious objection, just war, conflict of duties, and tolerance.
Justice: A Reader by
Justice brings together in one indispensable volume essential readings on justice and moral reasoning. With readings from major thinkers from the classical era up to the present, the collection provides a thematic overview of the concept of justice. Moreover, Sandel's organization of the readings and his own commentaries allow readers to engage with a variety of pressing contemporary issues. Looking at a host of ethical dilemmas, including affirmative action, conscription, income distribution, and gay rights, from a variety of angles--morally, legally, politically--the collection engages with the core concerns of political philosophy: individual rights and the claims of community, equality and inequality, morality and law, and ultimately, justice. With concise section introductions that put the readings in context, this anthology is an invaluable tool for students, teachers, and anyone who wishes to engage in the great moral debates that have animated politics from classical times to our own.
Race and Crime by
Written by two of the most prominent criminologists in the field, Race and Crime, Fifth Edition takes an incisive look at the intersection of race, ethnicity and the criminal justice system. Authors Shaun L. Gabbidon and Helen Taylor Greene offer you a panoramic perspective of race and crime by expertly balancing historical context with modern data and research in thought-provoking discussions of contemporary issues. Accessible and reader-friendly, this comprehensive text illuminates the continued importance of race and ethnicity in all aspects of the administration of justice.
The Oxford Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Crime by
Research on gender, sex, and crime today remains focused on topics that have been a mainstay of the field for several decades, but it has also recently expanded to include studies from a variety of disciplines, a growing number of countries, and on a wider range of crimes. The Oxford Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Crime reflects this growing diversity and provides authoritative overviews of current research and theory on how gender and sex shape crime and criminal justice responses to it. The editors, Rosemary Gartner and Bill McCarthy, have assembled a diverse cast of criminologists, historians, legal scholars, psychologists, and sociologists from a number of countries to discuss key concepts and debates central to the field. The Handbook includes examinations of the historical and contemporary patterns of women's and men's involvement in crime; as well as biological, psychological, and social science perspectives on gender, sex, and criminal activity. Several essays discuss the ways in which sex and gender influence legal and popular reactions to crime. An important theme throughout The Handbook is the intersection of sex and gender with ethnicity, class, age, peer groups, and community as influences on crime and justice. Individual chapters investigate both conventional topics - such as domestic abuse and sexual violence - and topics that have only recently drawn the attention of scholars - such as human trafficking, honor killing, gender violence during war, state rape, and genocide. The Oxford Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Crime offers an unparalleled and comprehensive view of the connections among gender, sex, and crime in the United States and in many other countries. Its insights illuminate both traditional areas of study in the field and pathways for developing cutting-edge research questions.
Women and the Criminal Justice System: Gender, Race, and Class by
This book presents an up-to-date analysis of women as victims of crime, as individuals under justice system supervision, and as professionals in the field. The text features an empowerment approach that is unified by underlying themes of the intersection of gender, race, and class; and evidence-based research. Personal narratives supplement research and statistics to help students connect the text material with real-life situations. This new edition is informed by consideration of major ongoing social movements such as #MeToo, Black Lives Matter, and the fight to reduce mass incarceration. The text stresses contemporary topics such as recognition of lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues in juvenile and adult facilities; the introduction of trauma-informed care in detention centers and prisons; the criminalization of Black girls and women; the effects of an increasingly militarized police culture; and the contributions of Ruth Bader Ginsburg and other influential women. With its emphasis on critical thinking, this text is ideal for undergraduate courses concerning women in the justice system.
When you search an individual EBSCOhost database for articles, all of its helpful tools will be available, including Subject Terms, Cited References (an article's bibliography of related articles), and Times Cited (later articles that cite your chosen article). Cited References and Times Cited are great for doing literature reviews.
JSTOR has full-text of journals going back decades in some cases, but not the latest articles; it's especially good for literature reviews or a historical perspective on a topic. Go to HeinOnline if your topic involves a legal issue such as discrimination, governmental regulation, or criminal law.
To find book-length dissertations and theses on a sociology or criminal justice topic (including some written as early as the nineteenth century), use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Many are available in full-text; others may require interlibrary loan.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
The Oxford Handbook of Criminological Theory by 
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology by
With contributions from over 60 leading experts in the field, The Oxford Handbook of Criminology is the definitive guide to the discipline providing an authoritative and outstanding collection of chapters on the key topics studied on criminology courses.The Handbook has shaped the study of criminology for over two decades and, with this new edition, continues to be indispensable to students, academics, and professionals alike. Each chapter details relevant theory, recent research, policy developments, and current debates. Extensive references aidfurther research.Extensively revised, the sixth edition has been expanded to include all the major topics and significant new issues such as zemiology; green criminology; domestic violence; prostitution and sex work; penal populism; and the significance of globalization for criminology.The Oxford Handbook of Criminology is accompanied by a suite of online resources providing additional teaching and learning materials for both students and lecturers. This includes selected chapters from previous editions, essay questions for each chapter, web links to aid further research, andguidance on how to answer essay questions.
Criminological Theory: Past to Present by
Criminological Theory: Past to Present by Francis T. Cullen, Roben Agnew, and Pamela Wilcox is a comprehensive and authoritative reader for upper-level undergraduate and graduate courses in criminological theory. An Introduction precedes each Part, as well as each individual reading, situating the book's selections within the historical development of criminological theory as a discipline.
Some of the most authoritative and up-to-date information is available in full-text at these websites from the Department of Justice and other agencies:
